We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stoney Creek Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Galena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Galena to your Saves list
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Galena
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   940 Galena Square Dr., Galena, IL 61036 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Stoney Creek Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary and the room we got was just right. It had a fireplace a HUGE bed and all around very nice. The staff was very friendly ..will definitely stay here again if we are ever don the area

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    137
    33
    14
    10
See reviews for
119
262
19
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orland Park, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our first time in Galena and at Stoney Creek Inn.Every staff member we came in contact with was very pleasant. When the woman who checked us in found out we were celebrating our anniversary she put it on the sign iin the entry. Imagine my surprise when we saw it. Made our stay special. Inn was clean, pool and hot tub were awesome. Would go back to stay there!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, US
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Our family was on spring break, and we were looking to spend an overnight in the Wisconsin Dells, but after a lot of consideration, we knew that place would be too crowded during spring break (we also have a 9 and 10 yr. old). We thought we'd take a trip to Galena (approx. the same distance from where we live) and am I glad that we did and chose the #1 rated hotel / tripadvisor!
Our great experience started w/ the hotel reservation, where you're greeted w/ a recording of the hotel owner, and the reservation specialist was very friendly! You don't always get this when you call the much larger chain hotels! We did opt for a larger room w/ a whirlpool tub and fireplace/microwave/mini fridge. Upon arriving, we did walk into what was an exceptionally clean and welcoming lobby (rustic too). Kathy checked us in, and she was super polite and very friendly! Our room was very close to the pool and the kids loved that! Our room was very clean and a perfect layout for a small family or a couple (we had a king sized bed and a sofa bed which meant the kids had to share that!). We were there on a Thursday to Friday only, so the hotel was not busy, therefore, it was peaceful and quiet, and we really did have the swimming pool to ourselves!
The hotel also has a little bar that serves its purpose to the end of a long day!! It's not a "BAR", the desk clerk serves as the bartender too! It was nice to chat with her about the area, etc...
The drive into downtown Galena is really only a mile, if it were just myself and my husband, we probably would have walked it, but w/ two kids and a highway, it wasn't really an option. This location was perfect to be at for how close it is to downtown shopping and dining.

We did take advantage of the continental breakfast the next morning and the kids' always love to make their own belgian waffles and help themselves to juice, etc.... Coffee is going 24 hours a day too, so we could make our own in the room or just walk over to the breakfast dining area!

Everyone we talked to that worked there were very pleasant, and I mentioned to Dena the manager we had an awesome stay and the staff are just so friendly and nice to deal with!

This is definitely a place we would go back to for our "quick" mini getaway!

Finally - when I asked our kids, were they glad they came or would they have rather gone to a Water Park in the Dells, they both said "THIS"! We were all so happy to not get caught up in the hype that is the Dells and enjoy the history that Galena has to offer!

Room Tip: There are probably 6 rooms near the road, maybe ask for an "inside" wall room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westmont, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

As a birthday gift from my husband we decided to take our daughters and head to Galena for three days. We also have a medium-sized dog and were considering putting him in a local kennel but were surprised to find that Stoney Creek Inn was given a "five bone" rating when it came to pet-friendly hotels. Upon arriving at Stoney Creek we were greeted by a rustic lobby with a burning fireplace and comfy chairs surrounding it. The registration lady was happy and helpful and assigned us our two rooms, which we had requested be right next to one another on the first floor conveniently located next to a door that led outside so that we could take our dog for walks. When we arrived at our rooms they were decorated very cute with a rustic theme and a surprise gift bag for our dog. The rooms were very clean, cozy and quiet. On the first morning we all ate in the small dining area where we enjoyed our continental breakfast next to a burning fireplace. Although the dining area is small and filled up fast the breakfast had a wide variety of items and was very good. The attendant was very visible and replenished the stock promptly when it got low. The hallways always smelled so good to walk through, (like balsam trees) and the pool and whirlpool were nice and warm too. Great overall ambiance and experience! Would return here again without hesitation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I went to Galena but we planned to take our Pomeranian with us for first time. We went to Stoney Creek and they were very kind with our dog, the staff left a bag with treats and a toy for him. The hotel provides you inside of the room, a kennel, water & food bowls and a paw rug. The breakfast is super to start the day. We enjoyed so much the indoor pool and the hot tub. It took us 5 min. by car at the most to downtown. Stoney Creek let us have a wonderful weekend and we got more than we expected.
I definitely recommend this hotel, excellent price for what you get.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

On a recent road trip through the beautiful hills and valleys of southwest Wisconsin, I came so close to Galena, Illinois I decided to bed down there for the night. Have been to Galena many times over the years but never stayed at Stoney Creek Inn. Not having an invisible means of support, I need to watch my expenses. As I entered the lobby, I thought there's no way I could afford this place. Reminiscent of a northwoods hunting, fishing, golfing lodge all very tastefully appointed. In the off season and with a senior discount, my beautiful room came to $77. I couldn't believe how reasonable this was. Includes a generous and diverse breakfast, swimming pool, exercise room and a family den-like lounge area with TV and fireplace. Will certainly return with spouse in tow as this is a destination hotel. And, of course, there's Galena. Enough said.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are offered with refrigerator and microwave oven. I chose a regular room with king bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zion
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Arrived at the Inn and after making small talk with (Kathy/Karen?) headed to our room. Didn't realize it was on the third floor and with the wife being a heart patient I did not want her to negotiate stairs every time we went out and came back. Called the front desk, explained the situation, and asked if they had a room with the same amenities on the bottom floor. They said they did but it was not ready for occupancy yet and they would get back to me when it was. Less than 15 minutes later, our in-room phone rang and was told the room was ready. Going down the last set of stairs, Dena met us and helped with the bags. The remainder of our stay was even better than our first time there just about a year ago. If you are going to Galena, this is the place you want to stay...hands down. The entire staff makes the stay that much more special. Can't say enough great things about the Inn and the people. Thanks to all of you, our 33rd anniversary is one we will not soon forget.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower level are quiet and few (only 6). Big plus is the the level has it's own park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Galena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Galena

Address: 940 Galena Square Dr., Galena, IL 61036 (Formerly Stoney Creek Inn Galena)
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#5 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Galena 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gravitate to Galena. After a wonderful day shopping more than 100 antique stores, marveling at historic 19th-century architecture, playing a round of championship golf, hitting the slopes or experiencing one of Galena's many unique restaurants, the Stoney Creek Hotel rooms and theme suites are the perfect place to unwind. Relax by the fire or in our indoor heated pool. We look forward to your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Galena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoney Creek Inn Galena Hotel Galena
Stoney Creek Galena
Stoney Creek Hotel Galena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Galena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.