We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous, charming house, delicious breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hellman Guest House

Hellman Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hellman Guest House
Save
You added Hellman Guest House to your Saves list
318 Hill Street., Galena, IL 61036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 34 Galena B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous, charming house, delicious breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hellman Guest House the night after our wedding. It was the perfect place for us to unwind and decompress from all the wedding craziness. Sitting out on the porch over looking Main Street and Grant Park is so serene and relaxing. The house itself is gorgeous, and Rita does an amazing job keeping it up. Rita was hospitable and took great care of us. The breakfast she made for us the next morning was a delicious german pancake which my husband and I both loved. I would highly reccomend this house to couples looking for nice, relaxing get-away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Round Lake Park, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This was our first stay at Hellman Guest House. We instantly felt at home with the owner, Rita. She made us feel very welcome and appreciated. She helped us find just the right places to visit in the area. The other guests we met were all very interesting and we had some wonderful conversations around the breakfast table. The gourmet breakfasts were delightful. The presentation and flavor were right on target. At night we sat on the veranda on a swing overlooking the town of Galena. The house is high on a hill so the view is serene and very nostalgic. We would highly recommend this guest house to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

This was my third stay at the Hellman Guest House and each time has been exceptionally pleasant. You cannot beat the location, high on a hill overlooking the town and in the heart of the shopping district below. The house is beautiful with some of the original furnishings and beautiful wood work and stained glass, leaded windows. The rooms are comfortable and clean and the breakfast always outstanding. The owners, Rita and Bob were both there to answer questions about where to eat and things to do, very helpful and knowledgeable about the town history and local activities. I won't stay any where else!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, MN
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

My recent stay at the Hellman Guest House was delightful in so many ways. The 1895 mansion enjoys a commanding view of the town as it sits high on High Street. It is probably the best preserved mansion in all of Galena. Rita, the Innkeeper is charming and very excited about Galena and its history. She enjoys talking to the guests, but balances her comments allowing the guests to interact with each other if they wish. The breakfast was ample but I did not feel stuffed.. The German pancakes were a nice touch (sans syrup) harking to the roots of Mr Hellman who was born in Hamover, Germany. Rita has reconstructed the entire rish history of the house and has extensive documentation of all of its owners, especially the first 2 who both lived in the house for 39 years! The view of town from the porch is outstanding as is the same view from the master bedroom. Other rooms have nice views of the gardens which Rita has spent a lot of time renovating and expaning even with a small waterfall! I found it enriching to recreat the steps of Mr Hellman and General Grant. Walk down the hill toward Frankin St. a short distance to St.Mary's German Catholic Church that Mr Hellman attended and the site of his funeral. (not the German writing on th front "Gebaut" = built in). Go a half a block to 121 High St (white picket fence) where General Grant lived in 1860 as he worked in his father's leather tanning shop at 122 Main St. I recreated his daily route to the shop by going down the Washington St stairs (all 220 of them). Then to the Desota House Hotel the site of his presidential campaign headquarter for his presidental bid in 1865. If you like B and Bs especailly if you are a history buff I highly recomment this one. The price is right to boot!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

It was a very nice place to stay. We stayed in the master suite. The room was nice and big with a beautiful view of the town below and the countryside. The room was nice and we had our own bathroom. The owner of the house was very nice. She had several recommendations on places to visit and restaurants to try. She cooked a wonderful breakfast in the morning. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The master suite was large with a beautiful view of the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

My fiance and I stayed at Hellman for an impromptu midweek getaway this Feb. Rita was very welcoming even though we showed up within an hour of calling to make the reservation. We were the only ones staying that night. The pictures online do not do this place justice! The price was great too.

Location: The location is perfect- just a walk down the hill to get downtown and also on a great street surrounded by picturesque houses (several other inns as well). Last time we were in Galena we stayed at Cloran Mansion which was great except for location so this was important for us. The walk up from dinner was pretty steep as others have mentioned but not a problem for us.

Rooms: We stayed in Eleanor's Room after peeking at each room since they were all empty. Picked it because it's the only room with a clawfoot tub, Of note, it's a bit more private than the rest since it's at the end of the hall next to the second stair case- not an issue for us since we were the only ones there but might be a plus when the place is full. Next time we would probably stay in the Master suite- it's the biggest room and has amazing views of downtown Galena. All rooms have electric fireplaces and private bathrooms. TVs are tiny with VHS players (tapes available to borrow) so don't expect high tech. Bed was fairly comfortable. The room wasn't huge but big enough and everything was very clean.

The downstairs is very charming, plenty of room to sit around and play a game, browse through the books about Galena, etc. Everything inside is very well maintained and the outside gardens look like they will be beautiful in the summer as well.

We have stayed in several B&Bs throughout the country and Rita definitely stands out as a great hostess. Very informative, genuine and informal. She sat and chatted with us during breakfast (which was delicious- German pancake, fruit, scones, coffee, juice) and we really felt like guests in her home.

There are many B&Bs to choose from in the area and I will definitely return to Hellman.

Room Tip: Get Eleanor's Room for the clawfoot tub or the Hellman Master Suite for the big room and amazing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We visited Galena for the first time to celebrate our anniversary. Rita was a gracious hostess, the breakfasts were outstanding. We had the suite, which overlooks downtown and the river - just beautiful.

The Hellman House is very convenient to downtown shopping and dining, and the views from the top of the hill are amazing. Being on the hill, though, means that even though it's only 3 blocks to downtown, returning home is a 3 block walk straight uphill.

We highly recommend staying at Hellman House.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hellman Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellman Guest House

Address: 318 Hill Street., Galena, IL 61036
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hellman Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.