We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of Galena!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   444 Eagle Ridge Drive, Galena, IL 61036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Galena
Medinah, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The best of Galena!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights here over a long weekend. This is probably our 10th visit here and each time the resort gets better. Our one bedroom villa is perfect as we have a dog and even though she's quiet, I have peace of mind that she doesn't disrupt others. The front desk even gave the pooch a care bag at check-in that included gourmet dog biscuits, doggie bottled water, a stuffed eagle toy and the all important plastic bag for clean up!
The villa is clean and well appointed. We laughed at how often we received replacement towels and coffee. It was a pleasure to be taken care of. The Sunday brunch is perfect. The food is plentiful and varied and best of all, incredibly good! The setting is beautiful and relaxing. The service attentive but not overly so that you feel your privacy is at risk.
Overall, yes, it's pricey to stay there but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    228
    105
    50
    30
See reviews for
214
339
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a long weekend visit to Galena. The resort itself was beautiful and we found the staff friendly and helpful. Like others, we enjoyed the grounds surrounding the resort and were able to enjoy some nice walks in the woods. A big plus for us was our ability to bring our dog along on the trip. The room itself was average. We stayed in the hotel in a single room facing the woods. It had a small but nice deck area. The bath tub was on the smaller side. A family with children stayed in the room above us and we could hear the children running and playing in the room. You may consider asking for a top floor unit for this reason. The room was comfortable, but lacked the higher end finishes I would have expected for the price.

Room Tip: I agree with others who have recommended a room with a lake view. Also consider asking for a top flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

On June 22 2013, we had our daughter's wedding at Eagle Ridge many of the guest arrived a few days before, we had 220 guests from Chicago. Our guest wouldn't stop talking about the resort. And telling us it was the most beautiful wedding they ever attended.WE owe a special thank you to the chef and his staff! The food was excellent, the meat was like butter, complements to the HEAD CHIEF. Kelsea Brown our wedding sales manager could not do enough for us. Hands up to Pam Homan, banquet manager, for changing our floor plan on patio point, which was more beautiful than I could image. They both did an excellent job. And to the whole staff at eagle ridge, they couldn t do a better job. And for the spa, what a job they did on our hair and make up. Everyone was more than pleased. The gift shop knew we needed stands for our pictures, and within seconds they had them for us. I give this hotel more than 5 stars. Everyone who attended said they will diffidently go back. Thank You Eagle Ridge for giving my daughters dream come true wedding. Compliments to the doormen who everyone could not wait to be greeted by! On Friday the men had a golf outing and raved about the conditions of the courses as well as the stellar service.

Carol and Leo Di Domenico

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I absolutely love this place. I try to stay her each time I visit Galena and most of the time there is a vacancy. The rooms are cozy and the tub is fabulous. The Spa is not too far out of town, but to be able to see the stars at night is the best, unless it's cloudy, of course. I highly recommend this place to everyone visiting this wonderful historical city.

Room Tip: Try to get the southern side of the building, it's wooded and has a much better view than the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSeagleridge, Director of Sales at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
We would like to take this opportunity to introduce you to the Bricton Hotel Group and Brickstone Management. We have taken over management of Eagle Ridge Resort and Spa as of June of 2013.

Brickstone is a joint partnership between the Bricton Hotel Group and Touchstone Golf. Both companies have built great reputations in managing golf courses and resorts national. We are extremely excited we have this opportunity to rebuild Eagle Ridge Resort and Spa’s reputation as the premier destination to a play, meet and relax in the Midwest.

