We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stoney Creek - Galena” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Galena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Galena to your Saves list
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Galena
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   940 Galena Square Dr., Galena, IL 61036 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Cedar Falls, Iowa
1 review
“Stoney Creek - Galena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Front desk people were very helpful, friendly and timely with check in/out even though there was quite a few people in line. Rooms are very nice with Northwoods decor taken to the max. Nice pool/hot tub area with different seating areas.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    137
    33
    14
    10
See reviews for
119
262
19
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Very friendly and helpful front desk staff. Rooms are clean and very nice. Fireplace in lobby make the area extremely inviting. Rates are reasonable and small lounge is a plus! Will definately be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Some friends and I stayed the weekend for a girls time in Galena. Staff was fabulous, especially Judy! Rooms were very nice. The hotel including breakfast room, lounge, pool are and general areas were all clean and well kept. Will definitely be back and recommend to others traveling this way. Thank you!!

Room Tip: Ive stayed at several Stoney Creek hotels, all rooms have been very nice. Bathrooms are a little sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We spent one night at Stoney Creek and were delighted to find that pets are extremely welcome. They receive dog bowls, placemat and a doggie bag of treats. The room was very clean and nice. Great pool and hot tub area, along with a nice fireplace and couch in the lobby. There is a small bar for drinks and snacks and a decent breakfast. Overall, this was a really relaxing stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prophetstown, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Very friendly at front desk and helpful on place to eat in the area. The rooms are always so clean and the rates are resonable. I stay here EVERY time we go to galena. My favorite place. Thank you. Ps.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

My husband and I just got back from an overnight at the Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center - also known as the Stoney Creek Inn, and we can't wait to go back. We stayed in the Fireplace room, one of their many inexpensive specialty rooms. It was more like a suite with a living room, complete with fireplace, pull out couch, chair, tables, a desk and a small kitchen area. The bedroom featured a large, comfortable king size bed. There was plenty of room to hang clothes, a large flat screen TV and a comfy chair. It was so welcoming that we just wanted to hang out in the room for a while

The rest of the hotel is just as warm and friendly, starting with the staff. They were great. Judy, who checked us in, was ready to show us where everything was, and there was a lot. There's a cozy lounge where you can order drinks or pizza, a lovely breakfast room, and an amazing pool area. The pool area was airy and open with lots of windows and a high, ceiling. The pool was nice and warm, and the hot tub was the nicest I think I have ever experienced. We ended up staying there all afternoon, canceling our plans to visit the area and check out the tourist spots.

We probably would have stayed in all night, but Judy gave us a $10 coupon for one of the loveliest restaurants in downtown Galena.

In the morning, they served a great breakfast including cheese omelets , sausage patties, and fresh cooked waffles as well as the regular continental breakfast items. Everything was fresh and delicious.

The whole thing was a wonderful experience, and we can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Check out the specialty rooms. They are not that much more expensive, but the value is out of this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We were late booking a hotel room at Eagle Ridge during a convention last weekend so we settled for this little gem. Decorated very cute with a nice pool and better than average size whirlpool and one of the best nights rest I have had in a hotel in some time. Very clean and a decent breakfast in the morning. It is not the Eagle Ridge but very nice and worked well for what we needed

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack K, Vice President of Corporate Support Services at Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Galena, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear jjmg4423, Thanks for being a little late to the party so you could experience the sparkle our little gem generates. “A best night’s sleep in some time” is but one of the comments we strive to and consistently achieve and we thank you for taking the time to share.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Galena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Galena

Address: 940 Galena Square Dr., Galena, IL 61036 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#5 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Galena 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gravitate to Galena. After a wonderful day shopping more than 100 antique stores, marveling at historic 19th-century architecture, playing a round of championship golf, hitting the slopes or experiencing one of Galena's many unique restaurants, the Stoney Creek Hotel rooms and theme suites are the perfect place to unwind. Relax by the fire or in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Galena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Galena Hotel Galena
Stoney Creek Galena
Stoney Creek Hotel Galena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Galena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.