We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wyndham Worldmark Galena” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Worldmark Galena

Save Saved
You added Worldmark Galena to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Worldmark Galena
5129 West Longhollow Road, Galena, IL 61036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Galena
GreenLeadersBronze level
Naperville, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wyndham Worldmark Galena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This property is going through the transition into a Wyndham property and we were pleasantly surprised that our room (booked at the last minute) was newly renovated, clean and cozy. Even though it was a studio (with a Murphy bed). The queen sized mattress was adequate and surprisingly comfortable. The fireplace that separates the whirlpool area from the living area provided enough warmth while using the whirlpool (big enough for 2) and the living area / bedroom. Carpeting was all new as well. Note the studio has a fridge, stove top and microwave but no oven, so not a big deal if you're not baking anything.

The pool area and hot tub were great. The pool room itself can use a paint job, but I'm sure that's scheduled. They were having problems with the sauna (dry) which didn't get much past 85 degrees but the service ticket was noted. The workout room was decent with 2 relatively new treadmills, 2 bikes and a huge weight machine. All in perfect working order.

Service is terrific and very helpful. It's really pleasant to be actually "welcomed" into the resort if even for a 2 night stay. They were helpful with recommendations and directions as well.

Lastly, note that this location is about 8 miles away from downtown Galena and is a nice drive, just don't expect to walk out your front door or across the street to any attractions.

Room Tip: Having a valley view room is nice, BUT..... it's also on the sunny side. So if you're a lat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
22
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had 2 studios. The rooms were very roomy and the kitchette was very nice. A 2 burner stove, small refridge and sink was very nice. A full compliment of pots and pans, dishes for a seating of 4, an outside gas grill, everything was great. There was an indoor swimming pool/jacuzi/sauna area. There was a rec room with pool table, fooz ball and ping pong. There was an arcade that had to be fed coins. The exercise room was very nice. The location is very convient to Chestnut Mountain for skiing, or Galena for shops and restaurants. We also took some time and visited Wisconsin and other nearby towns. As we only stayed 3 eveings, but that was more than enough for 2 pre teens. This resort is designed for personal down time and recharging the batteries. If you are looking for action packed, run, run, run, look somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have been here twice in the last couple years. Very hard to book through Wyndham, as this is very popular and limited number of units. A small resort that has personal service but leaves you alone to enjoy your stay. No sales or owner update meetings. Nice pool, patio with bbq gas grills, game room, exercise room, and beautiful accommodations. Even the studio units ( little kitchenette) have plenty of room and the hot tub with fireplace. Very romantic.
The area around the resort is full of hilly scenic and historic things to see and do. Towns, skiing, a Luge, shopping, the Mississippi River is not too far away, Galena, Dubuque…never enough time too see it all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roselle, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our actual 25th wedding anniversary. We originally did a trip to Hawaii that included a cruise to the islands a month prior to this trip. So on our actual anniversary we decided to try this resort. We used my Aunt’s timeshare. We were welcomed by a very friendly staff. They informed us of the amenities and things to do for the weekend. The rooms were great. They have a huge soaking tub with a few jets. The water was only a small issue since they had just put in a new system you had to run the water a bit. It came out brownish but after that you were good to go. We hiked the grounds of Eagle Ridge and decided to even golf. The course there is amazing. We also were able to watch the Halloween Parade in town. That was great! The floats were good we really liked the Hot Air Balloons! It was kind of chilly that night and the heat they let out was welcomed. The resort pool and hot tub are really nice. They have a workout room but we didn’t part take since we hiked and played golf. The one course is open all year round. (weather permitting). The staff at the front desk had great suggestions for restaurants and things to do. On our actual anniversary we opened our door to find a nice note attached to a few balloons wish us well. They really go above and beyond in the service department. I would definitely go back to this one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We came to Galena for the first time and stayed at WorldMark for 5 nights. The studio rooms we had (3) were very nice. The pool was decent but the hot tub was so full of chemicals it made our eyes burn. The owners lounge with games was a nice addition but everything cost so bring $ should you want to take advantage of this amenity. We rented movies here nightly for the kids which also cost.

The front desk staff - especially Amy - was wonderful and made our trip more enjoyable.

Internet access is not free - it cost $4.95 per day and was a mess during our stay. I called about the issues and was told they set up all my computers to access the net. This was not the case. I hope they get this fixed soon.

The location is about 8 miles from downtown Galena. If you don't mind driving into town - which we didn't this is a good family environment. Loads of kids and families. There is no restaurant on property.

We have been to better resorts in other places. However, for the $ and the appropriateness of this property for our group/family I give the place high marks. Also, the property is nice - clean - and well done.

I would certainly recommend this property to anyone who comes here for a family vacation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We couldn't have had a better family get together than the one put on by Worldmark Galena. I'd been before but It was Mom and the toddler's first trip. They were wowed. The jacuzzi and hot tubs, the extra kitchen space to cook a whole thanksgiving dinner, the friendly staff and family friendly pool couldn't have been any better.

it was pretty cool to look out at the beautiful country side and feel relaxed and away from it all. But all the charm and warmth of Galena were only a few short miles away.

We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This is by far may favorite Wyndham property. Out in the middle of nowhere, only 62 units, yet only five miles from Galena. The bed was the most comfortable I've ever slept on (a pull out Murphy) in a studio, the fireplace separated the jacuzzi tub and the living room/bed area so you can sit in the tub and watch the fire. A beautiful deck overlooks the sunrise. The people were wonderful at the Longhollow Inn and there's even a sauna, pool and hot tub, not to mention a work out room. The lobby was tastefully done up for Santa's arrival. They took attention to every detail. I went home after only 2 days feeling relaxed and refreshed. I loved the fact that there weren't a bunch of screaming kids with inattentive parents running up and down the hall. It was very cold there, but the room was warm and cozy, perfect for a couples getaway. Restaurants that were open were limited, but Gobby's was especially good. We did not hear a peep from anyone of our neighbors the entire time--the only "downside" was no laundry facilities in-room, but of course free laundry on every floor so no big deal!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms would be good, but you always want a room looking east to watch the sun rise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Worldmark Galena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Worldmark Galena

Address: 5129 West Longhollow Road, Galena, IL 61036
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Galena
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Worldmark Galena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Worldmark Galena Hotel Galena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Worldmark Galena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;