We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9923 W US Route 20, Galena, IL 61036-9187   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Lafayette, Indiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

We stayed in one of the new suites - it was very large and had unexpected amenities like a blu-ray player and fireplace. Everything was very clean and inviting, the front desk staff were always pleasant and had great recommendations for restaurants. Would definitely come back to stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    82
    32
    14
    6
See reviews for
59
160
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Watkinsville, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

The room was large and very clean. My first impression of the hotel was the warm welcome
from Jolene at the front desk. After a bad day on the road Lolenes welcome
made me forget about the trip.. We will be staying on our next trip to
your area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We really liked this place. # 1, it was clean! That always means the most to me! It's not right downtown but only a few mintues away. The lady that checked us in was the nicest! The breakfast was good and they had a big variety. The night we stayed it was packed but we didn't hear any noises and had no problem sleeping. The beds & pillows were good, no complaints at all. I will be staying again on my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

My husband and I took a little road trip this past weekend to Galena and stayed at the Best Western Designer Inn and Suites. We had a wonderful time. This hotel is immaculate and the staff are wonderful. Very personable and professional. I usually have an awful time sleeping in hotels, but not this one. The mattress was very comfortable and the pillows are like sleeping on a cloud. Our room was very comfortable and roomy. The free breakfasts were also remarkable. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DuPage County, IL
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We decided to book a long weekend on fairly short notice (1 week) and tried the B&Bs first, but they were all booked in our price range. The DeSoto Hotel was WAY too expensive. Found this little gem on Hotels.com, but got an even better rate through the BW website using our AARP card. The rooms were surprisingly HUGE, more like a mini-suite, with fridge, microwave, and large sitting area with sleeper couch, three armchairs and a desk with chair. Being on the 2nd floor, we also had a door leading out to a balcony that overlooked a nice wooded area. The room was very clean and the bathroom was a good size. They offered a free breakfast with hot items -- palatable, although they use powdered eggs (yuck), but waffle and biscuit/gravy lovers would enjoy it. Main St. is just 5-10 minutes drive, so save your calories for a hearty breakfast at a cafe. Lots of good restaurants to choose from. All in all, would definitely recommend and stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor facing away from the street. They are right on Rt. 20 - main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melrose Park, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Just a quick note to say how impressed I was with every aspect of my recent stay--from the price, room amenities, location, breakfast and Christine, the clerk who assisted me at check in. I visit the area frequently (Sinsinawa Mound) and usually stay at Eagle Ridge; however, because they were unable to accommodate me over the holiday weekend, I stopped in this Best Western on my way to check availability...and I am so glad I did! I have already told friends and family about it and passed out a few of your brochures. Thank you for
a comfortable and friendly stay--and even your proximity to Happy Joe's! It all worked out so much better than expected.

Room Tip: I loved the first floor and the access outdoors from the room. It was all so perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauconda, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

The desk clerk was so helpful and knowledgeable about the Shopping, Restaurants and Sights. Galena is a great place for a couples getaway and this Best Western is Close to the action. There is a nice Irish Pub right next door with entertainment. We reserved a Hot Tub Room which had it's own door to the parking lot and had a nice little place to sit outside and enjoy the weather. Everyone was friendly and you can eat a nice breakfast for free. Coffee is always available. when we go back we will definitely stay here again. Lee and Cindy O.

Room Tip: Get one if the Hot Tub rooms, or try the new couples fantasy suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites

Address: 9923 W US Route 20, Galena, IL 61036-9187
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#6 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Designer Hotel Galena
Best Western Galena
Galena Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.