We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ryan Mansion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galena
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ryan Mansion
Save
You added Ryan Mansion to your Saves list
11373 Highway 20 West, Galena, IL 61036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 34 Galena B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“A Unique Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

We had never stayed at a Bed & Breakfast like this, and we loved the historic quality and charm of The Ryan Mansion! We stayed in the Ryan Suite, which had a very comfortable, romantic looking bed. There was a whirlpool tub in the room as well, between the bedroom section and the separate sitting room. It was nice to have two separate sections. We were very happy with our room. The only drawback could be that the windows in the bedroom look onto a hall/walkway that leads to other rooms. It had thick, lace curtains that you could not really see through, and there were no guests staying in that section of the house, but if there were it may have seemed a little less private. The fireplaces are not in use, so if you are looking to use them, it's not an option. We didn't get to see all of the rooms because 2 of them were already occupied, but some of them are really small. If you're not planning to spend much time in the room, they would be just fine. The Ryan Suite was plenty spacious for us, however.

The house itself was decorated for Christmas, and it was such a warm, richly decorated space. It felt like you were going back in time! The owners are very passionate about the history and that time period, so I feel we got an authentic experience. Upon checking in, we got a tour of the house. The breakfast is served at 9:00 sharp (a meal was even made to accommodate my dietary restrictions) and it was delicious! We sat with 2 other couples everyone seemed really happy with the food. Just make sure you get to breakfast at nine, because the food will be waiting for you if you are not! The location isn't too far from Downtown Galena, but since the original owner of the house owned quite a bit of land, there are no other historic homes in the area. From downtown you have to drive past some non-historic places (like Walmart, McDonalds, and Piggly Wiggly), but I suppose it is nice to have close access to a store for any quick purchases. So you're not nestled in a historic area since you are actually sandwiched between 2 hotels and a gas station.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay and it certainly was more memorable than any hotel stay we've ever had! We would love to go back!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    1
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
11
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

We just returned from a trip to Galena. My husband and I stayed at the Ryan Mansion. Bill showed us around and shared a good bit of information about the mansion, its renovations, and answered all of our questions about the area and things to do. He even let us in on a beautiful secret spot to see the Mississippi River. If you stay there, be sure to ask him for details! It was fun to see a glimpse of how people lived back in the 1870's with all of the authentic items at Ryan Mansion. Breakfast was served right at 9AM as promised. It was delicious! Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Moline, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2008

We just stayed at ryan mansion last weekend.It was absolutely beautiful! We have never stayed at a B&B before so we were not sure if we would enjoy the experiance.
We stayed in ryans suite. The room was gorgeous! the bed was very comfortable!
I was suprised at the privacy we were able to get(which was a concern) and it was very quiet.Although we were not there during there tour hours.
The breakfast they served was wonderful and meeting the other guests was interesting. Everyone shared there ideas on things to do and talked about the places they had been to, which was helpful. We will definitely go back and from this point on we will always stay at a B&B whenever possible. The atmosphere of a B&B is so much better than staying at a hotel!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

Some Ryan features are very nice and some are lacking. Overall, the mansion is beautiful and the owners are doing a great job restoring it. However, I didn’t find it very restful or comfortable. As my wife put it, it’s like staying in a museum.

LOCATION: It’s on a busy stretch of Hwy 20 - there are hotels on each side and a gas station across the street. Because of the traffic, I felt it was too noisy – which was frustrating because this is one of the specific issues I asked about prior to making a reservation. With windows closed, noise is noticeable and with windows open, it's distracting. Katie’s room and the Garden Cottage face the back of the building, so probably not as noisy.

ROOMS: We stayed in Ryan’s suite and the bed was very comfortable – a great mattress, lots of fluffy pillows and soft, smooth sheets. The room was also very attractive and spacious. However, the parlor couch pictured on the Ryan’s website had been replaced by two vintage, but very uncomfortable Victorian chairs. We chose the suite so we’d have a place to privately lounge together. But since there was no comfortable place to sit, it rendered the parlor virtually useless. Other room issues: there’s no closet; the room is dark, even with lights on; the bedroom windows look onto the gallery walkway, so if you want privacy you need to pull the shades; the sink faucet is too large for the bowl, so we constantly splattered water on ourselves; and there’s no shelf in the bathroom for toiletries.

BREAKFAST: It consisted of fruit, a pastry and a casserole or French toast dish. Portion size was decent and it tasted okay, but nothing phenomenal. The most unusual thing was they serve the food at 9am sharp whether you’re there or not. The first day we walked in at 9:03 and our plate of food was already out with no cover to keep it warm. We sat down to eat and it was several minutes before anyone checked on us. It seems the staff is more concerned about their schedule than the guests.

TOURS: There are tours of the mansion, compete with a re-enacted story line. I’m sure the tours are interesting (we heard laughter among the tourists), but as a house guest, I found them distracting. After breakfast, we decided to take a nap. But for the next 45 minutes, we heard people walking in front of our bedroom door, the tour guide talking loudly, and the head maid and butler characters yelling throughout the house as they re-enacted frantically preparing for something. Needless to say, the nap wasn’t very restful.

Overall, I see lots of potential in the house – but without refinement and more attention to guests, I would probably choose another B&B.

  • Liked — Very comfortable bed, nicely decorated house
  • Disliked — Uncomfortable parlor chairs, breakfast served before we arrived in dining room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights ,MI
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2008

To tell you the truth this place was better than any other place Ive ever stayed in...ever. And Ive been a lot of places.

When you arrive to the Ryan mansion you are greeted by Theodore the charming butler and his staff, Mrs Wright, and Janice. They are just a few of the delightful characters that made this trip so incredibly amazing. We LOVED hearing them bustle about the house, just like they would have if they had lived back in the 1870's.

The house is run in true 1870's style and you are swept away into its romantic allure as soon as you walk into the front door. Delightful hot tubs, and sumptuous bedding make the house a luxurious place for honeymooning or just for a romantic getaway.

Its also, a great place to go with a group. We had about 17 in our group this past memorial day weekend and they were SO accommodating. They bent over backwards to make us feel at home, and they succeeded! I didn't want to leave! Im sure you will love this quaint little mansion as much as we did!

  • Liked — The staff! Especially Mr. Theodore, the Butler. He is and always will be our favorite!
  • Disliked — That we couldnt stay longer :(
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ryan Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryan Mansion

Address: 11373 Highway 20 West, Galena, IL 61036
Location: United States > Illinois > Galena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Galena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ryan Mansion Inn is a beautiful, historic accommodation located just 1 mile west on Hwy 20. We offer electric or gas fireplaces in every room, jacuzzi tubs in select rooms and a continental breakfast of coffee, juice, muffins/scones and fruit.. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ryan Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.