We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time in galena” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bernadine's Stillman Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bernadine's Stillman Inn to your Saves list
Bernadine's Stillman Inn
513 Bouthiller St, Galena, IL 61036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 Galena B&B and Inns
Abingdon, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great time in galena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

our first bed and breakfast experience and it could'nt have been better.the stillman inn is a lovely place in a great location.dave and bernadine are very gracious hosts with expert advice on galena.we are hoping to visit again soon .

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    50
    14
    9
    2
See reviews for
12
292
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Elgin, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

Dave and Bernadine are perfect inkeepers making you feel like you have been their friends always! Dave exudes everything positive and has great suggestions of what to do and where to go in Galena. The people in the town also had wonderful things to say about him too. Our room was spacious, very clean and comfortable, and thought it was beautiful. I would definately stay here again! It's nice that the Stillman Inn is on the same street as Grant's home and other historical attractions. It was also nice that it is on so much property as compared to other B&Bs that are just another home on the street therefore no place to park.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oskaloosa, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

From the first phone call to Dave at Stillman Inn - Our Trip was Spectacular! We wanted to renew our Wedding Vows for our 25th Wedding Anniversary- And Dave and Bernadine made it happen! The rooms were gorgeous! Only wish it wouldn't have been so warm so we could have used the Fireplace! Dave and Bernadine were excellent Hosts and were very helpful in listing places to go and how to get there as well as visiting with us and aquainting us with other guests. The Breakfasts were amazing! We came to rest and renew and we did ! Galena is beautiful and the Stillman Inn is gorgeous!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Moline, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We went to the Stillman to celebrate our 3rd anniversary, it was also our 3 rd time staying here. We have stayed at several BnB's in Galena, but the Stillman is by far the best!!!! We will NOT stay at any other place in Galena. Dave's hospitality is amazing! He exceeds all our expectations and goes above and beyond all other inn keepers! While we stayed there he took several pictures of us and downloaded them on a CD for us. We had asked him if he would just take a couple pictures of us with our camera before we left for dinner since we were all dressed up. I certainly did not expect him to do what he did! It was much appreciated by us and that is the type of Inn Keeper Dave is.
The ambiance of the Stillman is wonderful and we love the rooms. Every time we stay here we stay in a different room. We have never been disappointed with our room. We also enjoy sitting outside on the front porch swing or going out back and sitting in the gardens...which are beautiful-Dave does a great job with his gardening!
You definitely will not go hungry here! The breakfast is scrumptious and you get plenty of it. We usually don't have to eat lunch since we are so full from breakfast. Bernadine makes the best lavender cookies and she made an awesome strawberry pie! They always have cookies,pies and a freezer with ice cream bars. They also keep microwave popcorn out for guests as well. It was nice at 11:00 pm to go down to the dining room and get a slice of homemade strawberry pie.
I can't say enough about the Stillman Inn, Dave and Bernadine! They are amazing people! Going there is like going home for the weekend. It's always sad to leave. We love everything about the Stillman Inn and we we also enjoy talking with Dave. We left today and already are booked for March of 2012. We will also be back there this fall and of course next year for our 4th anniversary. We wouldn't stay anywhere else!!!!!!! Thank you Dave and Bernadine for all the wonderful memories me and my husband have staying at the Stillman Inn...you guys are the best!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Aw, thanks so much for the kind words! It's nice to know guests are appreciating the new Dessert recipes I've been trying out. And always nice to hear from a satisfied guest.

We take our job very seriously and love having "company". You, and others like yourselves, make this job a pleasure! We are truly blessed being here and all the hard work is well worth the reward of new friendships!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeKalb, IL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

They have a sign in the dining room that says, "Come as strangers, leave as friends." With their wonderful hospitality, this is so true! The breakfast was yummy, a very open and friendly atmosphere at breakfast, and always open to questions, no matter the time of day. Our room was very comfortable, and I heard absolutely no noise from other rooms. If you need anything while you are there, Dave is more than willing to help, even for extra special things. Great to have new FRIENDS!!

Room Tip: Romance room is lovely, and secluded.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
How kind of you to write this awesome review. We thank you!

