We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Challenging trails, stunning views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chestnut Mountain Resort

Chestnut Mountain Resort
8700 W Chestnut Rd, Galena, IL 61036
815-777-1320
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 13 Attractions in Galena
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Skiing
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Challenging trails, stunning views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I try to to hit the slopes at Chestnut Mountain at least once a year. It's a 3-hour drive, but worth it. The final few miles, along Blackjack Road, are dreamily scenic, especially in a snowstorm.

Service is friendly and knowledgeable, especially the folks who help you choose your gear. You can stow your gear in lockers for 75 cents, although an increasing number of skiers just leave their stuff under benches, which makes the area an obstacle course when you're wearing ski boots.

The vista from the Lodge is always stunning. You're looking straight out across the Mississippi River to Iowa, miles away. You can see hawks and trains in the distance. During my recent outing, the River seemed mostly frozen.

I start my skiing routine on the Old Main, then work my way across to Crazy Horse. On the day I was there (a weekday) there were minimal waits for the lifts. The conditions were a little icy...not much new powder. But it was lots of thrills with only a few spills.

Stop at the Summit restaurant for a bite and a great view.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    57
    11
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elmhurst, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just stopped by for drinks and view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Recommend a ride up to Chestnut Mountain to enjoy the view at the bar and have a drink if you are visiting and not planning on skiing. The resort was very very busy and cannot speak for the skiing itself.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Chestnut Mountain is a fun place to go for a couple days with the kids. We have been going here since 2005 and always have a great time. There is a lodge on-site, and so once you park the car you are set. No shuttling back and forth! The mountain has a self-contained terrain park for the kids to do tricks on snowboards, and nice variety of runs for skiers. The mountain is small enough that kids can go off and do their own thing, and everyone can meet for lunch or dinner.

The setting is beautiful, overlooking the Mississippi River and west into Iowa. The restaurants are situated to showcase the view, and the prices are very reasonable for ski lodge food. The rooms are not posh, but they are clean and just fine for skiing. The towels were great, and the pool area was clean and had lots of towels available. The bar area has a huge fireplace and tons of flat screens so it was a great place to have a drink and watch football while the kids went back out for night skiing.

We like being able to stay at the slopes. We have also visited Cascade, Alpine Valley, Devils Head and Granite Peak in Wis. Cascade and Granite have more runs, but no onsite lodging. Devils Head has a lodge, but the mountain is small. Alpine has a lodge, but the mountain is really just a hill. So if you are looking for onsite accommodations, a variety of runs, good ski school, and a separate terrain park, with only a 3 hour drive from Chicago, Chestnut will meet your needs.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“The Summit Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We visited Chestnut Mountain a week ago while they were making snow and grooming the trails. It was windy, cold and snowing as we walked around. Perfect for a wintry day. We ate lunch at the Summit Restaurant, sat at the window and enjoyed the view. The service was good however the food was just average. My mushroom sandwich was tasty but greasy. My husband's beef sandwich had a huge piece of fat on the meat which he had to cut off. We felt the kitchen should have noticed so much fat and trimmed it before it left the kitchen. The next time we visit the area we will eat in Galena.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Open for the season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

While I enjoy the winter season more than most folks and I am admittedly biased toward snow sports, I must say that Chestnut Mtn. has one of, if not the best snow making systems in the Midwest. In less than a week they were able to cover nearly all of their terrain and despite what you may think, this Midwest resort has lots of terrain to cover. That said, I think they go a bit overboard on building jumps for the kids on beginner terrain that no beginner has any business attempting. On the other side, it is early in the season and catering to a diverse group of skiers boarders and learners is difficult. The day was beautiful, most runs were groomed to perfection.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chestnut Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chestnut Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.