We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated but good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   444 Eagle Ridge Drive, Galena, IL 61036   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 11 hotels in Galena
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Overrated but good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The resort is overrated and overpriced compared to other similar resorts we have visited. Beautiful location tucked in the woods with golf courses on the property; about 15 minutes from Galena. They have a variety of options from private villas to hotel rooms. We stayed in a courtyard hotel room, adjacent to the main hotel lodge. Our room was cozy, quiet and comfortable, with a small private balcony facing the woods; downside ares the furnishings are very dated and the level of cleanliness in the room was subpar. The hotel has a very small fitness room with dated equipment - it was very crowded and generally not clean. The spa was nice - but again it was very small and a bit dated. We had pedicures which were of poor quality for a spa - especially considering the price - but we heard many other guests raving about the massages. They did have a nice small lounge to relax in the spa. The restaurant and bar/lounge were a good size and food quality was very good, as was the service. On Friday nights they offer a free wine tasting which was a nice touch; nice fireplace. Front desk personnel were a bit cold and unwelcoming. Overall, probably a very good option if you want to stay on the golf course and golf or go skiing in the area, but I wouldn't recommend this hotel for their amenities.alone.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are nice and quiet but you have to walk outside from the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhlas A, General Manager at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We thank you for the review of your recent stay at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa and are sorry that we did not fully meet your expectations. We pride ourselves on creating a country elegant resort experience for our guests. We understand how frustrating and disturbing issues of cleanliness can be while traveling and have addressed your concerns with our housekeeping team to ensure that this is not an issue in the future. Spa strives lead the industry in our products and services. Our pedicures use Spa Ritual a complete Vegan product line, without petrochemicals or formelayde. Our pedicure protocol is standard and in line with the recommendation of leading cosmetology schools. We apologize for any inconvenience you encountered during your stay and look forward to your return to Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    145
    87
    48
    32
    23
See reviews for
79
132
7
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My fiance and I just returned from a trip for our friend's wedding. After reading reviews, we opted for a one bedroom villa. We were not disappointed. In the cold and dark, everything was a little hard to find (it is peaceful!) but our GPS and the directions provided got us there. We are so glad we got the villa - it was a two bedroom condo with one of the bedrooms locked. We had a beautiful, spacious master suite upstairs, and downstairs another full bathroom, kitchen, living/dining area. It even had a dishwasher and laundry. It was only $15 more per night; I dont know why you wouldnt choose to do this for the privacy, quiet, and space.
Our room also had a working fireplace, which was lovely. The master bedroom was a little noisy with the furnace, but we were plenty warm over the cold (high of 13!) weekend, and the heat control was good (I am picky about being able to control my heat - not too hot nor too cold).
We used the general store on the property and found prices reasonable - on the high end, but basically like going grocery shopping with no sales. For two days' breakfast and some snacks, plus a bottle of wine and full tin of coffee (it was a brand my fiance liked and wanted to take home), we spent a very reasonable $38.
My friend's wedding was in downtown Galena (sooo adorable!) and the reception was in the Eagle Ridge ballroom. It was a pretty basic set up in the inn's public hallways, reception area, etc but the ballroom was beautiful. My only wish was that we could have started while it was still light out, the windows appeared beautiful but it was already dark! Service during the reception was top notch.
It being the midwest, I expected folks to be a bit more outgoing friendly, but overall we had good service throughout our stay. As others have stated, it could use some updating, but nothing was sub-par for us. It's just definitely not quite a five-star experience, but I'd return again if my travels ever take me out that way!

Room Tip: We stayed in an Oak Glen one bedroom villa - OG22. If you can, ask for a villa that doesnt have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhlas A, General Manager at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for providing the review of your recent stay at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We have forwarded your concerns about the noise from the furnace to our engineering department for inspection. We appreciate that you were able to see so much of our region during the trip. We also look forward to return visit. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly to arrange your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I just got back from a weekend at Earle Ridge Resort. The resort is okay, it could use some improvement. I have to complain about the room. Our room was located on the outside of the main resort. We had to walk through a court yard to get to our room, no crossway through the inside. Every time we wanted to go to eat or the pool, we had to wear our jackets. The room didn’t have a refrigerator, or included water. Maybe a bottle of water in the room would be nice, even if there is a charge for it. Having to go to get ice at the ice machine at the first floor in the cold, is not ideal. Our TV and lamp were not working, we had a blizzard warning, and we couldn’t even watch the weather. So, all in all, we prefer going to the Grand Geneva Lake Resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhlas A, General Manager at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa. I want to let you know that our management team has inspected our courtyard rooms and find all lamps televisions are in perfect working order. That being said, we are aware that some guests do have a difficult time turning on the lamps next to the beds and our televisions do take a few more seconds to get to the channel listing. Please know that we are addressing these items with our management team and our television provider.
We understand that winter weather in Northwest Illinois can be a bit challenging and actually our winter wonderland is a main attraction for our guests during this season. To compensate for inclement weather our courtyard room guests may experience, we offer ice delivery service free of charge and room service is always available. I am sorry that you did not notice the card in the room offering that service.
We hope that you will revisit Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa again soon. We offer a variety of inn room types, vacation villas and distinctive homes for our guests to choose the accommodations that suit their needs. If prior to, or during your next visit I can be of assistance to you, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Ikhlas Ahmed
General Manager
iahmed@eagleridge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plain, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is the worst place I've stayed in many, many, years. Dirty, noisy, rooms are outdated. Overpriced. Stay away!

