We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So full I could have popped...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Log Cabin Restaurant

Log Cabin Restaurant
201 North Main, Galena, IL 61036
815 777-0393
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 57 Restaurants in Galena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Bloomington, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So full I could have popped...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is an old school steak-house. No messing around at all, with huge hand-cut steaks. My tenderloin and pork chop combo prepared Greek-style was destroyed, and Kelly loved her fillet. I would have loved desert, but there was no room.

The design of the restaurant is all dark-wood and low light - like and old school supper club. Prices are not cheap though, but I would definitely go back to try more of the steaks. 32 oz porterhouse next time maybe?

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    103
    43
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Laughlin, Nevada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best PrimeRib ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We visited the Galena visitor cent and they gave us a discount card for various shps and restaurants in area.
The Log Cabin offered a $16.95 special so we gave it a try.
The meat was so tender and flavorful I have to say it was the best ever.
Service was great people made you feel very welcome.
If ever back in Galena it would be on the menu,

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Galena's Log Cabin is a must!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

You definitely need a reservation for this popular dining spot, it's expensive, and finding parking may be aggravating, but it is well worth the visit! My husband (from Scotland) said his T Bone steak was the best he's ever had and my Queen filet was prepared exactly as I asked and was delicious. They are willing to prepare anything Greek style, and the Greek fries are out of this world.Although the cracker basket, relish tray, and decor are somewhat outdated, it was refreshing to see professionally dressed wait staff who are very attentive and friendly (we had Brian who also gave us some
good advice on places to see). There's a reason why this establishment has been in business so long, and long may they continue!!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great staff! Delicious prime rib!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

What a perfect restaurant for our anniversary weekend getaway! Staff is very friendly/attentive and Harry can make a delicious Long Island iced tea. So many menu choices - so much food! Fresh bread/butter, fresh veggie tray with the best homemade cheese spread; medium well prime rib (cooked perfectly) along with a salad and French fries (Greek style, of course). Thanks! Truly enjoyed and we will be back!!

The Martinis from St. Charles

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpentersville, Illinois
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lamb Chops Greek Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We enjoyed a fabulous meal at Log Cabin. Many restaurants to choose from, this is a must stop. I had their lamb chops prepared Greek style. They flavor was awesome! Service was very good too.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Log Cabin Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Log Cabin Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Log Cabin Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.