We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FUN FUN FUN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chestnut Mountain Resort

Chestnut Mountain Resort
8700 W Chestnut Rd, Galena, IL 61036
815-777-1320
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 13 Attractions in Galena
Type: Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Skiing
Attraction details
iowa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FUN FUN FUN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We did the alpine slide and the the river boat experience, it was so much fun and well worth the money... the tour guide did a great job, and he even stopped on the upper mississippi so that we can get some awesome pictures of some young eagles, I ended up some awesome shots of eagles!!!!!

Thank you, thank you, we will def be going and doing that again! A must thing to do when you go to Galena!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    57
    11
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seneca, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fun Alpine Slide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We rode the Alpine Slide overlooking the beautiful Mississippi River. It was a fun time. The views were breathtaking. We hope to return soon.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Summer time slide fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

During the summer, enjoy the Alpine Slide. These slides were perfected in Germany years ago. It is very safe, as you control the speed. On the way down you get commanding views of the Mississippi River. $8 for one ride, or $20 for unlimited rides one day.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice lunch and Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This location is right on the way back to Galena if you visited some of the local wineries. A nice lunch at a good value is worth the amazing view of the river. When your done with food, it is worth the price to do the sled ride down the hill.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
msggrl
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Love the new option to do Segway will try that next time we visit. The cement slides are really fun. Our food was good at the Sunset View restaurant but it was not mouth watering good. But the view was spectacular.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chestnut Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chestnut Mountain Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.