We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel
Save
You added Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9853 US Rt. 20 W, Galena, IL 61036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Anniversary to Remember
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rapid City, Sd
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

This was a great place to stay--staff was friendly, room was very nice, and the band in the Irish pub was an added treat!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    145
    42
    14
    8
See reviews for
73
300
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

My husband and I stayed here one night on our way to visit family. We stayed in a suite that had a jacuzzi - it was pricey, but a nice room. The hotel staff was friendly, and the decor of the main hotel area is very cute. We stayed on a Friday, so there were Irish dancers and a singing duo in the restaurant that night when we went for dinner. The dinner itself was just ok, but we really enjoyed the entertainment. The location of the hotel was very convenient to Galena; we just hopped in our car the next day and easily found parking on Main Street to do some shopping. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

The Irish Cottage cares only about the almighty $$$. Two days before my wedding, on July 28, 2011, Galena was hit with 13+ inches of rain causing serious problems at many hotels, restaurants & businesses in their historic downtown. Some hotels lost air conditioning, hot water & elevator service for a day or two which sent many of our wedding guests scrambling for a new hotel. The Irish Cottage was unaffected by the storm and had plenty of rooms available. You would think that in a tight-nit community that survives on tourism they would display an esprite de corps & come to the aid of their fellow business & the displaced travelers? Well you would be wrong, dead wrong. Instead of opening their doors and their arms to the stranded, they took advantage of the situation and charged everybody a premium rate. The other hotels had waived the two night minimum stay requirement & gave everybody traveling to Galena a special wedding rate. The discounts at the other hotels were nominal, only $20 in some cases but the Irish Cottage charged full fair, even to those in need of handicapped accessible rooms!! We were all appalled but had nowhere else to go. Shame on the Irish Cottage. You took advantage of people in need when you could have helped. You went for the $$$ and now you will never get any of mine or of my wedding guests again.

Room Tip: Stay in downtown Galena. You want to be with in walking distance because all of the restaurants, sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Arrived in Galena without hotel reservations & stopped at the Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel because we were impressed with its curb appeal. We requested two king rooms and the desk clerk offered to show us the rooms, which met with our approval for ample size & cleanliness. The bathroom appeared to be recently updated, however the vanity area was outside of the bathroom itself, which is not my preference, but can be tolerated. The premises offered free use of computer with internet, dining room, full bar, gift shop, swimming pool, hot tub & spa as well as continental breakfast. The hotel was very peaceful and quiet and offered a good nights rest after walking the streets of Galena. The Irish Cottage is not within walking distance of Galena's downtown, but is only a short ride away.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I was just in town for the night. This place is super cute, the rooms were very clean and the staff kind and helpful. Who could ask for more right? I didn't go to the bar or eat here so I can't let you know how that was. I did hear when they have entertainment this is a fun place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

We truly enjoyed our stay and will come back again. The rooms were bright,very clean and quiet. Bed was comfortable. Breakfast basket included with warm delicious fresh home baked scones.Starbucks coffee in room.

The staff was super friendly to us , as we had to cancel one night because of the excessive heat ruining our vacation. Not a problem to them at all,very understanding.

However, Spa totally unreliable, they cancelled our appointment on us. Very disappointing too, after waiting all day.. It's Very expensive and You can get the same services cheaper in Galena.Two people can not get facials together either. Bummer.

Room Tip: ask for room not facing the street for a great quiet view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern MN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We recently took a two day trip to the Galena area and stayed at the Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel. From the moment we walked in the front door we were greeted by smiling faces and welcoming staff. Each time we would walk thru the lobby we were greeted and asked how are stay was going and was there anything that they could do to accommodate us.
We stayed in a Deluxe King room. The bathroom is a bit small but overall we would go back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel

Address: 9853 US Rt. 20 W, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Galena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Also Known As:
Irish Cottage Hotel
Irish Cottage Galena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irish Cottage Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.