We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to get away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goldmoor Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Goldmoor Inn
Save
You added Goldmoor Inn to your Saves list
9001 Sand Hill Road, Galena, IL 61036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 34 Galena B&B and Inns
Sibley, Iowa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

We have found a wonderful place to relax and forget all the troubles of the real world. This place is so beautiful inside and out. We have never experienced such a quiet get away, ever.
The rooms are decorated just so, and the color schemes of the rooms are just warm and homey. You can't help but feel relaxed at this resort. The beds have to be some of the most comfortable we've ever had, and the sheets are just wonderful.
We had the King Arthur room the first night, then the Mississippi Room the second night, we loved both rooms equally as well, they are both so different, as for colors and themes, but they both did the trick as far as giving us a romantic getaway.
The breakfast was wonderful, especially having brought to our room every morning. The food was wonderful every morning.
The Goldmoor Inn is a wonderful place for a romantic getaway. It is so peaceful, and the views are spectacular. Overlooking the Mississippi is breathtaking, you will love every minute of this place.
Patricia helped us with the check in, and was wonderful. All the staff was very helpful and friendly at all times. The cleanliness of this bed and breakfast surpasses all places we have ever been.
Just a wonderful place for relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    30
    15
    9
    4
See reviews for
21
254
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

We stayed at the Goldmoor over a holiday weekend, and it was just like a slice of heaven on earth. We didn't want to leave! The scenery was breathtaking, the grounds were immaculate, and our cabin had all the comforts of home -- plus a number of thoughtful little extras we'd normally expect to find in a world-class resort.

When we checked in, we were greeted with a personalized sheet showing the weather forecast for the next two days, and the following morning's breakfast menu (we received a new sheet each morning). There was also an invaluable room binder containing a surprisingly comprehensive array of dining and entertainment recommendations, put together by the inn staff themselves. And we were so impressed with the professional decor in each of the guest quarters. Besides the individually-themed suites inside the inn itself, there are three separate cottages and two separate log cabins, all with an entirely unique theme and color scheme. It seemed like not a single detail of the ambience had been overlooked. It was like staying in a professionally-decorated miniature house, not just a "room". And while the log cabins are pet-friendly, you'd never guess -- housekeeping made sure everything remained impeccably fresh and spotless.

The Goldmoor served up a very satisfying hot breakfast each morning, and we were given the choice of having this delivered to our cabin. This is a huge help if traveling with pets and/or small children -- they set everything up at your breakfast table and then leave you in peace, so you can eat in the comfort of your own room.

The staff was professional, courteous, quiet, and incredibly efficient. They have a full library of DVDs and games that you can check out for a quiet evening or a rainy day, and the wonderfully helpful Rita once even pulled a replica remote control from behind the front desk to demonstrate how our TV could be programmed! We have truly found a rare country gem in the Goldmoor.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

Guys, If you are searching for a special place that you Wife / Partner will like I recomend the Goldmoor. This place was very peaceful. The Goldmoor is located away from the town of Galena by a few miles. When we arrived I noticed that there was no noise! Just birds and wildlife. The train passes once in a while but it is also relaxing. (Not like my cousin vinny movie LOL) The breakfest in the morning was excellent! There is a beautiful view of the Mississippi River. The room I stayed in was the Covington. This room is on the ground level facing the river. The room was really nice (see pictures). The only thing I noticed was the radio speakers did not work. Didnt bother me much. The sheets are the high thread count and you can tell. The Jaccuzi tub is really big. They let you use games, CDs, DVDs, bikes, etc. If I sum it up it is a nice place to take your lady. Most men are unsure when planning a special getaway.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monroeville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

We had a peaceful and romantic time at the Goldmoor. The rooms are well appointed and clean. The screened in porch was fantastic.In the morning we listened to the sound of the rooster and other birds. In the evening the cool breeze and sound of the crickets were relaxing. The service and breakfasts were outstanding. We enjoyed hiking and seeing the overlooks at Mississippi Palisades State park , the riverwalk in Dubuque and national treasure Jim Post as Mark Twain at the Trolley Theatre in Galena. Pre -trip communication with the staff was prompt and very helpful.Thank you for helping to make our 25th anniversary special!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

We had a wonderful time at Goldmoor. Everyone on site was nice and helpful. I planned on asking my girlfriend to marry me and they helped with some small details. When I was looking at different places to stay this inn was very helpful and communicated well. In the end my girlfriend loved the room and location. The best part was she said yes when I asked her to marry me. You just have to have a spa visit. It was great as well.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Goldmoor Inn in April for our Anniversary. It was wonderful and relaxing. The rooms were spacious and clean. Breakfast was delivered to our room and it was very good. We want to go back real soon.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

From the time we arrived, the hotel staff was very welcoming, and willing to go the extra mile to make sure that we could get all that we needed. That included the capability of buying a bottle of wine at there facility, which was reasonably priced, to getting chocolate covered strawberries or a meat and cheese tray.

They will serve you breakfast in your room, and it is as good as you would get from home, and this breakfast was part of the cost of the room.

The two person whirlpool, was comfortable and clean!!
The room was well decorated, and clean.

We will be sharing this facility with our friends in the near future, as I believe we have found the one and only place to go in Galena. A++++

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goldmoor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldmoor Inn

Address: 9001 Sand Hill Road, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand deluxe suites, elegant cottages and cabins overlooking the Mississippi River just south of Galena. All accommodations have king beds, private two person whirlpool, fireplace, full private bath. Breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Goldmoor Hotel Galena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goldmoor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.