We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Market House Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Market House Restaurant
204 Perry Street/120 North Main, Galena, IL
815-777-0690
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 57 Restaurants in Galena
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Seafood, Vegetarian, Pizza & Pasta, Pasta, Soups, Sandwiches
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Plainfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We were refurd to this place by some locals. And a local place it is. The food was amazing and the prices were unbelievable. This is a small place and on the second floor, so lot of stairs. But well worth it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    34
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Best Place in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Good food and great service. Peggy waited on our group and gave the 12 of us friendly and great service. Love the tavern burger but the duck salad looked interesting (my friend really enjoyed it). There crab louie is nice too. And this place sponsors a different promo each month - January is for the Clarity Clinic and if the owner Laura raises enough money she has promised to shave her head. I think Bald for babies is beautiful -just another example of how this place goes above and beyond.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

While in Galena we were looking for an in between type restaurant. Not high end steak and seafood, but not bar food.
We chose the Market House. A quiet night turned busy for the wait staff, who did everything but make the food.
I ordered Bar B Qued Ribs, advertised as falling off the bone. A full Rack of Ribs.
When they were delivered , the waitress told me that the chef realized that this wasn't a full rack.
They would be happy to fix me a flat iron steak as well. If I had wanted that combo, I would have ordered it. Then I realized that the adjoining table had ordered ribs after I did. So we all got half racks instead of full racks. They may have been laying next to the bone, but their tenderness could be debated. They made sure that the adjustment was made on our bill.
Still searching for the perfect place in Galena.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aledo, Illinois
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Little Spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have eaten here on 2 different visits. First time it was very crowded but somehow had a cozy, warm feeling to it. Great service and free dessert. Food is really good...our second time the food was also really good and moderately priced. Locally owned and operated, they list different local charities they support each month and denote that they are closed Sundays for "the Lord's day for worship and family". Nice. Located above a building, this place just has a quaint, cozy vibe.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Duck in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We've had many different meals at the Market House, but the grilled boneless duck breast eats like a juicy filet. A must have if you like red meat!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Market House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Market House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Market House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.