We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST B&B in Galena” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abe's Spring Street Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abe's Spring Street Guest House
414 Spring Street, Galena, IL 61036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Wifi!
Ranked #4 of 35 Galena B&B and Inns
Cary, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The BEST B&B in Galena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My husband and I go to Galena at least once a year and ALWAYS stay at Abe's Spring Street Guest House. We love to take weekend trips and usually don't stay at the same place more than once, but when it comes to Galena, this B&B is so perfect for us that we just can't bear the thought of going anywhere else.

To begin with, the whole ambience of the B&B is the best. The couple who owns the B&B (Sandy, a retired teacher and Charles, an artist) live in the main house, which is actually an old brewery. Breakfast is served each morning in their kitchen, and I have to say that Sandy's breakfasts are amazing! This past time we had French toast one day, Belgium waffles the next and omelettes on our last morning. Each breakfast is served with coffee (regular, strong or extra strong) or tea, fresh-squeezed orange juice, artfully designed fruit, hearty sausages, warm syrup and more all served on plates and mugs handcrafted by Charles. These breakfasts are made even better due to Sandy's kind, warm, knowledgable nature. She listens with interest to our daily adventures and shares local tips and insights with us.

The guest house has two rooms and is separate from the main house (which is one reason we really enjoy staying there). As the guest house is actually the old icehouse, the walls are 27 inches thick, so we feel like we can laugh, watch TV and talk without tiptoeing around. Our favorite room is "Rudolph's Retreat", as it has everything we need and we really feel at home there. The original wood floors, peaceful sitting room (with a mini-fridge, a flatscreen TV and a faux fireplace that gives off heat!) and handmade touches (the bed, artwork, benches and shower tiles were all made by Charles) give this room an elegant yet truly homey feel. The King-size bed is extremely comfortable, and we tend to spend at least a few hours a day just relaxing in the room. The windows are also unique, with deep window seats and shutters. The other room, "Albert's Glen" has a kitchen, a beautiful bathtub and more space. We've toured it, but tend to stick to "Rudolph's Retreat", as when we go to Galena, we'd rather eat out than cook!

In addition, there is a separate building that houses Charles' pottery studio on the ground floor and a separate hot tub and sauna room upstairs. What's the best about that is that you get to use it privately. It has the feel of a grotto, with cathedral ceilings, a 6-person hot tub and a barrel sauna. It truly makes for the most relaxing winter evening.

Abe's Spring Street Guest House is very close to downtown Galena, yet far enough away that you're away from the hubbub, is impeccably clean and well-taken-care-of and run by the most delightful couple. My only worry in sharing my feelings about this "best kept secret" is that there won't be any days available for us to stay there!

Room Tip: -A romantic room for couple's planning to eat all meals out would be Rudolph's Retreat. -Fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
58
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Joliet, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

The room is one of the nicest B&B rooms that my husband and I have stayed in. It is a suite that has an oversized king sized bed and a claw foot tub. The best part was the breakfast. The owner served homemade waffles and they were amazing. We will definitely be back.

They also have an amazing hot tub room, so don't forget your bathing suits like we did. :-)

