We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Little Place with Small Plates to Share and Fight Over” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Preservation Bread and Wine

Preservation Bread and Wine
513 South 3rd Street, Geneva, IL
630-208-1588
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 125 Restaurants in Geneva
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: It's a cafe and wine bar in downtown Geneva, IL
Usa, Japan
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice Little Place with Small Plates to Share and Fight Over”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was our second visit.
While there for dinner we saw the notice about the October Wine Dinner and decided to try it.
We had the best time with our friends and met new friends at the October Wine Dinner. I thought the wilted kale +apple& red cabbage slaw + zamorano salad was the best. We gobbled up our tasty piquillo pepper+white anchovy crostini. I could not taste the anchovy maybe they could have used more.
Definitely the tiny crock of wonderful bratwurst stew should have been served in larger portions.
On the normal menu I recommend the salmon potato stew.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    14
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great wine selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stopped in for lunch while in town and had their tasting menu since it was the Geneva Wine Festival. The servers were very knowledgable about wine and very helpful in making recommedations.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“What a restaurant should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

A gem. Lovely ambiance, relaxed dining, professional wait staff. Charming, interesting menu. Just stopped in for lunch after I missed my train. A happy accident.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great flatbread pizza!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Met several friends here. We shared a bottle of wine and had the flatbread pizza. Excellent. Great ambiance. Friendly waiter. The service was great. A very enjoyable luncheon experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Food is wonderful, staff is friendly, and a must see is the patio area for casual dining. Small but cozy and worth any wait!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Preservation Bread and Wine also viewed

 

Been to Preservation Bread and Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Preservation Bread and Wine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.