We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great simple place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Hills Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grant Hills Motel to your Saves list
Grant Hills Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   9372 Highway 20 West, Galena, IL 61036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level Contributor
96 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great simple place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Well usually once a year we take a motorcycle ride out to Galena from Mount Prospect with our friends. We always try to stay at the cheapest place by checking Hotels,com and if they have open rooms we stay at Grant Hills.
Last year we stayed on the lower level in the back...the room was a little dated but very clean...in the back its very quite.
This last weekend we stayed up top in unit 14 which had 2 double beds.
The unit was clean and the hostess was very nice....I recommend the Grant Hills Hotel to anyone that just needs a simple room for sleeping....they even have hot coffee in the morning.

STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
15
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Recently enjoyed yet another fun weekend with fun folks at the Grant Hills Motel in beautiful Galena, IL, an annual event! The Motel staff is always warm and welcoming, and happily accomodates everyone in our motorcycle group.The staff offered suggestions for "take out" food, and provided menus from local eateries that offered varieties of food for every taste! The motel is simple, "no frills" ,but all necessary amenities, and is very CLEAN, and comfortable! The A/C was working fine....thankfully, as the weather was really hot,and steamy! The motel staff allowed us, ( a large group of Motorcycle riders) to gather, visit and chat well into the evening hours. It was a pleasant visit, as always, with good friends and wonderful hosts! The lady at the check-in addressed me by my first name; having remembered our visit last summer! Impressive! Another big plus....they never ran out of ice!! Great time was enjoyed by all! Very relaxing get away! We'll surely plan to go back to Grant Hills again next year!

Room Tip: We prefer rooms closest to the office for complimentatry coffee,menus for restaurants, take out sugg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We had the opportunity to stay at the well cared for Grant Hills Motel. We were traveling with our daughter and 2 dogs for a long weekend. The Grant Hill was so accommodating,offering us a lovely CLEAN room with good beds and a sound nights sleep along with a good cup of coffee in the morning a hot shower and a great property to walk the dogs on. All at a fair price! We will stay there again when we come this way. Thank You!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpentersville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I stayed at the Grant Hills Motel with my mother recently. The staff was courteous, if not outgoing. The facilities are maintained well enough given the obvious aging of the grounds and building. The room I stayed in was fairly clean, but was dank and had an unpleasant odor. The walls are wood panelled or cinder block and the shower was a stall with a concrete floor. The beds were a bit stiff and although I had no problem, my mother had a troubled back after spending a night on one.

Grant Hills Motel is a short drive from downtown Galena and is a good value compared to other hotels/B&Bs I saw advertised. The free internet access was very convenient. Half of the rooms have parking directly outside their doors, for the other half you must walk down a flight of stairs to access. These rooms face a large lawn area that is pleasant by day, but a little alarming at night.

All in all, you don't get a lot for your money at Grant Hills Motel. I would not stay there again or recommend it, but if you must stay in/near Galena and cannot find other accommodations, this place will give you a roof over your head and a bed to sleep in.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

Me and my BFF are traveling cross country and were traveling through Galena, Illinois. We were driving for a long time and were eager to stay in a comfortable safe place. The woman behind the desk was THE NICEST lady ever and she made us feel very safe and at home. She was very accommodating and our room was AWESOME. It was big and homey for the two of us. She even offered us coffee and told us fun places to tour the next day... WE LOVED IT! STAY THERE!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

The woman who runs this Inn is helpful and friendly. She made us feel welcome right away. The room was quaint and the yard outside our room was beautiful, especially during sunset. The pool was clean and not packed with people. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will come again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galena hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Designer Inn & Suites
3.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galena
2.1 mi away
Stoney Creek Hotel & Conference Center - Galena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Ramada Galena Hotel and Day Spa
5.3 mi away
Longhollow Point Inn
Longhollow Point Inn
#9 of 11 in Galena
4.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
3.6 mi away
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grant Hills Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grant Hills Motel

Address: 9372 Highway 20 West, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grant Hills Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Galena's best value. Offering simple comforts of home, Grant Hills Motel is comfortably equipped to help you pack lightly and enjoy extended stays. Onsite laundry and kitchen facilities, a spacious backyard with picnic area and gas grills provide homey conveniences. More for you: heated outdoor pool, next-to-door parking (most rooms), and choice of up to 3 beds per room. Pet friendly. Affordably priced. 34 Rooms-perfect for reunions, business travelers and extended stay guests. Within minutes of downtown, shopping, dining and skiing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Grant Hills Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grant Hills Hotel Galena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grant Hills Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.