We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   444 Eagle Ridge Drive, Galena, IL 61036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

My husband and I came here for an overnight getaway. It is not very impressive from the outside (seems a bit dated). But the rooms were nice and relaxing. We had a nice view of the lake and sunset. Nice walking trails. My only complaint is The bathroom was small. Oh and don't eat at the overpriced
Woodlands restaurant. The food was tasteless.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSeagleridge, Director of Sales at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Good afternoon

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our resort. It is extremely important that no only do we hear the great reviews that our guests write in about the resort, we also want to hear how we can improve so we can exceed everyone’s expectations.

We recognized when we took over management of the resort that we needed a mid-priced family style restaurant which we just introduced this past weekend ( May 2nd). Woodstone Restaurant is the resorts and Galena’s newest family style restaurant featuring wood fired specialties. The restaurant is family priced and is already getting rave reviews.

We would love for you to come back and experience all our new changes and visit Woodstone… I think you will love it.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you soon.

Colin Sanderson
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    184
    91
    47
    27
See reviews for
170
273
9
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Iowa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed in one of the group houses on a recent work outing and it was amazing. The accomodations at the houses were outstanding and the decor and setting of each house was ideal. We had a large group with 3 different houses (5-6 bedrooms each) and I didn't hear one complaint from anyone in the group. Far enough out of town to be secluded but a close enough drive to not feel like you were missing out on anything.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSeagleridge, Director of Sales at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Good evening

Thank you so much for your great review of our resort. Our tag line is A World Away.Today and I think you expressed exactly that point in your review. The resort is located in such a great area that you think you are a world away but yet we are still close to home and some really fun small towns.

Please come back and visit us again soon! I think spring is right around the corner and hiking, golfing and horseback riding are such great activities to take advantage of at the resort!

Have a great day

Colin Sanderson
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This is our second time staying at Eagle Ridge Resort. The first time we rented a villa (townhouse) and it was so lovely. Very peaceful with all the comforts of home. This second trip out to Galena was with a large group, so we rented a 6 bedroom house. Again all the comforts of home in a gorgeous home. Each couple had their own bathroom which made the stay easy and comfortable. Eagle Ridge is just an amazing property, it is so quiet and peaceful you do not want to leave. Make sure you get a chance to star gaze….you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSeagleridge, Director of Sales at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for your great review on our property! We certainly appreciate it and please come back and visit us again.

We have so many great new activities and of course our award winning golf courses will all be open by the end of the week, April 11th. Spring is finally here!

We truly appreciate your business and we hope to see you soon!

Colin Sanderson

Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Prairie, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We were impressed with the hospitality of the resort as we walked out of our car and were greeted at the door. All the people at the resort were welcoming. Although we didn't use any of the hotel's facilities, we enjoyed our one bedroom villa. It was comfy, quaint, and had a beautiful view of the a lake. Two deer even greeted us at our patio door This is a definite must place to stay

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSeagleridge, Director of Sales at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Wow what a great review and thank you so much for taking the time to write it! Please come back and visit us again this spring and summer.

We have so many great activities to take advantage of or just to hang back and watch like the Great Galena Balloon Race during the weekend of June 20th!

Sincerely

Colin Sanderson
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomingdale, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Everything was great hospitality was also the best have to compliment on service for breakfast and your penny in the lounge she was the best personality plus France Goodwin I guess I have to say more but we had a great get away Fran and phil

Room Tip: I really can't help you with a good room our room was very clean 303
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSeagleridge, Director of Sales at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Good afternoon Fran and Phil,

Thank you for a great review of our resort and thank you for staying with us.

We have a lot of new and exciting things happening at the resort so please come back and visit us again real soon.

Colin Sanderson
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen Park, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed in one of the villas with a lake view. It's March, but it's still beautiful. The sun setting behind the lake is just beautiful. The condo is beautifully furnished, warm and best of all, comfortable. WI FI is free. The staff is nice; and the general store on the property has it's own gas station (I really liked that, I didn't have to drive around the territories looking for one). Check out is easy. It is March, so there aren't a lot of people here. That makes it extra quiet.

Room Tip: The villas have washers and dryers in the units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSeagleridge, Director of Sales at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Good afternoon

Thank you for a great review on our resort and you will definitely have to come back in the spring or summer or whenever your travels bring you back out this way. We have so many exciting new activities that I am sure your will find one that is quiet even when the resort is busy.

Thank you for comments about our General Store, it is a definite plus for the resort and offers just about anything you need to make your stay enjoyable.

We hope to see you soon!

Colin Sanderson
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

My husband & I spent an extended weekend here end of Jan early Feb 2014 for our babymoon. He found a deal on travelzoo.com. The service from all the staff overall was fantastic and more than we ever expected! The food was delicious at both restaurants on site. Eric was extremely helpful, knowledgeable, and friendly with guidance and tips for what to do in town. Crystal was super welcoming, friendly, and helpful at check-in. Lisa at the front desk went above and beyond her duties daily with anwering all our questions and her helpful guidance for food choices. Nan in the Woodlands ensured a fabulous dinning experience each morning with her attention to detail and excellent costumer service! We learned she's been there about 34 years - Eagle Ridge sure is doing something right. Our room service was delivered in a timely fashion and served with a smile. We thoroughly enjoyed our couples massage too! The staff at the spa were entirely accommodating to my needs as a soon to be mom. The prenatal massage was perfect and my husband says he enjoyed his first time ever massage! We can't thank Eagle Ridge staff enough for a wonderful weekend getaway before our baby arrives. We will certainly visit again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSeagleridge, Director of Sales at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Good afternoon

It was certainly a pleasure to hear from you and thank you for great review on our resort. I will be sure to pass along all your comments to Eric, Crystal, Lisa, Nan and to all our great staff at Eagle Ridge.

Congratulations on your new arrival and please come back and visit us again soon and take advantage of all the warm activities we have during the spring and summer. Although it may not feel like golf season, our courses are getting ready to open next week so please spread the word.

Again, thank you and we look forward to your returned trip to our resort.

Colin Sanderson
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa

Address: 444 Eagle Ridge Drive, Galena, IL 61036
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Galena
#6 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa is located 150 miles west of Chicago in the heart of The Galena Territory, a 6,800 acre recreational, residential and resort community nestled amid the rolling hills of northwestern Galena, Illinois. Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa is a full-spectrum resort and showcases superior golf with 63 holes on four acclaimed courses which include the North Course; the South Course; the East Course (9-holes); and the resort’s crowning achievement, The General, with over 250 feet of elevation changes throughout the 18 holes. Lodging accommodations at Eagle Ridge are delightfully unique with 80 quaint Inn rooms and over 250 villas and distinctive homes to choose from throughout the property. For the resort’s corporate clients Eagle Ridge boasts 15,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting space, in addition to beautiful conference homes for small, elegant meetings. The entire facility is also the perfect venue for banquets, weddings and theme parties. Eagle Ridge offers three distinctive restaurants that include award-winning Woodlands Restaurant, along with Spikes Bar & Grill and Paisanos. Other amenities include the tranquil Stonedrift Spa, providing ten treatment rooms for a complete sensory experience, and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a beautiful indoor/outdoor pool, sauna and steam room. The property is the perfect backdrop to an incredible selection of outdoor activities including miles of biking, hiking and horseback riding trails, as well as tennis, hot air balloon rides, boating and fishing on the picturesque 225-acre Lake Galena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Ridge Resort And Spa
Eagle Ridge Hotel Galena
Eagle Ridge Resort Galena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.