We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lamb Chops were fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Log Cabin Restaurant

Log Cabin Restaurant
201 North Main, Galena, IL 61036
815 777-0393
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 57 Restaurants in Galena
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lamb Chops were fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

My husband and I shared an order of lamb chops that were fabulous--charred on a grill but medium/rare exactly as we ordered. Great atmosphere and old fashioned service. We had a great time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    88
    36
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Two Rivers, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I luv prime rib,ordered it rare by the time it got to me,the air had turned it brown.buddy had fish,was fishy.others had ribs,good.good chopped sirloin.the steaks here looked awesome.nextime that is for me!kinda pricey.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
logcabinsteakhouse, Owner at Log Cabin Restaurant, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
We don't understand the "Not Friendly" title. We wish for everyone who visits our establishment to have the best experience possible. Please contact me so that we may work out a solution. Also, the reason our menu prices are little bit higher than everybody else is because we buy prime specially aged meats from the world renowned Allan brothers in Chicago, founded in 1893. Allen Brothers uses the highest grade of USDA Prime, representing the top three percent of all graded American beef. We are also the owners of Gobbie's Sports Pub & Eatery, we do want to thank you for the nice review for Gobbie's.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“enjoyed the prime rib”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We arrived in Galena around 7pm and our hostess recommended this restaurant. Monday through Thursday they have a special on prime rib, 17.95. It had excellent flavor and was very tender. Only complaint we had was it's very dark and we had difficult time reading the menu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great Food and Drinks, superb service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Can't leave anything out the food is good. The service and drinks are great too and the people who work their are professionals in every way. Try the Greek version lamb and the potatoes. All the steaks are to die for also.

Can't miss on going to the Log Cabin.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Opa delight in olde world atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Greeting at the door, whether first time or long-time guest, is always welcome and cheerful. This family owned restaurant takes quality in food, service and atmosphere to the highest levels. Walked in last minute for our anniversary and were treated as royalty. Dean always has some neat family stories to share as he walks you to table, waiter Jeremiah takes care that your service is timed and fulfilling, and the food is exquisite. My favorite was the Lamb served Greek style (includes side and house family salad) along with my favorite Irish whiskey. As we left for the evening, seeing the family photos, celebrity and regular guests photos, makes it feel like "your own family".

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Log Cabin Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Log Cabin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Log Cabin Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.