We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Geneva Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Egg Harbor Cafe

Egg Harbor Cafe
477 South Third Street, Geneva, IL 60134
630-208-8940
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 113 Restaurants in Geneva
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $15
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Geneva Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Can't go wrong with breakfast or lunch. Food and service is great. The menu changes over time and the dishes never disappoint!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    28
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good sandwichand service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I would give the food here overall 3 stars and the service 4 1/2, hence the 4 star rating. My Door County melt sandwich, grilled chicken cranberry salad with melted cheese, quite good but was overwhelmed by the addition of a very mediocre side salad and hockey puck potato pancakes. I would have been much happier with just the sandwich and a couple of potato chips! Still, a decent value and great service. A really nice touch was the individual coffee pots brought right to the table and the mugs that help keep the coffee really warm.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Neighborhood gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Hands down, the best breakfast place anywhere. There is such a wonderful variety and everything is delicious,it's hard to choose. Had the Door County French Toast with apples and cranberries, side of eggs and turkey bacon, it was super. The food is consistently good and the service/staff are friendly and just great. There's something to be said for a restaurant to employ quality people who stay for a substantial duration of time. We've been going here now in excess of 5 years and see many of the same faces. The location is in charming downtown Geneva. You'll love it and you'll be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best banana bread on the planet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Get here early, or during church hours as it fills up fast, because everyone knows how good it is!! They offer unique breakfast selections, and brunch specialties. The banana bread is excellent!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great for Sunday brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We try to have breakfast here each time we visit my daughter and her family in Illinois.
The line to get in says it all....the offerings are many and everything we have each time we come is delicious and very reasonably priced.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Egg Harbor Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Egg Harbor Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Egg Harbor Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.