We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different this time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Galena Brewing Company

Galena Brewing Company
227 North Main Street, Galena, IL 61036
815 776 9917
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 57 Restaurants in Galena
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Tapas, Vegetarian, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We are a local grass roots craft brewery using only the best of local ingredients...the only brewery in Galena, and the first to return to this historic brewing town in 80 years. We have six beer styles on tap, seasonal brews, delicious Tapas, salads and sandwiches menu & desserts. Kids menu too!We have taken strides to ensure that our table and bar service is excellent, and we are happy to report that our customer feedback now consistently reflects that quality. Brewery tours each day at 3pm and 6pm by arrangement. Beer tasting flights and full bar. Live music and dancing each weekend Friday and Saturdays at 7pm. All football games on four 55inch flat screens with really cool surround sound on Sundays and Mondays.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Different this time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Food was okay, the beer was good this time.

Had the tapas, not as good as before, some were overcooked. The beers were better then the last time, not flat, really enjoyed the red.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    83
    44
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice change of pace, good beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and its convenient location on the historic main street. Beer was good, local, tapas menu was fun. Would go again if I still lived in IL!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“A great afternoon hangout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

A beer flight followed by what we each like best, good conversation, and was the best beer we had in town. We're definitely going back.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

If you like craft beer this is a must stop while in Galena. We had the flight with the giant 2 lb soft pretzel. It was fabulous!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Lake, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Excellent beer, excellent food and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We ate here twice on a recent weekend getaway and it was excellent both times.

The first visit was early on a Fri evening before it got busy and the service was quick and our waitress was friendly and attentive. We did a flight of beers, ordered a couple of sandwiches and my son ordered from the kids menu. Everything was very good and we ended up hanging out for awhile and watched the band until it started to get crowded.

Our second visit was at dinner time on Sun and the place was very busy. We got a table pretty quickly and our waiter came by almost immediately. Despite being very busy, the service was just as good as it was on Fri.

Between Fri and Sun, we tried 4 different sandwiches and all of their beers and everything was very, very good. On Sun, I also took the brewery tour which was fun and informative.

We visited twice on the same weekend, we had great beer, great food and excellent service both times. We love brewpubs and Galena Brewing didn't disappoint. We will definitely eat and drink here again on our next weekend gateway to the Galena area.



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galena Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Galena Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galena Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.