We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Amazing Bed & Breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
1237 Franklin Street, Galena, IL 61036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Get 30% Discount
Ranked #4 of 34 Galena B&B and Inns
DeKalb, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Amazing, Amazing Bed & Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We just completed our third stay at Cloran Mansion. And as always we were so, so thrilled with every single detail. From the room, to the ambiance, to the cookies waiting inside the front door, Cheryl & Carmine treated us wonderfully. Breakfast is out of this world amazing. We stayed our first time almost 10 years ago - and it's only gotten better. Of all the options for bed and breakfasts in the Galena area - this has got to be the best one!

Room Tip: All rooms are great! Cottage is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    41
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
30
416
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Batavia, Illinois, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

It was our first time at a B & B...We stayed in the tower room and it was the best experience for a romantic getaway...Carmine and Cheryl made us feel like we were Family not guests...The Breakfast they prepared was out of this world and gave too much to eat...I would put the food higher then a 5 star restaurant...Clean and friendly...We will make this our spot in Galena next trip back..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cloran, Owner at Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Anthony,
Thank you for such a wonderful review. I always get leary when a professional in the food industry, especially one who went to culinary school is happy with our breakfast. You wonderful guests to host and hopefully we will see you again.
Have a great holiday season

Carmine and Cheryl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Carmine and Cheryl Farruggia operate a wonderful Bed & Breakfast! The grounds are beautiful, and both house and grounds are decorated seasonally. The rooms are are very comfortable with plenty of room, with the best mattresses ever! Whirlpool baths and fireplaces really set a warm, relaxing atmosphere. The family style breakfast was absolutely delicious each morning, with plenty of good coffee. We stayed in Ann's Room and it was just lovely and private. Cloran Mansion is close to downtown Galena but not in it, close enough but far enough to have peace and quiet! Carmine and Cheryl are very friendly and so hospitable. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just wanted to take a minute to let folks know what a tremendous pleasure it was to stay here! Carmine and Cheryl were unbelievably friendly and accommodating! My wife and i have never stayed at a B and B before so we were a little apprehensive at first. It only took 5 minutes upon our arrival before that all changed. They get it!! The food in the morning was spectacular and we could have spent hours listening to Carmine share stories about the house and his experiences. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: Take the room named Sara's suite...although they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

From the moment we stepped inside, took in the ambiance and met the innkeepers we knew we had made a great choice.
The beds were very comfortable. The room was cozy with a corner fireplace very clean and had a flat screen, dish tv and a dvd.
The parlor next to us contained hundreds of DVDs to choose from.
The dining room was very elegant and the food was awesome - in quantity and quality.
We will return soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed at the Cloran Mansion while we were in Galena celebrating our 10th wedding anniversary. It is a lovely place! Carmine and Cheryl are super nice and very welcoming and they make a FANTASTIC breakfast! The room we stayed in was clean, comfortable, and cozy! They even gave us cookies and a card for our anniversary! Everything was perfect!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Forest, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We eagerly look forward to our annual visit. The Cloran Mansion is the highlight of our trip. Carm and Cheryl are simply the best! It is evident that they love what they do. Where do I begin: The grounds are beautiful as are the rooms. I can't wait to visit the movie library which always has the newest selections. The breakfasts are awesome There are so many wonderful places to eat in Galena but in all the years we have been coming to the Cloran, we have never stopped for lunch!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1237 Franklin Street, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1880 Italianate Victorian Mansion on an acre of beautifully landscaped grounds. Screen Gazebo, koi pond and fire pit. Five distinctive rooms and a secluded cottage. Fireplaces, private baths in all rooms with luxury double whirlpool tubs, CDs, stocked complimentary mini-fridge, TV/DVDs, A/C coffee service available all day. Full country-style breakfast served from 9:00 - 10:30 AM. DSL wireless. Cloran Condo at Longhollow Point does have a pool, sauna, exercise room and game room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cloran Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Cloran Mansion Hotel Galena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cloran Mansion Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.