We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gobbies Sports Pub and Eatery

Gobbies Sports Pub and Eatery
219 North Main Street, Galena, IL 61036
815-777-0243
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 57 Restaurants in Galena
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: ph:
Dodgeville, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stopped at this place later on Sat evening was very good crowd with Kareokee so kind of loud. We had table in back and ordered Pizza which was excellent and they give you a salad to start in big bowl & pieces of pizza crusts fried up I can't remember what they called them but were good. Overall it was fun evening!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    76
    30
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Our favorite little place in Galena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We love Gobbies and make it a point to eat there once on every visit. They have excellent pizza and the beer nuts are wonderful!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOWA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very Good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great scenic bar. Nice atmosphere and great location. I had their Italian Beef - it was amazing. Also have several types of beer on tap and in a bottle. Also be sure to order with hot peppers and au jus. My husband had the burger! Also - very good! Good service too!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The atmosphere was fun, staff was very attentive and pleasant. Pizza was good, as was a BLT. The prices were very fair for the portions recieved.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Illinois
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Place to Go With Friends”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My wife was home with a bad cold, so I tagged along with two couples who are friends of ours. We had been at a court hearing and were looking forward to a relaxing lunch. I had not been here before, and none of us were disappointed. This is a sports bar: lots of room and TVs, friendly wait staff, good Italian food and lots of it. I ordered the chicken tenders appetizer, and end up taking most of it home. There were eight tenders, the size of tenderized chicken breasts. I also ordered the spaghetti and meat sauce, which was plentiful and tasty. My friends ordered mostly sandwichews,which were huge. I don't think anybody finished their lunch, all electing to take some home. The waitress gladly boxed everything and and gladly prepared separate checks. There was no problem hearing ourselves talk. I will be bringingg my wife to this happy place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gobbies Sports Pub and Eatery also viewed

 

Been to Gobbies Sports Pub and Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gobbies Sports Pub and Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.