We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DeSoto House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
DeSoto House Hotel
230 S Main St, Galena, IL 61036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
April Spring Special
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Galena
randalia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superb Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We took advantage of the dinner and stay offer. We stayed in the Stephen Douglas suite. It was immaculate, spacious and had a wonderful view of the city. Our complimentary dinner was a culinary delight! Our steaks melted in our mouths and the fresh produce was delightful. We especially love your lemon herb bread and specialty bread. We look forward to our next stay at DeSoto!

Room Tip: The corner rooms are spacious. The Stephen Douglas room has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    73
    13
    11
    5
See reviews for
42
123
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our first time staying at this hotel, loved it, we paid extra to have a room facing Main street which was great, you can sit on your window sill and watch things going on outside. Our room was on a slight slant which was strange but still a lovely place to stay with total convienience of breakfast, lunch and dinner or some drinks in the sports bar thats attached! Will stay again for sure!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We've been to historic Galena, Illinois, on several occasions and never ceased to enjoy ourselves while finding something or some place new...a book store, a restaurant, a boutique, historic homes, an antique store, a museum, a confectionary...there is something to please and entertain everyone. Except for our first trip, we always have chosen to stay at the DeSoto House. Why not the first time? It hadn't been renovated. At that time, it looked like General Grant had just left or was still giving a Presidential campaign speech on the balcony. But now it is modern, up to date, charming and comfortable, located on Main Street, in the midst of everything. Galena is a two-hour drive from Chicago and if you are Civil War history buff, as we are, you will enjoy the town that sent nine, count 'em, nine generals to fight in the Civil War. If you aren't, it doesn't matter. Galena has something to offer everyone.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a parlor adjacent to the bedroom. There is no such thing as a noisy room, even i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was my second stay at the DeSoto House in Galena. Loved it the first time, loved it the second time! The hotel has lots of charm and history; after all, Lincoln, Douglas, and Gen. Grant all stayed here. Galena, in itself, is a beautiful little city surrounding the Galena River and it's quite amazing that flat Illinois has such a very hilly city near the Iowa border. The DeSoto hotel is right on Main street and has a large parking garage. It is truly a historic treasure and the room was clean and comfortable, although the lighting could have been better should one want to read a little. But wait, on the second floor of this fine hotel, was a little library with paperbacks (read it and leave another). Didn't use it the first two trips, but will definitely use it when I return with my daughter, my avid reader and trusted trip companion. The only drawback was the very affordable, but very unmemorable Sunday brunch. But only a minor drawback, as there is lots of fine dining in the area. Again, highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lighthouse Point, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

What a delight to stay in this historic hotel! It is said to be the oldest in the country. The location is at the center of town activity and the hotel has a large parking garage for your car. The room we stayed in was large and comfortable. The rooms are quiet also. It is an old hotel but charming. Everyone we encountered that worked at the hotel was friendly and helpful. It is a good idea to make a reservation as the night we stayed we got the last room. Definately a place I'd visit again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Brothers and sisters (with their spouses) get together every January. Generally we change cities each year, however, in 2012 we selected the DeSoto House Hotel, Galena, IL and we were elated. So we came back in January, 2013 and are now making reservations and plans for 2014 - all at the DeSoto House Hotel. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The hotel restaurants offers a little snack to a wonderful dinner. The hotel shops offer a variety of merchandise. The Sunday brunch is great. Parking is convenient at the hotel. The management, staff and wait members have always been very helpful and friendly, making sure everything is just the way you want it. Being downtown allows for close shopping and walking the historic streets. Can't wait to come back "home" to the DeSoto House Hotel in January, 2014.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms offer a variety of floor plans - Courtyard views to street views. Check them out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean, although the carpets could have used a good steam cleaning as they appeared stained. The bathroom was nicely decorated with a shower head actually tall enough for my 6'3" husband.

The floor in the room was slanted a good 4 or 5 inches from the outside wall to the inside. Granted, this is a 150 year old building, and maybe that contributes to the charm, but when you lay down to sleep at night and feel like you're going to roll out of bed after paying rates comparable to a room at the Rio in Vegas, it's a little daunting.

However, reminding myself that Galena is historically rich (yet pretentiously overpriced), overall it was a decent value, especially after pricing other hotel rates in the area. If you're looking for a place just to rest your head for the night, stay in Dubuque, but if you're looking for a place that is rich in history, it's worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DeSoto House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeSoto House Hotel

Also Known As:
Desoto Hotel Galena
Address: 230 S Main St, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Galena
#2 Romantic Hotel in Galena
#4 Family Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DeSoto House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added DeSoto House Hotel to your Saves list