When we pointed out how dirty our room was, they said they'd clean it -- but then didn't. The room was dirty and smelled musty. We find cigarette ashes and pubic hair on the bedspread when we checked first walked into our room.

This place is totally disgusting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhlas A, General Manager at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
I would like to apologize for the difficulties you claim to have encountered during your stay at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa 7 months ago. Our dedicated, professional team aims to meet each guests' expectations are we are sorry that we did not meet yours.

I wish you had contacted us sooner so that we could have immediately addressed your claims. Each year, Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa hosts over 250,000 guests and we are unaware of any other claims similar to yours. An analysis of guest reviews from June 2012 showed that 8 other guests provided reviews of our property with none lower than a good review.

We offer numerous getaway packages that are competitively priced, our restaurants are award-winning and our Stonedrift Spa is recognized as one of the best in the Midwest. We hope you will reconsider your decision and revisit Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa.

Ikhlas Ahmed
General Manager
iahmed@eagleridge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I have attended a conference at this location each year for the last 5 years. The facilities are wonderful. The conference facilities are great. The food is not bad on the buffet, go to the restaurants for the best food available. Even venture back to Spikes, when you just enter the property is wonderful food and great views. October is the best time to visit with the trees in full color. For relaxing time the golf courses, the spa or a quick trip into Galena are all very relaxing activities. I have stayed in the houses with 3-4 other people. The houses are just an added bonus. I have never stayed in the hotel on properity. I look forward to this conference every year and will not miss the opportunity to visit "The Territory".

Room Tip: If you can stay in the houses, do it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

I recently enjoyed a weekend away with my mother at the Lodge at Eagle Ridge. What a great experience. Room was beautiful, clean and had a relaxing whirlpool tub. Fantastic view as well. Loved the small things like fresh fruit water set out each day in the lobby; kiwi, orange and pineapple. Service was very good from front desk, the restaurant as well as bar. We enjoyed champagne brunch on Sunday which I would recommend. Can't wait to take my kids as they had many fun activities scheduled like s'mores around bonfire, Wii and float in pool while movie playing and so much more to do outside like ice skating and sledding. Can't wait to return

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We recently spent the weekend at Eagle Ridge with several other couples. The accommodations were quite comfortable. A wonderful lobby with a huge Christmas tree extending up to past the open second story walkway. A warm fire in the fireplace. We were greeted in a friendly way at all times. Our first night there offered a complimentary wine tasting with cheese and crackers. We spent Saturday doing cross-country skiing on skis provided by the resort, and some sledding that made us all feel like 14-year-olds again.

Our room was comfortable with two reading chairs and good light. The bathroom is pretty tight. Just the commode and shower/tub behind the door. The basin is out in the room. It was hard to take a shower without water spilling onto the floor, even though we had the shower curtain inside the tub. But the room was quiet. I ended up getting up in the middle of the first night and turning off the heater...one of those blasted things embedded in the wall. It would run for 30 seconds, then shut off for 30 seconds, then run for 30 seconds, and on and on. Pretty annoying. I just turned it off and we were warm enough under the covers and finally got some sleep.

Sunday featured a nice hike through the snow-covered hills, then an AMAZING brunch put on by the resort. We were stuffed.

This was our first trip to Eagle Ridge but we definitely want to go back in warm weather and use the beautiful lake.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikhlas A, General Manager at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa. Your comments are truly helpful for our entire team and encourage us to improve our amenities. It was a pleasure to learn that in general you have enjoyed your visit. Please accept our apologies for the discomfort you experienced with the heater in your room. We have forwarded your message to our engineering staff for follow up. I surely understand your concern regarding the shower in your room and we are planning immediate corrective action to eliminate similar service errors in the future. Once again thank you for choosing to stay at Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Please do not hesitate to contact me if I can assist to ensure your next visit to be more comfortable and enjoying.

Ikhlas Ahmed
General Manager
iahmed@eagleridge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa

Address: 444 Eagle Ridge Drive, Galena, IL 61036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 hotels in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa is located 150 miles west of Chicago in the heart of The Galena Territory, a 6,800 acre recreational, residential and resort community nestled amid the rolling hills of northwestern Galena, Illinois. Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa is a full-spectrum resort and showcases superior golf with 63 holes on four acclaimed courses which include the North Course; the South Course; the East Course (9-holes); and the resort’s crowning achievement, The General, with over 250 feet of elevation changes throughout the 18 holes. Lodging accommodations at Eagle Ridge are delightfully unique with 80 quaint Inn rooms and over 250 villas and distinctive homes to choose from throughout the property. For the resort’s corporate clients Eagle Ridge boasts 15,000 square feet of state-of-the-art meeting space, in addition to beautiful conference homes for small, elegant meetings. The entire facility is also the perfect venue for banquets, weddings and theme parties. Eagle Ridge offers three distinctive restaurants that include award-winning Woodlands Restaurant, along with Spikes Bar & Grill and Paisanos. Other amenities include the tranquil Stonedrift Spa, providing ten treatment rooms for a complete sensory experience, and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a beautiful indoor/outdoor pool, sauna and steam room. The property is the perfect backdrop to an incredible selection of outdoor activities including miles of biking, hiking and horseback riding trails, as well as tennis, hot air balloon rides, boating and fishing on the picturesque 225-acre Lake Galena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Ridge Hotel Galena
Eagle Ridge Resort And Spa
Eagle Ridge Resort Galena

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eagle Ridge Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.