We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fountain of Youth!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goldmoor Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Goldmoor Inn to your Saves list
Goldmoor Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9001 Sand Hill Road, Galena, IL 61036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 35 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Port Saint John, Florida, United States
2 reviews
“Fountain of Youth!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I've stayed at the Goldmoor Inn several times over the last 10 years. They never get old, or repetitive. I always feel like I've suddenly gone back in time to when I was younger, and didn't have a care in the world. Why do I feel this way? Because they have already thought of everything, before I've reached them. The accomodations are the best, and the ambiance and view takes be back to a much more simple time. No buildings blocking the view, no traffic clogging up my path. Heavenly relaxation, and rejuveination! If you missed this, you might as well have stayed home!

Room Tip: To stay out of the way, choose a cabin. For a good view, Mississippi Suit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    33
    16
    10
    5
See reviews for
25
267
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

I enjoyed our stay at the Goldmoor last week. I appriciated the decor, as the Arthur Suite was decorated toward more of a man taste. We enjoyed the quite time and breakfest was to die for. I recommend this place and we will be visiting again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed at the Goldmoor Inn for a family wedding. The rooms were spacious. My family of four fit in the room and we were more than comfortable. I enjoyed my stay at the Goldmoor so much that we purchased a gift card to give to our good friends. We also recommended the Goldmoor to a couple for their honeymoon. Both of the couples had a wonderful stay at the Goldmoor. They loved it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

The best place I have ever visited! The staff, grounds, rooms and restraunt were all top notch. I cannot wait to return to this heaven in the hills.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Il.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We enjoyed our stay very much and felt the stay a very good value. The staff and Inn Keepers were extremly competent and did a great job making us feel welcome.

The view from was a sight to remember All of our family members were very favorably impressed

Room Tip: Our rooms were very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Byron, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We were in town for a family event and had a wonderful experience at the Goldmoor. Such a beautiful setting and the accommodations were incredible. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

The Goldmoor exceeded our expectations in every way. The Mississippi Suite was beautiful, well maintained and provided a lovely romantic atmosphere. The hotel staff anticipated our every need and were uncommonly helpful and friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our gourmet dinner at the Goldmoor as well---beautifully presented and more than generous portions of delicious dishes. Truly a perfect inn leading to a perfect experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
7.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena
6.6 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Galena
5.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
5.8 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
5.4 mi away
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldmoor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldmoor Inn

Address: 9001 Sand Hill Road, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldmoor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand deluxe suites, elegant cottages and cabins overlooking the Mississippi River just south of Galena. All accommodations have king beds, private two person whirlpool, fireplace, full private bath. Breakfast is included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Goldmoor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldmoor Hotel Galena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goldmoor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.