We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish Cottage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
Save
You added Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9853 US Rt. 20 W, Galena, IL 61036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Anniversary to Remember
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Muscatine, Iowa, Usa
1 review
“Irish Cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We love staying at the Irish Cottage. The rooms and service are always top of the line. We usually reserve a room with a hot tub and a fireplace. It is a wonderful way to relax after a hectic week. We live about two hours away and call this place our little getaway. The entertainment is always authentic. The Celtic dancers on the weekend are fantastic. If you are looking for a great place to stay, this would be it!! The breakfast menu is delicious. The morning scones are comparable to scones served overseas. Galena offers great shopping, wineries, and beautiful views. Enjoy

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    145
    42
    14
    8
See reviews for
72
299
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We love staying at the Irish Cottage. The rooms are always lovely and clean and the beds are so comfy. Our room this time had a whirlpool and that was a fun touch after a day of wandering Galena. The staff is more than considerate and we enjoy interacting with them.
We enjoy the pub while there and the entertainment is a nice addition. Our only complaint was a miscommunication about breakfast order. We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensenville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My daughter-in-law and I came to Galena for weekend away and for the craft fair.
Our stay at the Cottage turned out to be our favorite place. The rooms were clean and bright.
The staff was excellent. The location for what we wanted to do was perfect.

I am not a good sleeper away from home. Let me tell you I had no trouble sleeping, my
problem was getting up in the morning. The beds were really comfortable. We liked our pillows
so much we bought them to bring home. This was not our first visit and it will not be our last.
We are already booked for our visit this year.

the Irish Cottage is one of the most comfortable and friendliest place I have every stayed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Irish cottage well exceeded our expectations! Their rooms, staff, food, entertainment and spa were superior for such a reasonably priced room. The spa is small and intimate and the massage was heavenly! I judge the quality of hotels for my job and this property is a wonderful gem to find! The staff is friendly, kind and attentive. Oversized, beautiful rooms in a quiet environment. You can't beat the location, close to downtown Galena, but not in the busy, hustle bustle area. Very convienent to skiing and shopping. The restaurant/pub downstairs has great free nightly entertainment! It made it very easy & fun to spend an entire night at the hotel, eat, drink and be entertained and never have to drive. We will be back!! The food was excellent as well!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This hotel is incredible! The staff is so polite and accommodating. I'm talking about the entire hotel staff...the restaurant, the lobby, the spa...all friendly and just make the hotel experience 125% better. The rooms are beautiful and spacious and unlike other hotels, you can't hear hallway noise or other guests next door. The hotel is a 5 minute drive from downtown Galena which is super convenient. This is the only hotel my husband & I will stay in when we visit Galena. We can't wait to go again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemont, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We visited the hotel as a girls' outing for the wine Lovers Weekend. What a great package event! The hotel is beautiful, peaceful and scenic surroundings. Loved the decor, the library is a great place to relax with a drink, or do some journaling or reading. The view from the library reveals a hilly area that will change with the seasons. The spa is so calming and a great place for a massage. The pub had great breakfasts and also lunches. The wine events were well organized, punctual, and very informative as well as fun. The dinners were arranged at great restaurants, Vinny Vanuchi's and also at One Eleven Mai, and the shuttle service was excellent. All the staff was friendly, and very accomodating. The pool was warm, and very clean. The fitness room had several pieces of good equipment for a varied workout. Loved the live entertainment at the connecting pub. It was just a wonderful experience and we plan to visit again for the wine lovers event and perhaps others as well. I would highly recommend this hotel. It's just a really beautiful, well equiped, and clean place to stay, as well as having lots of ammenties. Only complaint is that the pillows were not as plump as I would have liked. But that's not a big deal.


  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Although there are other hotels in the area both more and less expensive, the Irish Cottage will always be my choice when staying in Galena. Everyone there is focused on pleasing the individual and it feels like a family. We were surprised and delighted on our last stay for Wine Lover's Weekend to be informed at the desk that the manager had upgraded us to a wonderful suite with a whirlpool bath and fireplace. Every staff member was genuinely helpful....food and atmosphere lovely...and restaurants recommended right on. This was our second stay and we plan on many in the future!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel

Address: 9853 US Rt. 20 W, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#2 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Irish Cottage Hotel
Irish Cottage Galena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.