We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value / Superb Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Market House Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Market House Restaurant
204 Perry Street/120 North Main, Galena, IL
815-777-0690
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 57 Restaurants in Galena
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood, Vegetarian, Pizza & Pasta, Pasta, Soups, Sandwiches
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Crawfordsville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Value / Superb Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This restaurant provided a great meal at a very reasonable price. Servers treated us like friends and were very outgoing and efficient. Great place to dine!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    34
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Illinois
1 review
“The Forgotten Table”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

With so many good restaurants in Galena I would suggest staying away from this one! We were seated in the garden room with 3 other tables. The server took our water and appitizer order, the appitizer arrived before the waters 10 minutes later. We watched the server refill all the glasses at the other 3 tables making runs to the bar to refill wine glasses. She spent copious amounts of time at each table never once checking on us even after the appitizer arrived. When my wife interrupted the server at the adjacent table during one of her long stories asking politely for water you would thought she slapped the server by the reaction. The appitizer was finished before the waters we brought to the table. Mistakes happen but the server's attitude is not acceptable. Believe it or not the service went downhill from there. The food was bland at best. We will never return to restaurant!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, WW
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quiet retreat for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Upstairs, kind of behind a building, but with a view of the street, this restaurant offers excellent food and fantastic ambiance. White cloth table cloths and cinnamon sprinkled coffee welcome each diner on a cold or warm day. The people who work here are friendly and willing to tell you the story of the restaurant, which only adds to the experience. Look for the signs that lead you upstairs. You won't be disappointed!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Upstrairs in back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

You need to go upstairs to the main room, but ask for setting in the back room, it's quieter and best atmosphere in the place. Unique menu and wine available.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very Small Space but Very Good Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Went here with 5 adults on a Saturday evening. Had to wait about 20 minutes. Very small front room and even smaller back room. But, we were lucky enough to get to sit in the back room and it was beautiful. Has curved, stone walls up about 3/4's of the way and then these neat big windows. A ledge covered in plants. Pretty lights. Was really a fun, pretty place to eat. Had one that needed gluten free and they are super good about letting you know what foods are gluten free and which aren't. No Gluten Free Menu but you really don't need one. They offered two different gluten free desserts too. Between us we had the ribs (gluten free--pretty good), a chicken breast with a Mediterranean Orange Sauce (the sauce was very different and very "orange" tasting, but also very refreshing and unique), shrimp (good), and ham steak (very big, good, but just a ham steak, nothing fancy) The french fries are good. Each entree comes with a slice of garlic bread and your choice of many different sides. You get an assorted cracker/breadsticks basket with pate and garlic butter before the meal. One of us had 5-Berry pie for dessert and it really was good and tasted very homemade. One group had 3 meals with 2 beers and 2 mixed drinks and 1 dessert and the bill was $77. The other couple had 2 meals, 4 glasses of wine, and an Irish Coffee and their bill was around $58. So not bad prices at all. We also used a 10% off 2 entree coupon that we got off their website. The whole staff was very friendly and really strived to please all around. Was a great experience and we will definitely go back. Make sure to ask to be seated in the back room! It would be worth a wait!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Market House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Market House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Market House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.