We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and inviting inn close to Chicago and a million miles away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Herrington Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Herrington Inn & Spa to your Saves list
The Herrington Inn & Spa
15 South River Lane, Geneva, IL 60134   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Geneva
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
“Warm and inviting inn close to Chicago and a million miles away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Your first view of the Herrington is large stone buidings evoking what I think of as the English countryside. The lobby displays a fireplace that is also open to the dining room. Check in was efficient even thought the hour was late. Our room with a landing on the river and a view of a park was large and sported a gas log fireplace that activated with a switch. The weather was damp so we had it going frequently.The king bed was sumptious!! The bathroom was beautifully appointed with a jaccuzi and shower, a private toilet, vanity and sink. The water was hot but ran out quickly. Each night cookies and milk magically appeared. The included continental breakfast was more than adequate. Front desk staff is very helpful. We opted to eat paid breakfast in the gazebo. It was not open but the staff opened it quickly with NO complaints. The waiter had to walk a ways to get to us but did it with flair!! We would consider staying here and taking a train into the city if urban experience is what you want. If not there is plenty of rural beauty nearby as well as restaurants and brew pubs. Thank you Herrington!!!
Time did not allow a spa visit but the word is that it is worth a visit!!

Room Tip: all rooms we saw were beautiful .. some overlook the garden and river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    40
    10
    8
    8
See reviews for
28
145
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with my husband and 13 year old daughter while visiting family in the area and had a wonderful experience. Thanks to an internet special, we got upgraded to a river front room for a reasonable price of $180 per night. This includes a very nice breakfast in the fancy lobby with pastries, cold cuts, fruit and hard boiled eggs and good coffee. The room was stunning, with a comfy California king bed, well decorated, and a huge bathroom with a large whirlpool tub and separate shower and heated floor. The view from the balcony of the river and its wildlife was lovely although there was construction going on across the river so one of the walkway/bike paths was closed and it didn't look or sound that great - i'm sure it will be finished soon. The best part of the hotel was the customer service. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and always there when you need them. The milk and cookies at bedtime are a nice touch. The location is great too - there are many restaurants and gastropubs in short walking distance and the best shopping on 3rd street is a few blocks away. I would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: They say each room is different, ours was 218 and it was great with one super sized king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, IL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

My husband and I wanted a weekend away and chose The Herrington Inn & Spa due to its good reviews and immediate access to the Fox River Trail. We were delighted. The hotel is an old dairy right on the Fox River converted into a wonderful boutique hotel. The rooms were luxurious with a whirlpool bathtub (a nice separate shower too), lots of space, robes, house shoes, warm cookies and cold milk delivered at night, and a balcony with a table and chairs looking right onto the river. It was quiet, clean, beautiful, and the staff were great! We ate a local restaurants that were fantastic. The Fox River Trail literally runs right in front of the hotel. There are nice boutique shops downtown, bakeries, and there was an art festival the weekend we were there. Geneva is a hidden gem and the Herrington is the jewel in the crown! Next time I hope we have time to use the spa services too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful room right on the river. Location was perfect for walking to all of the fantastic shops on Third St. Everyone was so nice & the spa is awesome! Worth the $$. If you try the spa I recommend the Herrington Delight. Real turn down service @ night along with cookies & milk delivered to your room. We got a deal because of the days we chose. Rooms may be a bit pricier on other days.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This was our second stay. Our first visit, in a corner river view suite was much nicer! This time we had a free gift certificate and they put us into a river premier which we thought would be great. Wrong. It had a very musty smell. I thought I'd get used to it and laid down to take nap only to be woken up by some girls climbing over our balcony! My husband went to to sliding door and told them not to climb on our balcony! We didn't know where they came from ? (the river?) I got up and walked to the slider, only to see 3 men in fishing waders about 10 feet away! (the lack of rain here has made the river very shallow). ALL THAT and the musty SMELL- couldn't take it! we called and asked for another room, up higher. They (quickly) moved us up one floor and the room smelled great. I wonder if the first floor room smelled because in the past the river flooded and I wonder if those first floor rooms were affected?

The bed and pillows were comfy, staff very friendly, soaking tub nice, robes and slippers nice. I was really surprised by the little TV in the room (the Olympics were on) but oh well. Balcony was nice and normally have a splendid view but for the shallow river and bridge construction across the river. We ordered breakfast. Came in 15 minutes (I'm used to an hour wait) was hot and delicious! Order the bacon it was the best we ever had!

I think I may have rated higher if we had never been placed in the smelly room first.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the first floor along the river or you might have a musty smelling room. Corner un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Herrington is a hotel that could be found in any major international city. I'm so happy that it's in Geneva, Illinois! The rooms are outstanding! Heated bathroom floors, fireplaces, amazing views. Truly a 5-star hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
logwes, General Manager at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful comments. We hope you return soon.

Paul Ruby, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Last winter I flew to Chicago to attend a 3 day seminar that is normally held at another hotel but because of a scheduling conflict, it was held at the Herrington. My focus was all about the seminar, the hotel was completely incidental. Well, to grab a famous line from the movie Dirty Dancing, nobody puts the Herrington in the corner!

The room I had was absolutely gorgeous -- a large, sinfully soft four-poster bed that I actually had to climb UP into; sumptuous decorations in warm, homey colors; a large working fireplace; and a beautiful bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. The in-house restaurant served excellent light fare; there were always friendly patrons at the cozy bar and then, as if they needed to do more, every night freshly baked chocolate chip cookies (made by God?!) were left in the room. The Herrington proved to be such an all-around favorite with all the seminar participants that we requested we meet here again this year! A perfect example of the rewards of good service!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
logwes, General Manager at The Herrington Inn & Spa, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
I hope you have a reason to return. Thank you for the great feedback.

Sincerely,

Paul Ruby, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Herrington Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Herrington Inn & Spa

Address: 15 South River Lane, Geneva, IL 60134
Location: United States > Illinois > Geneva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Geneva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA Four Diamond boutique hotel, spa, and restaurant in the Chicago suburb of Geneva, IL. Voted one of Illinois best spa hotels and located on the waterfront, each room offers a large whirlpool tub, fireplace, and furnished balcony. We are perfect for storybook weddings, corporate meetings, romantic getaways, fine dining, and relaxing in the best day spa in Geneva. Within walking distance to the Metra Train line to Chicago's Loop, and running/biking path. Evening turn down service staff deliver chilled milk and fresh baked cookies to all overnight guests. Each morning guests enjoy a complimentary European-style continental breakfast buffet served in our grand lobby. Also complimentary: wireless internet access and plenty of onsite parking. Just across from the hotel is the Fox River Trail, available year round for waterfront running or biking. Hotel is within walking distance to over 100 shops, galleries, restaurants, and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia and Otel so you can book your The Herrington Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Herrington Hotel Geneva
The Herrington Inn And Spa
Herrington Hotel Geneva
Herrington Geneva

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Herrington Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.