We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stillman Inn is wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bernadine's Stillman Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bernadine's Stillman Inn to your Saves list
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
513 Bouthiller St, Galena, IL 61036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 Galena B&B and Inns
Des Moines
1 review
“Stillman Inn is wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

The Stillman Inn was a wonderful place for a weekend getaway. The Inn is very beautiful. Our room was clean, the bed comfy, and the jet tube in our room was a nice touch. Dave is a great person who cares about his guests. The breakfasts (and snacks) were great!

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    50
    14
    9
    2
See reviews for
12
291
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fargo ND
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

It was our first time at a B and B. We had a wonderful time. The property was great and breakfast was the best. We would highly recommend to others.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amboy, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2007

This was our first time at a bed and breakfast and I have to say it probably won't be the last. From the moment we stepped in the front door and were greeted by Bernadine and Dave to the moment we left it was a very wonderful and memorable experience. We felt like family just coming home from being gone a long time. Their home is so warm and inviting and you are made to feel like you belong. The attention they give to the little details makes you feel like you are their only guests, which we weren't. Dave was very helpful in suggesting places to dine and points of interest that we should try and see. The wonderful breakfast that we shared with the five other couples in the parlor was much more than we expected and it gave us a chance to meet new people and have some great conversations. My husband really enjoyed the great "snacks" (especially the pumpkin pie) that are left out for the guests to enjoy anytime. I would definately recommend the Stillman Inn to anyone wanting to spend time in Galena. It was a very special weekend filled with many memories and one we won't soon forget thanks in part to Dave and Bernadine's kindness and hospitality.

  • Liked — Warm and inviting
  • Disliked — cold tile on the bathroom floor
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2007

This was the best get away of my life! The room was awesome and the cookies/milk at 1:30 AM was just as great! You couldn't get better attention from any hotel etc. Dave & Bernadine are great and will do everything they can to make sure you have a great time. If you like breakfast you will be in heaven! Best breakfast I've ever had. Christian (part of the staff) will also go out of his way for you. I was worried about "starting" a fireplace but they have it setup so nicely all you do is flip a switch and the fireplace is on and working! I loved that feature! I know we will be back as soon as we can!

  • Liked — very clean
  • Disliked — the walk up the hill coming back from downtown...listen to Dave and take the vehicle
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2007

My husband and I chose Bernadine Stillman Inn to celebrate our 3rd wedding anniversary. The mansion was beautiful and historic. We really enjoyed our room with a whirlpool and fireplace. Very nice breakfasts and it was quite a treat to have free cookies, ice cream bars, and popcorn always available. We also had homemade pumpkin pie since we stayed in November. Dave and Bernadine were quite the hosts. They were great. We recommend you stay and see for yourself.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleton, WI
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2007

A great stay. Very comfortable, and easy walk down the hill. Plenty to do for a weekend getaway.

Water & Soda's in your room. Fruit and Cookies - Ice Cream too! More good food for breakfast and plenty of conversation around the table.

Dave is a great host and has developed a great reputation. This one should be on your list!

- Mark & Donna

  • Liked — Hospitality
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaPorte, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2007

This Place has something for everybody and its in the Best Place in the world, Galena IL. It's a MUST STAY location. If you don't fall in love with this place your next stay should be in a morgue. The breakfasts are to die for and the shopping in Galena (only a short walk away) is amazing.
- Alex and Laura M.

  • Liked — No Smoking!!
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bernadine's Stillman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernadine's Stillman Inn

Address: 513 Bouthiller St, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic and Historic 1858 French Italiante Bed and Breakfast. Awarded "Best Breakfast In the Midwest" and "Best Innkeeper" among others. We look forward to serving you and helping you get the most out of this attractive destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Bernadine's Stillman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernadine's Stillman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.