We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - simply amazing pizza, don't let the location fool you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Procento's Pizzeria

Procento's Pizzeria
105 Franklin St, Galena, IL 61036-2233
815-777-1640
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 57 Restaurants in Galena
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Dessert
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wow - simply amazing pizza, don't let the location fool you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Owner and son(?) both greeted us at the door and brought us to the table. Both were friendly and made us feel at home. The location is about a block south of Main Street off of Franklin, so not something you'd see along your stroll per se, but we found a brochure at the info center and wanted pizza that day so took a chance.

I was absolutely impressed with the pizza. I suppose "thin crust" would be the appropriate category, but this wasn't cardboard with a thin layer of cheese; ingredients were pleasantly full and rich in flavor and perfectly complimented each other (especially the cheese which was outstanding).

Absolutely recommend this place for lunch or even dinner if you want really good pizza. Also I believe that had a lot of other Italian meal choices besides pizza. Try it yourself!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    44
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Galena, Illinois
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Procento'sA Warm Cozy Place at the End of Main Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We wanted to try this restaurant as our bank teller is also the owner and she was obviously so proud of it. We are really glad we tried it. We may never have known about it as the entranceway is off Franklin Street, and another restaurant is located in front of it on Main Street. The owners and their children have clearly poured their hearts and souls into offering delicious food to their patrons. Everything is very fresh and sourced locally as much as possible. Tami's husband is the chief chef, and he is doing what he loves to do. We both ordered the chicken marsala, which was nicely presented, very tasty, and the portions so large, we ended up taking some of each home, giving us another big meal the next day. I also ordered the fried mushrooms, which, as I have said in other restaurant reviews are pretty much the same everywhere. However, these were perfectly fried and huge! I also brought most of these home to enjoy later. We would have ordered one of the desserts, but we were too full. The next time, we will order one of their unique pizzas! Procento's enjoys an excellent reputation among the locals, and now we know why. They are open for lunch, and dinner is served starting at 4 PM, but don't arrive too late, as it seats only about 30 diners at a time. This is a sociable place, and you will likely find yourself in a pleasant conversation with Tami and/ or her husband. Major credit cards are accepted except American Express, and they deliver to local hotels and B&Bs..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chenoa, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Doubledecker pizza delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Very friendly staff. Food was excellant. I recommend the Doubledecker pizza - very filling and very good!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

A large group of us ate here on a recommendation by a local. Best pizza choice ever! The pizza was hot delicious and served with a smile! Great service and fast. Would certainly eat here again if in Galena.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband and I always visit Procento's when we are in Galena to get the Procento thin crust special. The toppings are always fresh and cooked just right for great flavor! We also had a piece of their lemon blueberry mascarpone cake to celebrate our anniversary... so yummy! The owners and staff are always very friendly. Don't miss this place when you are in Galena!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Procento's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Procento's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Procento's Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.