We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs much TLC and improvement :) Will pass from now on!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 South Soangetaha Road, I-74 at East Main, Galesburg, IL 61401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Galesburg
Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Needs much TLC and improvement :) Will pass from now on!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We travel by here at least 2 times a month on our way to family and it seems nice from the interstate. We stopped at the exit- went to our usual hotel stop (down the road at a major chain) and it was full. It was late, and the desk clerk at the HIE said he would call the Best Western Prairie Inn to see if they had availability and they did. Upon entering the lobby- it seemed nice, out of date furnishings but nice and spacious. Kathy, the desk clerk, was very nice and helpful. Welcomed us and we paid for our room and she gave us directions to drive around the building. Problem # 1. The buildings are not easily distinguished. When it's very late, very dark and it's hard to see if it is building # A, B, C... exit it's very unnerving. Then I saw people who i thought might be owners walking around at midnight, we passed them and waved.. no response. Problem # 2. Seeing people out walking for exercise who work at the property (they went to the building that appeared to have permanent residences in it) and don't acknowledge their guests? Then problem # 3 (we have only been on the property for 10 min.= we get the children out, load our bags on our arms for the quick night, and go to use our hotel room card to get in the "secure" entrance. It doesn't work. In fact- it's falling off the entrance wall. There's obviously no power to it at all as it doesn't light up or do anything. I go back to the car with the bags in tow- (meanwhile the kids, husband are loaded down and it's raining now with no entrance covering) and get my receipt- call the desk (Kathy- who is so nice by the way) She says she will send someone. About 5 min later, the maintenance man? (plain clothed) opens the door, apologizes and says "we have been having problems with them for some time and they aren't working). We get to our room, Problem #4. The room has an odor. the carpet is dirty- ( we wouldn't walk barefoot on it) and the bedskirt is ripped on both beds, hanging by threads.. among other things) Dingy dingy towels.. ugh. I was so over it- i told the kids to fold the spreads back and get in bed (it was nearing midnight). We were awaken at 6 am by the smell of cigarette smoke- someone smoking in the portico by our room outside... and talking loudly. Problem # 5 Then bugs in bathroom (water bugs) on floor. ....I was sick that I had paid $89.99 (AAA rate) PLUS TAXES. I go to ck out- and tell her we had problems and that i literally was sick that i had paid my hard earned money for this room. It was more of a $49.99 sort of room. She says she was sorry- looks to the other gal at the desk, who "gives her a thumbs up" and gives me a TEN DOLLAR DISCOUNT. At this point, i was ready to tell her to keep her 10 dollars!! I told her politely the problems... the bugs (i even took a pic with my cell to show her)... she said she would have to talk to the general mgr?????? who wouldn't be in until tomorrow???? We travel A LOT. And this is really unheard of- the mgr on duty should be able to accomodate guests immediately.
Trust me- i am NOT a complainer. Hotels are not perfect, but this is was ridiculous. Maybe this was just a room that fell short- maybe it was a series of bad things but it is what it is. But how this hotel got the AAA diamond rating is beyond me. It's a hotel that needs some TLC and attention to detail. If you are going to charge that much for a room (the going rate really), then it really should be worth it. We stay at HIE, Drury's, Hamptons.. and the free breakfast, the extras are nice but the CLEAN room is the kicker! They did offer a 10% discount coupon for their restaurant that we passed on. The general mgr never called me as promised, but they did refund my card 12.50?? Maybe they should listen to customers- called personally and talked to me. I would of politely and professionally given them my opinion. So anyway, we will pass on by this hotel and wish them well, but lots of areas of "dropping the ball" :((

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not up to your satisfaction. Since your stay we have repainted the building signs so they are now fluorescent and easily seen in the dark and we have changed our bug extermination provider. We have ordered new bed skirts and we are in the process of changing out the exterior locks for a better, safer experience for our guests.

The owners, managers, and staff all strive to exceed expectations. In the dark, personnel might not have seen you wave, but we love getting the chance to converse with our guests. I hope that you will give us the chance to speak to you about your concerns. If you would like to speak in more detail about the efforts to make our guest's experiences better please contact me directly at 309-343-7151.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    57
    21
    17
    21
See reviews for
58
41
12
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethton, TN
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My son was touring Knox College. The hotel is in a quiet area near the college. It is not near the bigger commercial areas of Galesburg, but the town is not the big. You could get anywhere in town within 15 minutes. Our room was good sized, clean and what you would expect. The indoor pool and hot tub were much larger than most hotel pools. The hotel buildings surround a courtyard and some rooms open out onto it.

Room Tip: You will pay more, but you can get a room that opens out onto the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prairieinn, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you so much for this nice review!!! We look forward to seeing you again!!!



Amber Smith
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morton, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed at the Best Western Galesburg at the beginning of the month. The stay was fine as hotels go, clean room, decent bed, great wireless internet. The cable tv wasn't working the night I was there, but the wireless more than made up for it. I paid the next morning with gift cards, but when I got my credit card bill at the end of the month, they had still billed me the full price of the room. I called and within 2 days they had it all straightened out and refunded me the full price for the room that night. That is what I call customer service. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We strive for our staff to be the best. Knowing that you were satisfied with the customer service you received makes us proud in our staff. If mistakes happen then we will try our hardest to correct them immediately. Thank you for your patience with the correction of the mistake and we hope that you will come back and visit us again.

