We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Victory Cafe

Victory Cafe
200 North Main Street, Galena, IL 61036
+1 815-777-4407
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 57 Restaurants in Galena
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner, Hamburgers
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Casual cafe located in the heart of Galena's Main Street serving homestyle food at hometown prices. Choose from the breakfast menu all day or come in and try a burger, sandwich, or hot plate. Finish your meal with a slice of delicious pie. Fresh cinnamon rolls baked daily. Open 6am to 2pm.
Oshkosh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

All four of us had a very good lunch, good value. Our waitress had only been on the job a few days, but still was good. All the staff was excellent.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    53
    24
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“best Bloody Mary ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Victory café was the best place to eat breakfast, loaded your plate up and the staff was very friendly and fun, I decided to try a Bloody Mary to go with my B&G and hashbrowns, best Bloody Mary ever, it had a salad on it, celery, pepperoni, beefstick, olive, a pickle a gardenia pepper, amazing . Loved the place!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I didn't expect a restaurant in the main strip to be this good. They had corned beef hash which I love. My eggs were great and my husbands breakfast was good too. You can add on a slice of French toast, which I like so I don't have a whole order of it. It was very good! I liked the small town feel. The locals were friendly and the atmosphere was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Ridge, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Morning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The food was great first thing in the morning. They have great coffee. They were able to seat three couple comfortably.
The blueberry pancakes were to die for. Great!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicksburg, Mississippi
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ate late lunch here...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Right before 2pm, at which point they close until dinner, so be warned about that. Good service and good food, but place seemed a bit dirty, esp the bathrooms. Flies were horrible around our table. Not our best choice for the week.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victory Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Victory Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victory Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.