We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9923 W US Route 20, Galena, IL 61036-9187   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Red Wing MN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here last year and enjoyed the Lincoln "designer" room. This year we had a very large room, #118, at the end of the building, with its window and balcony looking out over a forest. A bit too late in the season for the fireplace but it looked good anyway. Quiet and pleasant! And very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    81
    32
    14
    6
See reviews for
59
160
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
McHenry, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This motel was exactly what we wanted. Close to town, nice breakfast included, comfortable rooms and pleasant staff. We wanted a room facing the back so we could sit out and enjoy a glass of wine and have a view of the woods. The pool area was enjoyable. The wifi worked in the room as promised. We used the microwave and refrigerator. The sitting area was also useful. Would come back again if time allowed!

Room Tip: A room in the back has views of the pool and the woods, nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Overall, my experience at the BW Designer Inn & Suites was very good. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. Our room was clean, nicely updated and the shower was awesome! Close to downtown Galena.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belle Plaine, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed in one of the themed suites for our anniversary. It was very nice with a couple of extras in the room that added a very nice touch. The room was very clean and comfortable. The balcony overlooking the wooded area in the back was a nice spot to have a cup of tea in the morning. This was our first trip to Galena and we had been given a couple of great recommendations for a nice dinner from the gentleman at the front desk (who later also showed us how to get around town and a couple points of interest to check out). Dinner was more than we could have hoped for. The pool was lovely. It was a little chilly that night, but since the pool was heated, it wasn't so bad in their outdoor section. We had a great time! The continental breakfast was more than anyone could ask for along with their wonderful coffee and tea bar. Some of the items served that morning included make your own waffles, orange juice, hard boiled eggs, muffins, other pastries, bagels, biscuits and gravy, sausage, among others. My husband and I had a great stay and will definitely be back in the future. I highly recommend this hotel as a place to visit every time you go to Galena!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, IA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Recently I arranged an overnight shopping trip in Galena with three other girl friends. I had stayed at this motel several times in past years and throught they would enjoy it. All were complimentary about the spacious rooms and convenient locations to restaurants. It is nice to have the luxury of a seating area with a sofa and chair in addition to two queen beds and a small refrigerator and microwave, plus 4 cup coffee pot! We were able to walk to the Irish Pup next door. We did not get a chance to use the indoor/outdoor pool, but that is a nice added feature.. The breakfast was the typical hot breakfast that motels now serve. All in all, it is a nice place to stay at a reasonable price. T

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Great location! Close to town where there is a lot to do! Nice clean rooms with a neat pool that connects to an outside pool, the children loved it! Can't wait for a return visit to try out one of the Fantasy suites!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife and I were staying this past weekend (April 26-28, 2013) in Galena, and decided to stay at this hotel.

We recently started a gluten-free diet, and beside the price, saw that they had a hot breakfast menu, including eggs and meat (ham, bacon, etc). As almost all "continental breakfasts" consist solely of high starch, gluten foods, we gave it a try.

The room was very good; we were on the 2nd floor (actually there are 3 floors, but the "ground floor" is below grade, facing the rear), with a small usable balcony. The bed was hard, but not as hard as some we have slept on. However, my wife's hip began acting up, and the second night, she slept on the sofa-bed; it actually was more comfortable than the king we had!

The front desk was personable.

The breakfast on Saturday, adjusting for gluten-free, was terrible! The eggs were dry; they tasted like the reconstituted eggs you get when you go camping. The meat was "mystery meat", not worth mentioning, or even eating. The fruit was old Delicious apples, and dry oranges. We went out Sunday for breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites

Address: 9923 W US Route 20, Galena, IL 61036-9187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#6 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Designer Hotel Galena
Best Western Galena
Galena Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.