We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Perry Street Brasserie

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Perry Street Brasserie
124 North Commerce Street, Galena, IL
815 777 3773
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Perry Street Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 57 Restaurants in Galena
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Continental, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Perry Street
CHICAGO,IL
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We ate here on a Thursday night, the place was not busy, which was probably good for us.
The meals we had were done to perfection ;)
The owner Stephen and his son Matthew were very friendly and we had a wonderful conversation with them.
We will definitely be back again!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    18
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf, Iowa, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Back again!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Well this place has become not only a must visit when we go to Galena, but now has become the main reason to go to Galena in the first place. It's worth an hour plus drive from the quad cities just to eat here! Service as always is impeccable and friendly. They make you feel like family (the kind you look forward to seeing) As awesome as the regular items on the menu are, I can't remember the last time I didn't get the chef's special. This time was no different. I won't try to describe it as I am not a food writer, but I'll simply say it was the best steak I've had in ages, prepared with sausage and some amazing sauce. We brought our 5 year old daughter, and we were a little nervous about this, as this is an upscale, and very small restaurant, but they couldn't have been more accomodating. Their welcoming attitude affected the full restaurant, and everyone dining there was talking with us and our daughter. Appetizers, wine and beer, desert, everything as always was the greatest! It's a good thing we live just far enough away, or we might be there every week!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A dining gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We had two wonderful dinners at this wonderful restaurant in Galena. The food was superbly prepared and more than equal to any fine restaurant in Chicago. Matt was our server and his expertise enhanced an already wonderful dining experience. Save room for the special chocolate dessert! It's mind blowing if one is a chocolate fan.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream, Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Place for Fine Dining in Galena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Received multiple recommendations for the Brasserie. We're glad we went. A little bit off Main Street and may not give the impression of fine dining based on exterior appearance. On the contrary, this is fine dining. The entrees included the owner chef's unique delicious touches. The service was friendly and timely. Try the desserts! They're to die for.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Delicious, impeccable service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The food was absolutely wonderful. The best dinner we have had in a while. A small intimate place for a special dinner. We had their renowned chocolate dessert, which was so big we couldn't even finish the shared portion - to die for! Prices are a big higher than others, but worth the splurge.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perry Street Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Perry Street Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perry Street Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.