We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The spectacular view is great for any getaway. We will come back again and again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of LeFevre Inn & Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added LeFevre Inn & Resort to your Saves list
LeFevre Inn & Resort
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   9917 W. Deininger Lane, Galena, IL 61036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 34 Galena B&B and Inns
DeKalb, IL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The spectacular view is great for any getaway. We will come back again and again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

This quaint little resort is specacular for any getaway. The rooms are clean and the king size bed makes it hard to get out of bed. We came about three years ago and since then the inn has been modernized and they added a pond with a walkout gazebo. I will bring the whole family this summer!

Room Tip: The best room by far is their cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    8
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

We found the LeFevre Inn to be a charming little inn with a great panoramic view of the countryside. Our room was very tastefully decorated and the fireplace gave the room an extra touch of comfort. The service was excellent. It was well worth the 5 minute drive out of Galena. We hope to have an opportunity to return to the Inn in the future.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

We stayed at the Inn for two nights. We initially thought we would have preferred staying at an inn right on main street until we got to LeFevre Inn & Resort. The inn was the prefect location. It is a short 5 minute drive to main street and set up in the hills with a beautiful view and pretty sunsets. The property is large and quiet, it is close to the shops and restaurants but away from the noise and crowds on Main Street. The rooms have a king or queen size bed and a couch with a pull-out bed. There is a plasma TV above the fireplace, a small fridge and a coffee maker. We brought leftovers from meals back to the inn with us as there is a microwave that you can use to reheat food near the ice machine. The pool on site is a perfect size and the water was a great temperature. Although their websites states that there is a hot tub as well it is inaccurate as the hot tub has recently been removed. The rooms however do have a large two person jetted tub. If you are looking for a restaurant in downtown Galena stay away from Vinny Vanucchi's Italian Restaurant, it is overpriced and the food was terrible, probably the worst restaurant I have ever been too, no idea how it has any positive reviews.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Iowa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

Very beautiful suite with relaxing atmosphere! The manager was so friendly and helpful. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, though. I ended up sleeping on the sofa, which was far more comfy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

This was a wonderful getaway from Chicago. The prices were very reasonable, the owners were very friendly and helpful about local restaurants. The rooms were very spacious, spotless, and updated with all appliances including a fireplace in the room...not to mention how comfy the mattress and plush pillows were in the extra large King size bed. We will be back with out extended family later this summer...and you can bring small dogs too:) We will def. be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayslake, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

Wife and I spent our 39th wedding anniversary at this Inn and were quite impressed with the level of quality found here. Not your everyday motel chinzey fixtures. While the rooms in the main house were a touch "cozy", I felt, the overall feel of the establishment was very high. Michelle, the Innkeeper, was very friendly, helpful, and projects a feeling of actual care for the comfort of her guests.
The view from the front of Le Fevure is quite spectacular and the man-made Lake is beautiful and relaxing. Go ahead and purchase the bottle of wine in your room, you won't be disappointed.
An in-room microwave would have been nice, but it's the only negative I can think of.
I think we'll be back next year!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield. IL
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

I visited Galena with a group of friends. A highlight was sitting in the hot tub on the deck at LeFevre which overlooks Galena nestled in the hills and the sky was amazing (very little light pollution). We were lucky enough to be there duriing a meteor shower and saw dozens of shooting stars. It was incredible!! The rooms were upscale and even the TV selection was amazing.
The downtown shops were fun - esp Poopsies and the Kandy Kitchen - and so many restaurants and refreshment stops!!!
It's a great weekend for a group of friends or a romantic get-away for a couple.

Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to LeFevre Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LeFevre Inn & Resort

Address: 9917 W. Deininger Lane, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — LeFevre Inn & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk out of this private, king-sized bed room and take in a breathtaking view of our lake and panoramic tri-state vistas at LeFevre Inn & Resort, Galena, IL. Room also includes a wood-burning fireplace, sofa sleeper, coffee maker, mini refrigerator and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your LeFevre Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lefevre Inn And Resort
Lefevre Hotel Galena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LeFevre Inn & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.