We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not go back!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Galena Brewing Company

Galena Brewing Company
227 North Main Street, Galena, IL 61036
+1 815-776-9917
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 57 Restaurants in Galena
Price range: $3 - $14
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub, Vegetarian, Chicken Wings
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a local grassroots craft brewery using only the best of local ingredients...The only brewery in Galena, and the first to return to this historic brewing town in 80 years. We have ten beer styles on tap, regular & seasonal brews, best baked wings in Galena, salads and sandwiches menu & desserts. Kids menu too! We have taken strides to ensure that our table and bar service is excellent, and we are happy to report that our customer feedback now consistently reflects that quality. Brewery tours Friday and Saturday at 3pm and 5pm. Beer tasting flights and full bar. Live music and dancing each weekend Friday and Saturdays at 7:30/8pm. Football games on 82 inch and 55 inch screens with really cool surround sound. When the game is on...You are THERE man! We also have a 35 seat party room for hire.
Plainfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Would not go back!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

This is a really cool place when u first walk in. That's was the best part. Sat there 20 minutes for the waitress to take our order. All we ordered was 3 appetizers and 2 pops. We were there for 1 hour and 20 min and we were the only ones there. Waitress had an attitude like we were bothering her even being there. The wings were terrible, don't even bother with them. They r baked not fried which i thought i would like. But they were under cooked and gummy .

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    98
    49
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“not the best in town”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Burgers were supposedly the best in town so I was quite disappointed. I think I may have liked it better had I not anticipated a big juicy burger. Bun was soaked with juices and the burger was overcooked.
Noisy and difficult to hear anything but otherwise great atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect wedding reception venue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I chose this location for our wedding reception because we stop by the brewery for the great beer (and sangria!) and live entertainment every single time we're in town. Not only is the food and beer EXCELLENT (I highly suggest the apple bacon cheddar crostinis), but Kathy the owner was exceptionally dedicated to making the reception perfect. In addition to assisting with the venue details and food, she and her staff suggested lodging, entertainment, and a cake baker. She even loaned out growlers and beer bottles for flower arrangements at no fee. I did not have a wedding planner, so her service was invaluable. Having the reception at the brewing company was perfect for us, and I highly recommend it to anyone else looking for a reception venue in Galena.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fun, tasty and fresh”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Enjoyed their homebrews, house made apps and friendly service while taking a break from shopping in Galena. The beer cheese soup was about as good as you can get and the beer flight was pretty delicious.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Almost”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Went there to try some craft brews and enjoy some Blues at the end of the night. The band that played was awesome!!! I don't remember the name of the band, but they were really good. However, I was so shocked to see how empty the place was on a Saturday night between 10-11pm on Sept. 15th. I know we came at the end of their night. We tried some different brews and some late night tapas.

BREWS: A house flight of 6 ($5.97) (one of which was not coming out of the tap correctly, so they apologized), a Late Harvest IPA ($5.52), and a 16oz. Miner's Treasure Ale ($4.60). Just okay, but I know everyone's beer taste buds are unique. Our opinion, nothing memorable.

TAPAS: Quesadilla ($5) just average, Roasted Tomato & Cheese Tart ($5) eh.

SERVICE: We ate at the bar, and since it was less than an hour until closing, we got the sense that the staff was pretty much done for the night. Best word to use is that they just seemed "tired".

We were hoping for a better experience. The live music was probably the best part of this experience, and the band ended early, it seemed, maybe for the lack of people?

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galena Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Galena Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galena Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.