We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farmers' Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Farmers' Guest House
334 Spring Street, Galena, IL 61036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 35 Galena B&B and Inns
Normal, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a weekend trip to Galena. This was our first stay at a B&B and came away happy with the experience. From check-in to check-out everything was fabulous here. If we had a question, Susan or Don, were available and willing to answer. The building is situated a couple blocks from the main street, so most everything is within walking distance. We stayed in the Aimee room and were happy with the cleanliness of the room. Here is where our only complaint lies, it is a smaller room and a very much antiquated room than we had anticipated. Aside from that, the food here is excellent, the free wine and snacks, was a nice touch. There was plenty of other common spaces to relax in if needed. We had a flat screen television with a dvd player in the room. If we came back to Galena we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers' Guest House, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at Farmers Guest House. Your comments are very helpful, not just for us as innkeepers, but for our entire team. We are always looking for ways to improve our services and numerous amenities.

It was a pleasure to learn that in general you have enjoyed your visit. Please accept our apologies for the discomfort you have experienced with our Aimee room. The Aimee is one of our most popular rooms, with a queen sized brass bed and gas fireplace. The room has the romantic traveler in mind. We surely understand your concerns and would suggest that you reserve one of our two in-house suites, or our separate cottage in the future if you are looking for increased space and amenities.

Once again thank you for choosing to stay at Farmers Guest House and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can assist in ensuring that your next visit to be more comfortable and enjoyable.

Don & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    701
    28
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
59
515
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Farmer's Guest House. The experience was exceptionally pleasant! We stayed in the Mary room, which is one of the smaller room but was very nice and was immaculate! Every room we used and/or viewed was dustfree and immaculate. The owners were very friendly and caring. Family members and Charles, the inn's housekeeper, assisted us in carrying luggage and bags up and down the stairs, which was very much appreciated! One knows that at a B & B you will receive a full breakfast, but at the Farmer's Guest House you also receive wine and cheese at 5:30 PM. The rooms which were unoccupied and we were able to see were all attractively decorated and very clean! Individual rooms have a television, DVD player and ability to regulate your own heat. Soda, bottled water, ice and cookies were aways available for guests. Although Susan was a bit under the weather the day we departed, her husband - Don, adult daughter - Sara, and Charles made sure that we were well cared for. Charles is priceless, not just in keeping the inn immaculate, but in visiting with guests, assisting guests and being himself!! Susan, Don, Sara, and Charles were wonderful hosts!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers' Guest House, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. Charles, our full-time housekeeper, takes great pride in keeping Farmers Guest House clean and spotless. We are proud of the experience we provide to travellers and are delighted to hear about it in our reviews. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.

Don & Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I have never been on a retreat or to a B & B in the states. Don, Susan, and Charles are fabulous! I can't tell you how much it meant to get away from it all with three of my friends and enjoy the experience at Farmers' Guest House. The food was fabulous, the atmosphere soooo relaxing, our room was great, and the staff was so welcoming. Susan and Don and the people of Galena were so hospitable to visitors and shared their insight on shopping, restaurants, and were very helpful wherever they could. We did not want to come home. Thank you for sharing your love of B & B experience, as it should be offered. The additional quilting equipment, area provided for our sewing machines, and projects was wonderful.

Room Tip: There are no bad choices. All of the rooms are beautifully decorated and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers' Guest House, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review, and especially for your "Room Tips" comment. I happen to agree with you, that all our rooms are lovely. Some are bigger, some have fireplaces, and our suites are luxurious, but they are all wonderful. See you again soon!

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

From the time you arrive until the time you leave you feel like stress is left behind & you can relax because you are taken care of & pampered!
We were on a Quilt Retreat & got to experience lunch , wine & cheese and late checkout .
I am typical not a B&B frequent traveller but I loved it and looking forward to a return stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers' Guest House, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! I know that, before we bought the inn, every time we would come out to Galena I would feel the exact same thing you describe - the troubles just drop off as you travel down the lovely country highway. I especially enjoy coming around that last bend in the road and seeing Galena spread out in the valley before you. What a wonderfully relaxing time. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My fiance and I spent this past weekend in Galena at the Farmers' Guest house. Paul had never stayed at a B&B before, so was a little skeptical about how it would be staying with strangers. Sue and Don were very welcoming and made us feel right at home without being pushy or intrusive. The historic Farmer's market building has been tastefully redone (loved the wall of clocks, the embroidered samplers, the wall of wine). Each morning we had a excellently prepared meal and in the early evening wine, cheese and crackers. Sue was very helpful in finding local dining for the evening (she even had several menus on hand and offered to make reservations!). They had a great selection of DVDs (alphabetically arranged and cataloged!) to provide in room entertainment if preferred. And a KEURIG machine, water, sodas, and ice on hand for late nights or early morning. Charles kindly freshened our room while we were out exploring all the historical sites and shops of Galena on Saturday. It was a wonderful weekend thanks in large part to our hosts. We definitely will be going back to this B&B and Paul is now looking forward to his next stay at a B&B. Hopefully I can talk my sisters into sharing the cottage with me later this year which I hear tell has a hot tub! Definitely recommend this rest stop on your next visit to Galena!

Room Tip: There is Charlotte has a hot tub as does the cottage, but all rooms are very pretty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers' Guest House, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so glad that you had such a wonderful time here. We own a B&B because we stayed at our first one 9 years ago and fell in love with the lifestyle. Taking care of our guests is a pleasure and we love having first timers! Our Suites; the Cottage, Julia and Charlotte, have 2 person whirlpool tubs, not hot tubs. There is a difference and we want to be sure we don't mislead anyone as to what fine amenities we offer here at our luxurious guest house. We look forward to you and your sisters coming soon!
Susan & Don
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McHenry, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I won this gift certificate at a benefit. We were welcomed as if we were family! She knew our names and our restrictions for our diets. The place is so clean, and dust free. I suffer from allergies and this place was so clean!!!!! The food was wonderful, the wine and cheese hour was so nice to get to know the other guests. We made some new friends. Mom and I just loved our stay and it will be a memory for us to last for the rest of our lives! I highly recommend this place!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My daughter and I booked a two day get away to Galena, IL. We decided to stay at the Farmer's Guest House, a bed and breakfast located on Route 20 just a few blocks from town. The folks who own it could not have been more welcoming and accommodating. The entire bed and breakfast was spotless, as was our room. Every morning we were served a delicious hot breakfast, and in the late afternoon a wine and cheese hour allowed us to chat with other guests. Charles, the housekeeper, was very charming and polite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GalenaBedandBreakfst, Owner at Farmers' Guest House, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review! As the mother of 7 daughters, I love seeing mother/daughter pairs getting away for a restful day of shopping and reconnecting. I hope we see you again soon.

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Farmers' Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farmers' Guest House

Address: 334 Spring Street, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located within walking distance to historic Main Street, Farmers Guest House has been serving guest for 146 years. WineTime, new country breakfast, ice, hot & cold beverage service, cookies, free wifi, DVD library, in-room full bath, flat screen TV, thermostat to control heat and central air, luxurious towels, sheets and bath amenities, concierge service, off-street parking and all the comforts of home in one place - Farmers Guest House. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Farmers` Guest House Hotel Galena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farmers' Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Farmers' Guest House to your Saves list