We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place for Fine Dining in Galena” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Perry Street Brasserie

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Perry Street Brasserie
124 North Commerce Street, Galena, IL
815 777 3773
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Perry Street Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 57 Restaurants in Galena
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Continental, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Perry Street
Carol Stream, Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Place for Fine Dining in Galena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Received multiple recommendations for the Brasserie. We're glad we went. A little bit off Main Street and may not give the impression of fine dining based on exterior appearance. On the contrary, this is fine dining. The entrees included the owner chef's unique delicious touches. The service was friendly and timely. Try the desserts! They're to die for.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    18
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Delicious, impeccable service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The food was absolutely wonderful. The best dinner we have had in a while. A small intimate place for a special dinner. We had their renowned chocolate dessert, which was so big we couldn't even finish the shared portion - to die for! Prices are a big higher than others, but worth the splurge.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nothing Like It! One of Illinois' Finest!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This is simply one of the finest restaurants in the Midwest. The chef displays exceptional talent. Is there a restaurant in Las Vegas in the offing for this superb culinary artist? If not, there should be. Move over Puck; make room for this maestro from England. No wonder the royals are fans.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hidden treasure in Galena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Tucked behind the Main Street almost as an afterthought or back room, this restaurant has its own unique menu based around its chef's uniquely created blends of spices, each of which are available for purchase in the restaurant! I had a seafood dish with a hint of curry that was amazing! The seasoning blend was Mediterranean and I definitely went home with a jar. The wait staff was fantastic and very on their game. The atmosphere was unique and intimate. Will return next time we are in Galena!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Amazing dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had been tipped off by our B&B host that this was a great place for dinner, and I'm so glad that we had dinner here. This is a small place, and has a nice, intimate feel. We went for an early dinner, and were able to take our time ---- which, combined with the food and atmosphere, felt completely luxurious. We ordered the pork, and the salmon, and both were wonderful. I don't usually mention what's in the bread basket, but the whole-grain bread was really good (I could have probably made a meal of that and the salad). Dessert was a bit small to share (or perhaps that's just because I was greedy) --- we tried the bannoftee (a shortbread crust, toffee, and bananas) and it was sublime.

In addition to the wonderful food, the service here is superb --- everyone was very friendly, and we just felt so spoiled ---- just an overall great experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Perry Street Brasserie also viewed

 

Been to Perry Street Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perry Street Brasserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.