We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax with a Great View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   444 Eagle Ridge Drive, Galena, IL 61036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 hotels in Galena
highland park illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Relax with a Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We rented a 2-bedroom condo near the Lodge, and it was a great place to unwind with our teenager and dog. We had requested (months earlier) a unit across from the Lodge, but when we got there, they put us way far away. After we complained, they moved us closer but not to the unit we had originally asked for and stayed in previously, even though in mid March the place seemed pretty empty. Weird. But everything else was very nice. We had a pretty view and the unit had a lot of space and was very clean. I would go back, especially in the fall (although it is lovely in winter too).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    89
    48
    33
    23
See reviews for
81
134
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Homer, Alaska
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My friend and I visited Eagle Ridge Resort deep into the off season. The drive out to the Resort was beautiful with a snow covered landscape. It was obvious that the resort was well maintained, as the roads and drives were plowed. The front desk attendant was friendly and efficient. We reserved the king suite with a fireplace. While it was very nice, the view was not very good. Personally, I think the suite could have benefited from a little more cleaning. There was a used towel hanging on the hook on the back of the bathroom door. The ledge separating the two rooms was dusty. The jets of the tub looked to have mold or mildew in them. The bed was comfortable and the fireplace kept the roomy suite nice and toasty. The lounge and coffee shop were both nice and friendly. We went to the general store for snacks and morning pastries and encountered the only unfriendly person during our stay. All in all this resort is someplace that I would certainly return to.

Room Tip: The king suite with fireplace is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhlas A, General Manager at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for providing a review of your recent stay at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa. We are delighted that our King Suite with fireplace met your expectations in general. We cannot apologize enough for the housekeeping condition of your room upon arrival. We are addressing this situation with our housekeeping team to ensure that such a bothersome issue does not happen again. We are also in contact with the manager of our General Store to ensure that our standard of providing superior hospitality is being upheld throughout the resort. We look forward to your return visit. If I can provide any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.
Ikhlas Ahmed
General Manager
iahmed@eagleridge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, iowa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

There is something for everyone at this resort all year round. We went in February. The front desk was extremely nice and professionally mannered. We were upgraded from a 1 bedroom cottage to a 2 bedroom townhouse.
We ordered pizza one night and it was delivered to our door. We took advantage of the houses' equiped kitchen in the morning for breakfast.
Stone drift is THE best spa that we have come across. My wife enjoyed the spa and I enjoyed time with my children in the pool in the afternoon. The second go around at the pool was busy but very accommodating as they played a movie and had plenty of floaties for the kids.
Historic Galena is 5-10 drive away and it also has plenty to offer.
This was our third or fourth trip there and will recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhlas A, General Manager at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for providing a review about your stay at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa. We are delighted that we were able to meet your expectations for a great winter getaway. As you are discovering, there is something new and exciting each season at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa. We look forward to your return soon. In the meantime, please contact me directly if we can be of any further assistance.

Ikhlas Ahmed
General Manager
iahmed@eagleridge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeview, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The resort in itself is very nice. Maybe little bit outdated with its 90s wallpaper but clean and pleasant. The staff was really friendly too and we especially enjoyed the morning greetings from the hotels doorman. Gorgeous surroundings and plenty to do as far as the winter activities go. And the main street in Galena is just one of those picturesque streets that stay with you for a very long time. What we didn't like was the spa located in the resort. Small and overcrowded. The relaxation room or the lounge room (not sure how they referred to it) reminded us of a dark waiting area in a doctor's office. Really needs updating. And what the resort and spa really need is the hot tub.... just a suggestion. I would stay there again but wouldn't spend money on the spa services.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhlas A, General Manager at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for providing your review of your stay at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa and we are delighted that you found our resort very nice in general. Our resort covers over 6,800 acres and we are continuously upgrading and renovated portions of the resorts.
We are sorry that your experience at our Stonedrift Spa did not meet your expectations. We have shared your concerns with our spa management and will continue to improve upon our services. We look forward to your return to Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa in the near future, so that you can experience the full beauty of the resort and our surrounding community.
Also, for your next stay you may want to consider making your reservations at one of our 23 distinctive rental homes and luxury villas with private hot tubs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I traveled with our two children here during the Columbus Day Weekend. The best thing about this hotel is the beautiful scenery. The lake, the trails, the wooded backdrop are all lovely. But, there is much more about his hotel that can be improved:

- Very, very dated appearance. This was the biggest disappointment. We booked a little too late on a busy weekend and stayed in a courtyard room. The room was dingy, located somewhat below ground, and had a bug problem. The bathroom really needed some serious remodeling.

- Kids arcade area and swimming pool also need a bit of facelift.

- Coffee shop closes too early! I love having a cup at 4pm when on vacation and found that it was always closed.

- Dinner menu ok.

Galena, itself, is a charming town and I would have an interest in returning. However, Eagle Ridge is probably the best accommodation in this town and I will definitely come back after a renovation is completed.

