We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Generals' Restaurant

The Generals' Restaurant
230 S Main St, DeSoto House Hotel, Galena, IL 61036
815-777-0090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Generals' Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 57 Restaurants in Galena
Cuisines: American, Eclectic
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Joliet, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Food is excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

They have one of the best steaks that I have ever had. They also have delicious homemade dressings for their salad.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    12
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Schaumburg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Grea Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

I have been coming to Galena for years and always stop in at The General's.
Alway great food and service.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbandale, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hungry?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

You get more food than you can eat ... and the bonus is that it is delicious and home cooked food.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Depends”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

It depends on when you eat there. Years ago when we first ate there the food and service were excellent. A few years ago our server poured us our coffee and we never saw again. We ended up leaving and going to another restaurant. So you never know it's always an adventure..

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“get lots of napkins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I love the Ribs, you need lots of napkins but it is worth it. It is a wonderful place to eat and also be able to hold a conversation.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Generals' Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Generals' Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Generals' Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.