We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish decor, no Irish food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of McGillicuddy's sports Grill & Pub

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
McGillicuddy's sports Grill & Pub
58 s. cherry Street, Galesburg, IL
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 75 Restaurants in Galesburg
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Chicago
1 review
“Irish decor, no Irish food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

How are you going to have an Irish pub/sports bar and not have one Irish thing on the menu? Unless of course you consider it Irish just because you have potatoes. Meatloaf was just okay. Service was good, food meh.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    3
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galesburg, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice decor and good food and drinks!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

They have good burgers, pastas, salads, and many other items. They also have a great drink menu. In addition, it has a very nice decor. Jazz groups play their on Thursdays, I believe.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cudahy, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
“McGillicuddy's Needs Improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

First the good news: the service was friendly, the menu is big, portions were genrous, and the atmosphere was nice.

Bad news: out of three people, two of us got the wrong order. The food is so so. Also, the prices are on the high side for a small town.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Food, but Long Wait.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

If you have any other plans for the day, pick another restaurant. This was our second visit, and, again, we waited a long time for our food... over 1 hour for two salads!
This day, unknown to us, was a college graduation day in the town, so understandably, people decide to stroll down the street after graduation & eat lunch. And McGillicuddy's has one cook working in the kitchen, and seemed surprised when they got slammed with a couple large groups & other customers.
Salads were good, but not much enjoyed.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galesburg, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“bad night”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I like the building and menu that mcgillicuddy service takes for ever. They brought me the wrong meal twice. Once you get your food order in after a wait the food takes a long time to get to you. My salad came same time as my meal the two times I went there.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGillicuddy's sports Grill & Pub also viewed

 

Been to McGillicuddy's sports Grill & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McGillicuddy's sports Grill & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.