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richfield, WI
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at Abe's and were pleased with the room. It was clean (a prime requirement) and well maintained. There was a mini-refrigerator in the living/sitting room, which was a good amenity to have when one travels and carries along snacks, soda and the occasion "leftover" from local eateries. Sandy, our hostess, was extremely friendly and greeted us personally. She showed us to our room and even asked if we were interested in the room with the whirlpool. Had it been colder and not in the upper '80s, we certainly would have accepted her kind offer. Sandy explained everything we needed to know about our room, and she told us where to come for breakfast, served promptly at 9:00 a.m. Breakfast was excellent. We were joined by two other guests who proved to be good conversationalists. Our french toast included warm syrup. Sandy had asked the day before about our coffee (or non-coffee) and meat (or non-meat) preferences to ensure we had a good dining experience. We also had a banana/grapefruit side that completed the meal. So, you may be wondering what made my review a "4" rather than a "5." You can call it personal preference. A couple of items influenced my rating (which is a VERY GOOD one!) -- we couldn't tell from the website description exactly where Abe's was located, and we assumed it was downtown near many of the other B&Bs. It's on the way out of town, on the main drag. While not a bad location by any means, we would have preferred a downtown location. My husband and I like to hike, and since we came to Galena after spending a couple of days hiking (including that day) in the Quad Cities area, we weren't up for another hike into downtown, and ended up driving (which meant "finding parking"). With temps in the upper '80s with high humidity, hiking into town didn't sound too enticing. Also, Abe's isn't the type of B&B that offers a lot of history, at least not that we could tell. The architecture is interesting to look at from the outside. The inside, however, is not a restoration or part of the era that typifies the Galena area...Victorian-type. That's not bad; it's simply not what we look for in a B&B when it comes to details that make one feel a part of the "era" where one is visiting. If you stay at Abe's you won't be disappointed. Enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: If your definition of "B&B" is simply clean and well maintained, put Abe's on your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed one night over Easter weekend in the Rudolph room. It was excellent. Room was very, very clean. Some people might be a little concerned about the room being close to the highway, but you don't hear the traffic in the room. Plus, we liked it anyway and sat on the porch at night and watched the traffic. Sandy makes a wonderful breakfast and is a super hostess. It was our first time at the bed and breakfast, but not the last.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Abe's Spring Street Guest House for two nights and we enjoyed our time there very much. We selected the "Honeymoon, Anniversary or Special Occasion Package" and highly recommend it! (http://www.galenabedbreakfast.com/packages.php)

The owners are very accommodating and know everything there is to know about Galena. They were able to provide good directions and suggestions for things to do. They are a husband and wife team, and she is a fabulous breakfast cook. Her french toast was so good and the presentation was very charming.

The room we stayed in is great. The entire place has a very artistic and historic feel to it, and the accommodations are comfortable. A warm cozy fire, king-sized bed, cable TV, and a nice kitchen with a fridge to store food in. Even the bathroom was impressive with a very large shower and a claw foot tub. The property also has a very nice hot tub and sauna room not far from the guest house.

We strongly recommend this Galena B&B if you are planning a trip to Galena. Galena is a lovely town with a really fun Main St. Your sense of smell will be dazzled by the food options up and down the street!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We visited Galena and stayed at the Abe's Spring Street Guest House. Loved the room and our hostess was a wonderful, warm, friendly individual. Our room was large and very welcoming when we entered. Breakfast in the morning was a treat for the taste buds. Our hostess served an exceptionally delicious breakfast before we continued on our travels. Be sure and make this a stop when in Galena.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We went to Galena w/2 other couples. We stayed in Rudolph's Retreat room, one couple stayed in Albert's Glen room and the other couple stayed at Farmers down the street. Since this is an old icehouse, the walls are super thick which is nice because you don't hear much of anything. Being in the front room by the road, we had some road noise but not during the night and we weren't in the room during the day much so it didn't bother us. Both rooms were big, Albert's is huge (like an apartment) with a super cool bathroom. The place is VERY clean, the beds comfortable and the breakfast was very good. Both rooms have their own private entrance which is a bonus! It's only a short walk to Main Street where there's an abundance of shopping!

We went to Farmers to check out our friends room and were stunned at how small it was. The floors creaked horribly, as well as the bed. They had a private bathroom but it's definitely for one person at a time. With the six of us in the room we all had to stand still or turn sideways to let another get by. The walls are paper-thin so you hear a lot from other rooms. When we walked in the front door, everyone in the parlor turned and stared at us like we were interrupting something...a very uncomfortable feeling. Needless to say, our friends won't be staying there again! I'm still trying to figure out why they are rated #1, because they are far from it in my opinion!

Most B&B's have small rooms and you're lucky if you have a private bath. Abe's has it all and than some! Big rooms, A/C, Fridge, Private Entrances, Breakfast, Hot Tub/Sauna, etc. You get all of this for half the price of any other B&B in town! Our entire group gives Abe's two thumbs up and we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abe's Spring Street Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abe's Spring Street Guest House

Address: 414 Spring Street, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique B&B rich in history and artistry. Built originally in 1876 as an ice house, this B&B has been lovingly rehabbed into two of the most comfortable and spacious suites each with a private entrance, private bath, king bed, sitting room with TV, VCR & DVD and fireplace. Separate spa room available with six person hot tub and six person sauna. Gourmet breakfast served each morning. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abe's Spring Street Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Abe's Spring Street Guest House to your Saves list