We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vinny Vanucchi's

Vinny Vanucchi's
201 South Main Street, Galena, IL 61036
(815) 777-8100
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vinny Vanucchi's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #13 of 57 Restaurants in Galena
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Washington
Des Moines, Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Italian food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

It was OK - the eggplant dish was good, not as heavy as traditional parmesan. After hiking up the steps (a necessity in hill Galena), it was disappointing to find an ambiance more like a pizza joint than a nice restaurant. The waiter was attentive but not "fine" dining.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    117
    58
    31
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best in Galena”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I just love this little Italian restaurants... The servers are excellent, it is a fun Italian setting, well worth the money!

The bread is phenomenal, the salad comes to you all in a large bowl all you can eat, the dressing is a bit oily but it is very good!

If you leave hungry it is your fault!

This was my second visit to Galena and we had a blast here, can not go by it without stopping here at this restaurant

Doesn't matter how your dressed but come dressed up or casual, it will fit your needs, I prefer to get dressed up

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“always delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a staple when we visit Galena. We always stay for two nights so we can get our fix of Vinnies and Log Cabin. We appreciate great food and this doesn't fall short. Always delicious!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have been to Vinny Vanucchi's many times!! We have never had a bad experience! Food and service is wonderful! We had our own little room last Saturday with friends and Ashley was a wonderful server! She knew the food and drinks and was very effecient!!!She also helped us with our Galena questions! She was very personable!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our dinner was delicious. The outdoor setting was great and everyone's meal was wonderful. We hope to return soon.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vinny Vanucchi's also viewed

 

Been to Vinny Vanucchi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vinny Vanucchi's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.