We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABSOLUTELY THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hellman Guest House

Hellman Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hellman Guest House
Save
You added Hellman Guest House to your Saves list
318 Hill Street., Galena, IL 61036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 34 Galena B&B and Inns
Cedar Rapids
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“ABSOLUTELY THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2007

My husband and I went to Galena to find a bed and breakfast to not only stay in but get married in. We toured several homes in Galena prior to our stay and the Hellman house was the first stop and the one we chose. The house is spotless, the food was delicious and Rita is a gracious innkeeper! She arranged a minister, baked us a wedding cake, took pictures, helped the bride get ready and to top it all off, made us a keepsake album and personalized champagne glasses to take home and many other added touches. We did not expect any of this. She went above and beyond what we ever dreamed of and helped make our special stay the best bed and breakfast experience we have ever had and our wedding day perfect! We are scheduled to return for our 1 year anniversary again. The Hellman House is a MUST STAY in Galena.
Steve and Donna Wieditz

  • Liked — EVERYTHING
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elmwood Park, IL
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

What a wonderful night’s stay we had at Hellman Guest House - and though our stay was a serendipitous accident (we had booked a four day honeymoon stay in the Abbey's High Street bed and breakfast across the street, but no one was home to let us in), it was remarkably enjoyable. We are very thankful we stayed here, because it
was our first time in a bed and breakfast, and our experience at Abbey's later that week turned into a nightmare (See our August 2006 review of Abbey's High Street for more). We therefore had a very good
first impression of what staying in a b and b could be like, and why
so many people choose to do so.

The owner and hostess Rita Wadman greeted us at the door, and showed us a room that was truly lovely, large, and had a wonderful view of the beautiful hills of the Galena countryside out its windows. The bathroom in this room had a large shower, ample space elsewhere, and a balcony window with another spectacular view outdoors.

We took a tour of the house after we had made ourselves comfortable, and took a peek in the other three lovely upstairs bedrooms, which had no guests staying in them at the time, as it was a Sunday night. What really caught my eye throughout the house are the lovely period details that set this 19th century mansion apart from some of its more modernized neighbors.

After a very restful night of sleep, Rita was our engaging hostess at breakfast. We thoroughly enjoyed our conversation with her as we ate the delicious, and healthy breakfast of crepes, fresh sliced fruit, juice, and coffee she had so carefully prepared, and tastefully served - complete with crystal, fine china, and candlelight. Rita was also very helpful, and obliging when we asked her for directions before we left.

Still later, Rita was generous with her assistance when our stay at Abbey's during the rest of the week turned horribly sour. Our conversation with her on the spacious, and charmingly furnished veranda was really peaceful, and the view was truly beautiful all around the house, especially since Rita had done much to brighten up the surrounding garden.

All in all, our one night stay at this bed and breakfast was wonderful, and my husband and I will be sure to stay there whenever we are in the Galena area for a visit.

  • Liked — Our hostess Rita, and the lovely home she so graciously allowed us to stay in
  • Disliked — no internet access
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Chicago
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2006

Elegantly period decorations,lovely garden and grounds.
The hosts were very gracious ,helpful, and just down to earth people! A very delicious full breakfast (couldn't finish it all). Beautiful wrap around porch with a great view overlooking Galena.

  • Liked — Hospitality and the great food
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2004

My wife and I visited Galena for the first time in October of 2004. We had not made reservations as we did not know what to expect and did not know how long we would visit. We happened upon Hellman Guest House and found it to be more than we had imagined a bed and breakfast in Galena would be. Since it was during the week and not on a weekend, we were flexible. We were greeted by a gracious and freindly hostess and the accomodations were excellant. The House is beautiful and located on a hillside above town and offered a great view of the downtown and immediate area. The breakfasts were delicious and quite ample. We plan on visiting Galena again in the near future and will definitely stay at Hellman Guest House.

The Schroeders

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2004

My husband and I have stayed at Hellman House two years in a row. The house is lovely and situated on the hill overlooking downtown. All rooms have private baths. Last year we stayed in the master bedroom that had a walkout balcony and fireplace and was spacious. All rooms are decorated with antiques. The breakfast is served in the dining room on antique dishes and it was delicious. The hosts are very friendly. It was very relaxing to sit and swing on the front porch. We felt like we had the house to ourselves. We will return to this lovely home for our special fall getaway.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hellman Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hellman Guest House

Address: 318 Hill Street., Galena, IL 61036
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hellman Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.