If you like what Eagle Ridge has done in the past then you will love what we have done this year and our plans for the future. As of August 2014, we are completing the first phase of a multi-phase property improvement plan. We spent the first year working on improving all 63 holes of our golf courses back into pristine condition. Based on the reviews in the past year we have met and exceeded everyone’s expectations. Playing time is back to the 4 to 4 ½ hours on all our courses. "Eagle Ridge has done a masterful job at restoring the original 'playability' of all the resort's courses. Sight lines have been improved, and grass and scrub areas have been cut back to reduce the penalty on shots that go awry. These renovations are most apparent on The General, widely regarded as one of the top courses in Illinois. Spectacular vistas are combined with generous landing areas and forgiving greens, making The General one of the top resort courses in the nation." Dr. Kiel Christianson, Senior Writer & Equipment Editor, Golfnow.com - The Golf Channel.
The main entrance and the Inn lobby have been completely renovated as well as all of our meeting and banquet space. To top it all off, we have just been accredited as an IACC Conference Center. We have many more plans to continue to improve the property in it physical appearance as well as our guest service and amenities.

Please Like Us On Facebook! We update Facebook on a daily basis with news, new activities and specials that you can take advantage of and of course contests that are a lot of fun to participate in. Also when you get a change take a look at the Eagle Ridge site as well!

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will come back soon!

Colin Sanderson
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Hotel was very clean and neat, Wish room had refrigerator. Food was average; wish entree was a little larger. Customer service was great. Thanks to Julie in the Dinner room for a great night. Golf was fantastic. I am at higher level golfer, competing this year in the US Senior Open. Many times I do not like to take a lesson before competing however; since I was away from home and no one knew who I was I decided to take a lesson from Michael Stewart. I cannot say enough about Michael. We talked about family and we leanrt at the same time. Michael is very easy going and wonderful to talk too. His teaching approach is most enjoyable. Whether you are a accomplished player or not this is a must do for your golf game while staying at Eagle Ridge.

Yes he did help my game!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSeagleridge, Director of Sales at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
We would like to take this opportunity to introduce you to Bricton Hotel Group and Brickstone Management Company that has recently taken over the management of Eagle Ridge Resort and Spa as of June 2013.
Brickstone is the combination of Bricton Hotel Group and Touchstone Golf. If you like what we have done in the past you will absolutely love what we have been doing for the Past year at the resort. We are just completing the first phase of a multi-phase property improvement plan. We have spent this past year working on all of our golf courses getting them back to its original playing conditions included getting the average round of golf back to 4 hours which we have successfully done. The Inn and has a new look and we re-branded Spikes to Woodstone Restaurant which specializes in wood fired entrees and appetizers including our signature thin crust pizza.
Please Like Us On Facebook! We are constantly putting updates on what is happening at the resort, special contests that you can take advantage of and much much more. Also visit the Eagle Ridge site for updates and special activities we are promoting.
Thank you for visiting with us and please come back soon to see all the great changes at the resort.
Sincerely
Colin Sanderson
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmhurst
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The rooms are ok, 2 queen size beds that were comfortable with nice pillows. The sink area is very small so for 2 people to put their toiletries for the stay was quite crowded. Parking is easy and the rooms were clean. Would have been nice to have a mini refrigerator in the room since the restaurant has limited hours. But there was a Starbucks shop on the premises and was nice to just get a cup of coffee and a muffin instead of a full-fledged breakfast. The front desk has a running/trail map and the path is beautiful and had varied hills, open areas, forested parts and ran along the lake as well. Definitely a wonderful aspect of the resort that will have me returning. My husband and our friend golfed 9 holes on the East Course and remarked that the course was very pretty, hilly and definitely challenging as well. The Sunday brunch was surprisingly quite good and the choices were varied. Not a great fruit selection, but there was prime rib, ham, turkey, all hand sliced, smoked fish, many vegetable and healthy choices as well as an omelette bar. All 4 of us had no complaints about the brunch offerings.

