We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast room too crowded, but . . . .” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11334 Oldenburg Lane, Galena, IL 61036-8104   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breakfast room too crowded, but . . . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My rating would have been Excellent, but the breakfast room remains under-sized for the size of property. This is the fourth or fifth stay at this hotel over five years--we go to Galena each January for an alpine ski race weekend at nearby Chestnut Mountain. The hotel is always full and, to the hotel's credit, they always open breakfast early for the racers who generally need to leave for the hill by 7:00 - 7:15. For those mornings, forget get breakfast quickly unless you arrive at 6:15. That said, the hotel is VERY flexible in accommodating families who use the breakfast room to order in pizza, salads, etc. for dinner. This year, they also indulged a large pack of GB Packer fans hoping to see the Packers defeat the 49ers--BWW had nothing on our group experience that night. We stayed at this hotel on two consecutive weekends in January. On the real plus side (and a plug for Carlson Club), as silver elite members of CC, we were upgraded on each stay--once to a 1BR suite and the next to a King Suite with whirlpool tub/fireplace (though the latter amenities were not used at all. The beds in each suite were REALLY comfortable--must be a higher quality for the premium patrons.

Room Tip: Join Carlson Club and try and achive Silver Elite status.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    109
    23
    13
    13
See reviews for
133
113
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
chicago
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a clean, comfortable hotel that nicely met our needs while visiting Galena with the kids. There are lots of nearby bed and breakfast inns, however those aren't a good match for kids. We especially enjoyed the pool with big slide as well as the game room. It kept our 7 and 10 yos busy. The noon checkout was great since it allowed us another half day to swim and a relaxed morning before heading home. The breakfast was good and always nice to have included. Cookies at the desk were a nice touch too. Service was great as well. The hotel is just a few minutes from downtown Galena, which was perfectly fine. The only closer options are small inns.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had an overnight stay in Galena , and have good luck with the country Inn Suites chain.
We were looking forward to enjoying the pool and hot tub. Unfortunately, the pool was down for maintenance. m
But our cheerful desk clerk upgraded us to a jacuzzi suite instead.
The only reason I didn't give it a 5 star rating, was the noise from the pool exhaust fan, stationed outside our bedroommwindow. A very good value?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloit, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Friendly service even with early check-in. Price was a little high for very simple room. We had the double queen that was very clean and a large bathroom. A very short drive to downtown. The water park was clean and water was great but the hot tub motors need to be replaced they were vibrating my teeth. The breakfast was outstanding.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Where only going to stay for 2 nights, but so much History in the town we decided to stay for 3 nights. Rooms clean, frendly staff and a very good breakfast. Did not use pool but looked very kids frindly. Had a great dinner at Vinie's. Right downtown, great staff and the great food. On the high side, but well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were able to check in early with a very friendly, efficient front desk. Easy location to get to and from downtown. We had a King suite, nothing fancy, but extremely clean. A descent breakfast provided in the morning, with a very efficient staff keeping food replenished as needed and tables clean. I did think it is a bit overpriced for the type of lodging it is, but also realize it is a busy time of year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The location was excellent. Two miles out of "Galena" main street. The staff very very nice. It was'nt fancy but it was clean and quiet and comfortable. We don't have kids BUT the pool looked fun with a great slide and the breakfast (included in the cost) looked and smelled good. We spent very little time in the room but had a peaceful nights sleep...and I believe thats the point ! I would reccomend it !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galena
1.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Galena
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Longhollow Point Inn
Longhollow Point Inn
#9 of 11 in Galena
4.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
11.7 mi away
Hotel Julien Dubuque
Hotel Julien Dubuque
#2 of 17 in Dubuque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
6.1 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena

Address: 11334 Oldenburg Lane, Galena, IL 61036-8104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Galena
#3 Family Hotel in Galena
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn & Suites Galena Hotel Galena
Country Inn And Suites Galena
Country Inn Galena
Galena Country Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.