Room Tip: Skip the hotel stay and try to book a house/cottage on the resort instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhlas A, General Manager at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa this past October. We are pleased that you had the opportunity to experience the region in the fall when our trees explode with color and the destination is in full color.
We are sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction with the accommodations you chose. There is never an excuse for a pest problem, and if we were informed of this, we certainly would have moved you first and then inspected your claims. Our resort covers 6,800 acres, offers numerous lodging options – from inn rooms, to townhouses, condominiums and distinctive rental homes. Additionally, our amenities are continuously undergoing renovation, so you won’t be disappointed when you return. Based on demand, our coffee bar closes once Woodland’s Lounge opens for the day and you can always receive the same fresh-ground coffee at any of our open restaurants, or through room service.
We agree that Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa is the premier lodging choice in the Galena area and we hope you will visit us again soon. We are confident that you will find one of our luxurious villas, or distinctive vacation rental homes to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My family recently went on a friends and family weekend getaway to Eagle Ridge Resort and Spa. We had terrible service at check-in. The lady was very rude. The day shift was much nicer and helpful. They have complimentary lemon, ice water available in the lobby throughout the day.

We stayed in a 3 bedroom townhouse that was a blast from the past. The room looked and smelled like my 80 year old neighbor's home. The room and furnishings are in desperate need of renovation. We also found out that each room uses baseboard heat, not central heat.

The main lodge was nicer. Our friends without children that traveled with us stayed in the lodge room. It was a typical room, bed and bathroom. I think I will opt for the lodge room, if we are to ever return again.

The Lodge itself is a nice place to visit, rest and relax. The Woodlands restaurant serves delicious food, but is again a bit pricey. We paid $60.00 at lunch for chicken sandwiches and fries for 4.

There are some huge, beautiful homes on the property which are very nicely featured. Our last group of friends stayed in one. We ended up spending most of our time in their house. It was very spacious and had a pool table the kids loved.

My mom, daughter and I visited the spa. It was OK, but not what I would have expected from a resort and spa. I honestly have received better pedicures from the salon in my hometown.

We were able to go ice fishing, but that was it. There wasn't any snow for skiing or sledding. There is a pool at the lodge.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhlas A, General Manager at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
I would like to apologize for the difficulties you encountered during your stay at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa. We aim to provide each guest with a superior getaway experience and take it personally when we fail to achieve this goal. We certainly never tolerate rude behavior toward our guests and I have addressed your email with our front desk staff. We wish you had informed us of the displeasure with your accommodations. We offer a wide variety of townhomes, villas and vacation rental homes. Our policy is to match our guests with their ideal accommodations.
We are happy that our lodge and ice fishing were pleasing to you and hope you will discover all that Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa has to offer each season. Thank you again for your remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We were there for a wedding in mid February. We had a room in the courtyard area. The bed was comfortable, but the room looked dated. Also there was no door that woudl close off the entire bathroom. A bit pricey also even for a weekend and a wedding. Also there is no indoor walk from the courtyard area to the main lobby.

It did have a great breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhlas A, General Manager at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We are honored to have been able to host you at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa while you were attending a wedding at Eagle Ridge. Please know that we aim to meet every guest expectations while at Eagle Ridge. If walking outside is a concern, we respectfully recommend that you choose to stay in our main lodge as opposed to a courtyard room, which is exposed. You may also consider one of our many townhomes, vacation villas, or distinctive homes for your next visit to Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet at Woodlands Restaurant; awarded best brunch in Chicagoland by Open Table.

Ikhlas Ahmed
General Manager
iahmed@eagleridge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa

Address: 444 Eagle Ridge Drive, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa is located 150 miles west of Chicago in the heart of The Galena Territory, a 6,800 acre recreational, residential and resort community nestled amid the rolling hills of northwestern Galena, Illinois. Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa is a full-spectrum resort and showcases superior golf with 63 holes on four acclaimed courses which include the North Course; the South Course; the East Course (9-holes); and the resort’s crowning achievement, The General, with over 250 feet of elevation changes throughout the 18 holes. Lodging accommodations at Eagle Ridge are delightfully unique with 80 quaint Inn rooms and over 250 villas and distinctive homes to choose from throughout the property. For the resort’s corporate clients Eagle Ridge boasts 15,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting space, in addition to beautiful conference homes for small, elegant meetings. The entire facility is also the perfect venue for banquets, weddings and theme parties. Eagle Ridge offers three distinctive restaurants that include award-winning Woodlands Restaurant, along with Spikes Bar & Grill and Paisanos. Other amenities include the tranquil Stonedrift Spa, providing ten treatment rooms for a complete sensory experience, and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a beautiful indoor/outdoor pool, sauna and steam room. The property is the perfect backdrop to an incredible selection of outdoor activities including miles of biking, hiking and horseback riding trails, as well as tennis, hot air balloon rides, boating and fishing on the picturesque 225-acre Lake Galena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Ridge Hotel Galena
Eagle Ridge Resort And Spa
Eagle Ridge Resort Galena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.