We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites Galena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites Galena to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites Galena
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11334 Oldenburg Lane, Galena, IL 61036   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were very pleased with the Country Inn. It was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. She even gave us a suggestion for dinner and it was fabulous, The Log Cabin Steakhouse! It was a close proximity from downtown Galena and were even given hints as to where to park for our easiest access. We have found that Country Inn's are a 'safe chain' to stay at. We would certainly stay there again and I have recommended them to a co-worker.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    82
    12
    7
    11
See reviews for
85
84
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a weekend in Galena and surrounding area. For context my husband and I are from the Chicago burbs. We wanted a few days to get away for a quick trip. We live antiquing and there are soooo many places to antique from Freeport to Dubuque and beyond! When we vacation we stay in very high end hotels and resorts. As I looked at places to stay I was surprised at the price of the B&Bs in the area. Seriously? I don't mind spending money on a nice place to stay but this is Galena not the Easy coast.

I chose this hotel because of the reviews and I knew we wouldn't be spending a great deal of time at the hotel. It was perfect. It's just outside of the downtown. But we didn't care about that.

The hotel was newly remodeled, incredibly clean, wonderful service and a great breakfast. Clean is key. We were really pleased and happy with our stay.

The little strip in galena is cute but we aren't much into the stores there. Couple cute ones and the antique stores were cute. But I can only take so many gifty type stores.

Lots of food choices downtown and all were really good! Cannovas is always my absolute favorite.

At any rate, the hotel was perfect, great staff and all around good experience. Nice pool and hot tub. Little exercise room but it was fine. I would stay at the hotel again in a moment! You won't be let down. We are snobby travelers and this beats a B&B any day!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayland, IA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We came to Galena for a family weekend. My husband and 2 children (4 and 6) and I all loved this hotel. It is very kid-friendly. The service was excellent. Breakfast was delicious. The pool is great - big waterslide with a smaller kiddie pool/slide. Across the hall from the pool is a game room. There is a lending library in the lobby with books for adults and kids. The boys loved that! There are fresh cookies at the front desk each day and coffee is always available. The hotel was clean and very well kept. The only thing that would have made it 5 stars was for our room to have a fridge. We didn't have a suite so I'm sure that is why but there was plenty of room for the 4 of us. It is about a 5 minute drive to downtown Galena. There is a Culver's close and a Wal-mart next door in case you forgot something! Overall we had a great stay!

Room Tip: Pool is on the first floor. Lobby is on 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Wow my husband and I stayed here for one night and had a surprising fun time. We were greeted by 2 lovely ladies at the front desk, where homemade cookies are always available. Checked into a very nice clean and updated room with king bed. The front desk staff were helpful with directions and plans. The best part I think was that water slide in the pool. My husband had the time of his life going down it! I can't swim, so I can't speak on the matter! we did sit in the hot tub for a little but- that was nice! in the morning, we had a nice breakfast- nothing too fancy, but coffee, juice, cereal, egg option and waffle option. There was a nice lady clearing the tables and assisting. I would totally stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Although they would not accommodate an early check-in the staff was very friendly. The room was good and the bed was very comfy. The waterpark (which consists of 1 slide, pool and hot tub) does draw a lot of families with kids. The hotel appeared to be fully booked due to the holiday weekend and breakfast was very crowded but selection was still good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

After staying at Stoney Creek every time we visit Galena, we though we would try something different. The hotel was fine, clean, staff was nice. Nothing really knocked our socks off. The highlights of this hotel were the breakfast (which was above average) and the pool that had a water slide. The hubby and kids loved that waterslide. This pool area also has a small kiddie pool with a tiny slide also (for those of you traveling with toddlers).

Room Tip: I would probably ask for a room on the main floor, especially if you are going to use the pool. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Mankato, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Galena is a great place to visit and this Country Inn was one of the best we have used. Very friendly staff, great service at breakfast, above average room, good bed. Great location, coupon book available at front desk.

Room Tip: we stayed away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites Galena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites Galena

Address: 11334 Oldenburg Lane, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Galena
#5 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites Galena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Carlson, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites Galena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites Galena
Country Inn & Suites Galena Hotel Galena
Country Inn Galena
Galena Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites Galena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.