Sincerely,
Misty Tenenbaum
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Visiting Knox College, I have stayed at this hotel many times. On my last visit, I could tell that updates are happening. The room had been updated. This is an older hotel and not fancy, but the rooms are big enough. There's a coffee maker. The beds are comfortable. Having the restaurant onsite for breakfast is a big plus and the food is good and inexpensive (even before the discount.) I've never eaten dinner there. As a previous reviewer stated, walking in the interior corridors can be confusing, but I have never had a problem with noise from other rooms. The staff are nice and helpful.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

Room was spacious and clean. It appears that they are working on remodeling and have the interior corridors complete. I agree completely with a previous review about the corridors. They were confusing and took us a while to get from our room to the lobby. We requested adjoining rooms as we had 2 of our granddaughters with us however this request was not honored and in fact the rooms were not even next to each other and the motel did not appear to be full by any means. The room appeared not to have been used for a while as the water was brown in the tub when I first turned it on, however was fine after that. It was quiet and a short drive to downtown which had some nice small shops and antique stores and restaurants. In the restaurant for dinner are food was average to below average. The lightly breaded walleye that my husband ordered was heavily breaded and the fish rubbery as was the grilled prawns. The pasta the girls ordered was good however. Breakfast was fine and the wait staff helpful. The pool was the high light and that is the only reason I am giving it a very good review. It was full size with an 8 ft deep end, which is hard to find in a motel/hotel these days. The girls really enjoyed being able to jump in the pool. Definitely not high end, but adequate for a one night stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Was taking a family trip with an active five year old, and 20-month old twins at Christmas.

The layout is basically three buildings with fully enclosed cloisters. It includes a good restaurant with a 25% guest discount, so once you're here, you don't need to go back out unless you want to. For what we paid, the restaurant was very good.

The staff, and especially the maintainance staff, was extremely helpful and friendly.

Our room was pretty spacious. We requested a portable crib and it was in the room ready to go when we got there. The bathroom was a pretty good size too, and overall the room was well laid-out and clean.

The cons? Not too many channels on the older TV, no mini-fridge, and there were some very big transitional bumps when trying to roll your luggage around. A few upgrades could make this an excellent property

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy F, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
On behalf of the staff, we would like to thank you so much for the kind words that you wrote in regards to your stay with us at the Best Western Plus Prairie Inn in Galesburg, Il. It is always nice to hear from our guests that we have done a good job.

We look forward to you staying with us the next time you are in the area.

Sincerely,
Kathy Fowkes CHS
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jax
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

A nice place to stay for a few nights.There is a lounge and restaurant inside the hotel.Large menu to choose from and pretty cheap prices.And you get a 25% discount on dinner with room key.can't beat that.only thing I did not like was older tv's and no mini fridge or microwave.other than that no complaints.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy F, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2012
Thank you for the nice review that you gave us at the Best Western Plus Prairie Inn in Galesburg, Il. We are proud of our property and appreciate the compliments. We are working on getting new, flat screen tv's for all of our rooms.
We hope that next time you are in the Galesburg, Il area, you stay with us at the Best Western plus Prairie Inn.
Sincerely,
Kathy Fowkes CHS
G.S. Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center

Address: 300 South Soangetaha Road, I-74 at East Main, Galesburg, IL 61401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galesburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Galesburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover northwestern Illinois from the comfort of this quaint Galesburg hotel, just minutes from Knox College and Seminary Street. Conveniently located off the I-74, the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center is just three miles from the heart of Galesburg, IL. Guests are just minutes from historic Seminary Street, offering shopping, dining and more. History and culture lovers delight in Galesburg's many well-known attractions, from the Orpheum Theatre to the Galesburg Railroad Museum to the birthplace of famed writer Carl Sandburg. A scenic self-guided car tour takes guests from this Galesburg hotel to many of these popular attractions. The hotel is a great choice for families visiting students at Knox College or Carl Sandburg College, both just minutes away. It's also a convenient spot for experiencing seasonal events, like Railroad Days and the Stearman Fly-In. This Illinois hotel also offers easy access for corporate travelers doing business at RFMS, BNSF and Masters Educational Services. A full service Galesburg hotel with the only full service event location in the area, we offer the highest quality amenities. Our ballroom can seat up to 300 guests, making the property a perfect choice for your next meeting, banquet, reunion or wedding. The newly renovated rooms at the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center include comfortable beds with quality linens and plush pillows. Newly installed 37-inch LCD flat-screen TV's have cable satellite & HBO®. Select rooms offer a private patio entrance to our beautiful courtyard. Other amenities available at this Galesburg hotel include an indoor pool, exercise facility, room service and free Wi-Fi access. The Prairie Inn Cafe, our onsite restaurant & lounge, offers delicious dining at a discount for hotel guests. Make the BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center your home away from home during your next visit to Galesburg, IL. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Galesburg
Galesburg Best Western
Best Western Prairie Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Prairie Inn & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.