We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What Are You Waiting For?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abe's Spring Street Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abe's Spring Street Guest House
Save
You added Abe's Spring Street Guest House to your Saves list
414 Spring Street, Galena, IL 61036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Occasion!
Ranked #6 of 34 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What Are You Waiting For?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We arrived for our return visit to Abe's Spring Street Guest House just as a heavy winter snow did the same. This is relevant because Charles worked tirelessly to ensure as safe and slip-free an experience for us as humanly possible. One of our party is mobility limited, so it really mattered. And what can you say about Sandy's breakfasts? Simply divine! The rooms are well furnished and all the necessary appliances and comforts are available. Parking is adequate in quantity and right by your door. The free wi-fi is a nice touch, though the signal is a just a little bit weak in the "upper" section of the building. Reservations, check-in, check out are all no-hassle events. The original art incorporated into the decor is pleasing and impressive. The beds are clean and firm - you'll sleep well. Abe's isn't cheap, and it shouldn't be. It's a first-rate B&B. So if you want cheap, try Motel 6. Sandy and Charles are genuinely nice people who will give you an outstanding vacation experience you'll remember with pleasure long after check-out. I expect to return again and again!

Room Tip: They book well in advance. Don't count on a last-minute reservation. This place isn't exac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
72
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
long grove
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

A perfect bed and breakfast and a wonderful,peaceful,romantic getaway. Abe's is walking distance to town and the owners sandy and Charles were so warm and hospitable. Sandy's breakfast was delicious and the rooms were immaculate and charming. Charles beautiful artwork was in Albert's Glen and the gallery was right next door where his amazing work is. They were lovely people and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downstate IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This is my second stay at the Guest House. I came this time for the Glaze and Graze weekend. My room was comfy, as before. Big bed, nice bathroom (thick towels), and a cozy TV room. Next door, is the pottery shop on one side and on the other side is the pottery studio. In the studio, we met for the Glaze part of the weekend. A small, great group joined me, on Friday night, to draw patterns on our dinnerware, then paint them. In the night they were fired in the kiln for us. Saturday night, we met again for a delicious dinner served on our own plates, in a gently formal manner, in a beautiful, candle lit room. Delicious breakfasts too! A perfect weekend!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed in Albert's Glen and had a lovely time. The suite has a kitchen area (where there is a full size refrigerator, coffee maker, provided coffee, mugs as well as wine glasses and a bottle opener) as well as a gas fireplace, sitting area, and a bathroom with a claw foot tub, and open shower. In addition, we took advantage of the spa room (hot tub and sauna), which was fantastic at the end of our long shopping day. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful - we very much enjoyed the espresso to start our day!

Room Tip: The room was nice and quiet despite being right off of Highway 20.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We saw this place four years ago as part of a tour of historic homes. We decided to spend a day in Galena at the last minute and remembered this place. They had a vacancy and off we went. The place is original with the custom decorations. Breakfast was fabulous. I'd go back just for that if they offered. And the hosts are truly nice people. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was my first experience with a B&B, and what a great experience it was! We stayed in Rudolph's Retreat, which features a king size bed, and a sitting room with pull out sofa & TV. There was even a DVD for us to watch, all about the Ghosts of Galena. The location is within easy walking distance of the river and downtown shopping. Sandy's breakfasts are absolutely delicious and so filling that we did not even need lunch. The private hot tub and sauna (made from a huge beer barrel) provided an evening of relaxation for us. We got to meet Oreo, their pet dog, and what a sweetie he is. It was a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Abe's Spring Street Guesthouse exceeded all my expectations! I stayed in the Rudolph Retreat suite, and friends of mine stayed in the Albert's Glen suite. Both suites were roomy and comfortable, and each room has lots of special, one-of-a-kind artistic touches that made the time there even more unique. The hosts were very pleasant and helpful in answering our questions. The breakfasts we were served were very tasty and prepared us for the day's outings. I highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a special get-away spot, and will definitely go there again when the opportunity arises!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abe's Spring Street Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abe's Spring Street Guest House

Address: 414 Spring Street, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique B&B rich in history and artistry. Built originally in 1876 as an ice house, this B&B has been lovingly rehabbed into two of the most comfortable and spacious suites each with a private entrance, private bath, king bed, sitting room with TV, VCR & DVD and fireplace. Separate spa room available with six person hot tub and six person sauna. Gourmet breakfast served each morning. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abe's Spring Street Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.