Room Tip: Our friends stayed in the main lodge section before and remarked that those rooms were better. We st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSeagleridge, Director of Sales at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
We would like to take this opportunity to introduce you to Bricton Hotel Group and Brickstone Management Company that has recently taken over the management of Eagle Ridge Resort and Spa as of June 2013.
Brickstone is the combination of Bricton Hotel Group and Touchstone Golf. If you like what we have done in the past you will absolutely love what we have been doing for the Past year at the resort. We are just completing the first phase of a multi-phase property improvement plan. We have spent this past year working on all of our golf courses getting them back to its original playing conditions included getting the average round of golf back to 4 hours which we have successfully done. The Inn and has a new look and we re-branded Spikes to Woodstone Restaurant which specializes in wood fired entrees and appetizers including our signature thin crust pizza.
Please Like Us On Facebook! We are constantly putting updates on what is happening at the resort, special contests that you can take advantage of and much much more. Also visit the Eagle Ridge site for updates and special activities we are promoting.
Thank you for visiting with us and please come back soon to see all the great changes at the resort.
Sincerely
Colin Sanderson
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago suburb
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed in one of the Lodge rooms overnight on Memorial Day weekend. The room overlooked Lake Galena - very peaceful and beautiful! During our approx. 24 hours there, we walked for an hour along the peaceful forest path that runs along Lake Galena, had a very nice dinner in the Woodlands Restaurant - where the staff was very accommodating to my special dietary needs. The next morning, we went for a bicycle ride in the rolling hills. Well, one of us rode, one of us rode sometimes, and enjoyed walking the bike other times! (: We had a couples massage - 2 of us, 2 masseuses and very PG-rated - very nice! A wonderful late lunch, and back to Chicago. We had been to Eagle Ridge Resort with our children at least 10 - 12 times when they were growing up. This was a very nice way to just be with each other. Thank you, Eagle Ridge!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSeagleridge, Director of Sales at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
We would like to take this opportunity to introduce you to Bricton Hotel Group and Brickstone Management Company that has recently taken over the management of Eagle Ridge Resort and Spa as of June 2013.
Brickstone is the combination of Bricton Hotel Group and Touchstone Golf. If you like what we have done in the past you will absolutely love what we have been doing for the Past year at the resort. We are just completing the first phase of a multi-phase property improvement plan. We have spent this past year working on all of our golf courses getting them back to its original playing conditions included getting the average round of golf back to 4 hours which we have successfully done. The Inn and has a new look and we re-branded Spikes to Woodstone Restaurant which specializes in wood fired entrees and appetizers including our signature thin crust pizza.
Please Like Us On Facebook! We are constantly putting updates on what is happening at the resort, special contests that you can take advantage of and much much more. Also visit the Eagle Ridge site for updates and special activities we are promoting.
Thank you for visiting with us and please come back soon to see all the great changes at the resort.
Sincerely
Colin Sanderson
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa

Address: 444 Eagle Ridge Drive, Galena, IL 61036
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Galena
#4 Romantic Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa is located 150 miles west of Chicago in the heart of The Galena Territory, a 6,800 acre recreational, residential and resort community nestled amid the rolling hills of northwestern Galena, Illinois. Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa is a full-spectrum resort and showcases superior golf with 63 holes on four acclaimed courses which include the North Course; the South Course; the East Course (9-holes); and the resort’s crowning achievement, The General, with over 250 feet of elevation changes throughout the 18 holes. Lodging accommodations at Eagle Ridge are delightfully unique with 80 quaint Inn rooms and over 250 villas and distinctive homes to choose from throughout the property. For the resort’s corporate clients Eagle Ridge boasts 15,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting space, in addition to beautiful conference homes for small, elegant meetings. The entire facility is also the perfect venue for banquets, weddings and theme parties. Eagle Ridge offers three distinctive restaurants that include award-winning Woodlands Restaurant, along with Spikes Bar & Grill and Paisanos. Other amenities include the tranquil Stonedrift Spa, providing ten treatment rooms for a complete sensory experience, and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a beautiful indoor/outdoor pool, sauna and steam room. The property is the perfect backdrop to an incredible selection of outdoor activities including miles of biking, hiking and horseback riding trails, as well as tennis, hot air balloon rides, boating and fishing on the picturesque 225-acre Lake Galena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Ridge Resort And Spa
Eagle Ridge Hotel Galena
Eagle Ridge Resort Galena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.