We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming spot by train depot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Otto's Place

Otto's Place
100 Bouthillier Street, Galena, IL 61036
+1 815-776-0240
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 55 restaurants in Galena
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner
Palatine, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“charming spot by train depot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stopped in for lunch after biking the Galena River Trail which happens to start right across the street. A quaint old building with an interesting history laid out in an information sheet on each table appointed with fresh flowers. Our lunch was delicious. Next time we are doing breakfast and will hang out to relax and read the paper. Many miss this spot as its on the other side of river from Main St.....don't miss it on YOUR visit!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    231
    49
    12
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Quaint little place off the beaten path.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Quaint little place off the beaten path. The story of their little restaurant was touching. The biscuits and gravy was incredible and the service very personal. 5 stars all the way.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, wonderful service, good variety on the menu.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Great breakfast or lunch spot, nice selection of salads. Very homey, nicely decorated. Free parking difficult, but the city lot ($5) is nearby.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Enjoyed a nice lunch at Otto's Place. It was just a good as many of the other reviews have shared. We had the blue cheese appetizer and spinich salad. Both were great. We will go back again if we visit Galena again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Very small place but cozy. Menu did not have a whole lot of variety but both dishes we tried were very good. Despite being packed for lunch they were very quick with the service. We would return next time we are in Galena.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otto's Place also viewed

 

Been to Otto's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otto's Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.