Yes, we get quite a few comments on how quiet the inn is. Of course it's not as quiet as home because, well, we do have 7 guest rooms so there is some noise now and then but nothing as irritating as the slamming doors down a hotel corridor! We've gone out of our way to strategically place carpets and heavy doors so our guests have complete privacy and as little noise as possible. Its nice to be located just minutes from Main Street but we do have some road noise to contend with in the middle of a busy day. Once there was a couple that wanted to stay with us, walked in and changed their mind that they'd rather stay out in the country for total quiet. The next day they were back and stayed with us. Said the coyotes kept them up most the night and the milking cows woke them up early. Isn't that funny.

We do our best! God Bless and thanks for your time and positive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

This was our first experience at a Bed and Breakfast and we really enjoyed it. We walked from the Inn into town and rode our bikes from there to the nearby rail trails. (The Inn is on a hill, which might deter some people from walking, but we didn't find it to be a problem.) The Inn is also right next to the Grant home and the neighborhood and parks are beautiful. Breakfast was great and Dave was a wonderful host--- helpful, but not overbearing.

Room Tip: Next time I would choose a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

We had an overall good time at the stillman inn. So I only put negative comments in to inform you, the future guest, so that you may make an informed decision.

The Hosts:
While the inn is named after Bernadine, we only saw her briefly once during our stay. We were disappointed at that. Her husband, Dave, was always around, and was maybe overly involved, if that can be a bad thing. If you're looking for a romantic bed and breakfast where you won't have to interact much, this is not the place for you. Dave will keep the questions and stories coming as long as you're there. He is a wealth of information on the town and things to do though.

The Rooms:
Our room was spacious, and comfortable. Don't go expecting hotel like accommodations, you won't get anything typical here. We had a chance to explore too, and see several rooms, including the honeymoon suite. All the rooms are decorated with antique furniture, in a possibly failed attempt to be historic. Sometimes this comes at the expense of function, as some features of various furniture pieces don't work, and the furniture such as couches and chairs aren't comfortable. The decorations are lacking in coordination and possibly taste. The walls don't match the window dressings, etc. Also, I wouldn't recommend using the whirlpool, they aren't cleaned very well. Ours was full of hair, in the jets, drain, and intake.

The Breakfast:
Believe it or not, we found the food to be disappointing. It wasn't that it was bad, but it definitely wasn't the "best in the midwest" like they claim. Portions were small, but you could ask for more. The food seemed to be overly planned out, and the plating was sparse. 2 strips of bacon, 2 little "love cakes", a meager slice of quiche. I would have rather had a vat of oatmeal, or some scrambled eggs. They were trying too hard, and it wasn't that good. Aside from breakfast, there were good food items. Bernadine bakes, and there was usually pie or something out. But the cookies in the cookie jar they advertise were stale packaged cookies, not the gooey homemade cookies I'd envisioned.

Still, overall it was a good place to stay. And it couldn't have been more convenient to town and other attractions. Despite the setbacks, we'd recommend it.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is the best, but avoid the tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bernadine's Stillman Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
I'm always amazed when people are upset that they didn't get to meet me! That is so cute.

We've always agreed that our kids are number one and that we would always make sure one of us was available to them. Most recently it's been me! And they are my number one priority. As our room books state I am involved in a lot of volunteer work here in the community. I've recently started pulling out of those positions so I can be around the Inn more. This June I've spent much time in the office using my gifts as Dave visits with the guests which is his gift! I can usually be found in the office or out in the gardens preparing them for the guests. This is a lot of work. In any case, one only need mention to Dave that they want to meet me and he gets me right away!

As far as "Best Breakfast in the Midwest", our guests voted us in on that category and we won amongst hundreds of other B&B's. The certificate is on the wall. What can I say...we're a hit in the kitchen.

As much as I try to be the best innkeeper I possibly can, I can't be everywhere!!! Just mention this response and I'd be happy to go to lunch with you, but I"m not that much to miss!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bernadine's Stillman Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernadine's Stillman Inn

Address: 513 Bouthiller St, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic and Historic 1858 French Italiante Bed and Breakfast. Awarded "Best Breakfast In the Midwest" and "Best Innkeeper" among others. We look forward to serving you and helping you get the most out of this attractive destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bernadine's Stillman Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bernadine's Stillman Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.