We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place we stay in Galena” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1237 Franklin Street, Galena, IL 61036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 34 Galena B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oak Lawn, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The only place we stay in Galena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We've been visiting Galena at least once a year for the past 9 years. We love staying at Cloran Mansion. It's like coming home. Carmine and Cheryl are wonderful hosts. You truly get to relax. They go out of their way to make you feel welcome whether it is your first visit or if you've been coming for years. It makes us keep wanting to come back. Breakfasts are absolutely wonderful. It's great place for a quick get away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    42
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
31
435
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

If you are looking for the most amazing place to stay while in Galena the Cloran Mansion is that place. Their breakfast are absolutely delicious and to die for. Carmen and Cheryl are the best B&B keepers ever. LOVE IT!!!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We arrived with just minutes to spare during the standard check-in hours. We were immediately greeted by Carmine and Cheryl and immediately felt at home. It was more like stopping in to stay with friends than a business transaction.

We were given the rundown of the facilities and shown to our room which was very clean and comfortable. Very pleasantly surprised with the little extras that were offered such as the fridge which was well-stocked with complimentary pop and water.

We had a very busy day so we were quite content to simply relax and watch a couple of movies while stretched out in bed. It was raining so there wasn't much chance to tour the grounds.

The next morning we went down for breakfast and was blown away with the quality of the meal. We are still marveling at the hashbrowns/potatoes which were simply incredible! Everything was so well prepared and delicious.

We originally ended up here because it was one of the few places that would allow us to stay on the long weekend without a two or three night minimum. We certainly appreciated that policy and you can bet the next time we make a visit to Galena we know exactly where we want to spend the entire weekend. We loved this place and can't wait until we get a chance to return.

Still surprised to learn I was apparently the first ever Canadian guest.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Went back for our second stay to celebrate our 10 yr anniversary and it was as amazing as the first time! Place was clean, quiet, beautiful, romantic and the service we get from Cheryl and Carmine you could not get at a 5 star hotel. Can wait to plan an our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I took my mom to the Cloran Mansion as a Mother's Day gift. We went midweek for 1 night. I wished we could have stayed for more. We had a short wonderful time. I will definitely stay here again. My mom has been to many Bed and Breakfasts and she said this was one of the best. The breakfast was outstanding. Better than any restaurant and Carmine tells a great story. You can tell they love what they are doing and love to share their home. When we arrived they showed us to a different room than I had booked and said that they were upgrading us! So thoughtful. Our stay was too short as we really didn't get to enjoy the gazebo and pond as much as we would have liked. We will stay longer next time. A great stay and a big thank you to Carmine and Cheryl. Sincerely Karen (Algonquin,Il.) and Donna (Johnson City, NY)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cloran, Owner at Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review. It is such a pleasure to host a Mother/Daughter get-a-way. We're glad that you had a nice time and upgrading your room was our way of thanking you for choosing us from all of the available and wonderful Bed and Breakfasts that Galena has to offer. Hopefully we will see you again

Carmine and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Just completed a return visit to the Cloran Mansion and we were pleased to find that nothing had changed. The hosts, Carmine and Cheryl were as friendly and helpful as they have always been, the room was just as clean and comfortable, the breakfast is still the best that we've experienced after many years of staying at B&B's, and the little amenities have not been forgotten. The Cloran Mansions does continue to shine as one of the best!! We intend to return soon.

Room Tip: Rooms choice would be a personal preference. Thus, be sure to visit their website to view the pictu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanark, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The location is ideal, it is tucked away from the hussel and bussel of downtown and highway traffic, yet close enough to the downtown area for convenience. It has very beautiful grounds. clean rooms, and excellent breakfast. I would recommend the Cloran Mansion to anyone wanting a quiet and peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1237 Franklin Street, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1880 Italianate Victorian Mansion on an acre of beautifully landscaped grounds. Screen Gazebo, koi pond and fire pit. Five distinctive rooms and a secluded cottage. Fireplaces, private baths in all rooms with luxury double whirlpool tubs, CDs, stocked complimentary mini-fridge, TV/DVDs, A/C coffee service available all day. Full country-style breakfast served from 9:00 - 10:30 AM. DSL wireless. Cloran Condo at Longhollow Point does have a pool, sauna, exercise room and game room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cloran Mansion Hotel Galena
Cloran Mansion Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.