We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun! But maybe a different hotel.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS O'Hare International South Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS O'Hare International South Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS O'Hare International South Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3001 N Mannheim Rd, Franklin Park, IL 60131 (Formerly Comfort Inn O'Hare South)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Franklin Park
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
“Fun! But maybe a different hotel.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

My girlfriends and I were going to take a few days vacation to Chicago. We were looking for a hotel that was a little cheaper that didn't cost an arm and a leg for parking! While this Comfort Inn had a nice room and very good staff, the overall experience made us wish we would have picked another hotel.

We looked for a hotel with shuttle service to the O'Hare airport so we could take the train into the city. This shuttle service was probably the worst I've ever seen. It was supposed to run on the hour every hour. The first day we had to wait 30 minutes for it to come because he had decided to eat something. The van was disgusting with a banana peel and apple core underneath some of the seats. When we arrived back at night, we had to wait 45 minutes even though we had called a half hour before we would arrive at the airport to let them know. It was just very confusing and frustrating to have to wait that long. We ended up driving the next day into the city instead of using the shuttle again.

Upon check out I discovered that I was charged an additional $45 for hidden taxes and fees that was not quoted online. One of those charges was parking, after we had specifically looked for a hotel that had "free parking."

The staff was friendly and the rooms were very clean and nice but I feel it was these inconveniences that made us all wish we had stayed at another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harvard100, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS O'Hare International South Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2010
Dear fogellau,

We appreciate your honesty and are very sorry for the confusion and inconvenience you and your friend experienced with our services. Our shuttle is typically very well maintained but, in this instance, previous guests occupied the shuttle and left some garbage that was not seen right away by our driver. Our shuttle does normally run every hour however, our driver needs time to rest, eat, fuel and maintain the van. Safety for our driver and our guests is very important to us. Other delays can be caused if service has been requested by other clients prior to your arrival. Depending on the amount of luggage and number of guests, the return time to or from the airport may vary. Our rate does not include taxes or parking and should have been noted when you booked your reservation. We were pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel rooms and our staff. We hope that with this in mind, you may want to consider returning in the future. We strive daily to provide the best possible service and accommodations for our guests. We will do our absolute best to make your next stay 100% satisfactory! Thank you for your review.

Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    21
    11
    9
    14
See reviews for
24
18
16
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Convenient to O'Hare, though the shuttle runs on the hour, every hour--not on demand necessarily. Slept great, but I think that's because we were absolutely exhausted.

The a/c in the room was loud, the decorations and atmosphere left much to be desired. A low-budget hotel that was fine for one night, but I wouldn't stay there again. With some renovations, it would be great.

We did have GREAT service from one of the front desk staff--she went well out of her way to explain the public transit system and gave us an extra copy she had of the Metra schedule.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harvard100, Owner at BEST WESTERN PLUS O'Hare International South Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2011
Dear guests,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your stay with us was not as comfortable as we had anticipated. Some of our rooms do have some dated decor however, we are in the process of upgrading all of the rooms. We apologize for the disturbance caused by the noisy AC unit. If ever there is a problem, please always know that your concerns will be addressed immediately upon receipt of notification. We do offer a free shuttle service to and from O'Hare airport that does run on the hour. We do however, try to accommodate our guests request for shuttle service whenever needed if at all possible. Depending on the schedule for the day, we may only be able to adhere to the every hour time frame to ensure that all of our arriving and departing guest are accommodated. Feedback from our guests such as yours is very much appreciated. Our goal is to always provide our guests with the very best accommodations at an affordable rate. We do hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Best Regards,

Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Franklin Park hotels

Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

My flight was cancelled due to the awful weather a couple weeks ago, so I stumbled upon this hotel. Having no reservation and being on a weekend I was doubtful, but thankfully the staff was extremely helpful.

The rates were reasonable, and the rooms were great. So clean and the temperature was perfect. They didnt even give me attitude when I called down for a carry out menus and extra towels! :))

I would definitely stay here again if I was in the area and will be recommending this hotel to my traveling friends!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

I am an employee of another Choice hotel and would not normally submit a poor review of a fellow Choice property, but I would not wish this hotel on anybody. We called and spoke with Paige who gave us terrific directions to the property. Arriving at the property we notice a nook that must have sold package liquor out of the corner next to the front entrance, The lobby very humid and there was evidence of poor cleanliness on the tables of the breakfast area, the coffee station, and in the hallway where chairs and lamps were shoved into a corner in plain site, there were dirty smears on the glass and tables everywhere. Lady at check in was unimpressive and somewhat rude. Looked at pool on the way to elevator and drains could not be seen in pool and water had a yellowish tint. Room had a half full spit cup on the tv stand, paper wadded in the corner, and drywall dust all over the bedside table. We decided to leave at this point. At the desk we spoke to Paige again, who appeared to be the only person in uniform. She was very appologetic and offered us another room which she would personally inspect. Due to her efforts we did stay. The second room did appear cleaner, but there was still drywall dust on the bedside stand and it was clear the room was smoking. Honestly were it not for Paige and the hour we would have left. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone and honestly Paige you can do much better.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Good stay at this inn. The staff was nice - the room was clean and there is a great polish restauraunt near by.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harvard100, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS O'Hare International South Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2010
Dear Neil,

Thank you for your review and comments. We are pleased to hear that your stay with us was a pleasant experience. Our on site Victoria Restaurant recently added Polish menu items to their already extensive menu and it has been a great success! Please come back to see us.

Best Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

For a comfortable, affordable and "make you want to come back" place to stay whenever you are in Franklin Park, Il., the Comfort Inn Hotel should be your choice. The desk clerk was very polite and professional. You can tell that a lot of attention to cleanliness and consideration to providing a relaxing atmosphere was top priority for this establishment. The pool was clean and looked so refreshing.
Although I didn't visit the fitness center on site, it was nice to know that the option was there for me to consider. The continental breakfast was well presented and a large variety of items were offered. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and am certain that I will be staying here again the next time I am in town.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazel Crest, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

I stayed at the Comfort Inn in Franklin Park for about three days. The service was excellent. There was a complimentary breakfast every morning that consists of waffles, bagels, cereal, muffins, cookies, coffe, OJ, etc. The hotel has an indoor pool as well as a fitness center. The rooms were perfect for the price. I slept comfortably every night. The staff was great and very kind. The location is close to the airport, near shopping, and only about 20 minutes or less to downtown Chicago and several Malls. It is pretty much just minutes from anywhere! I would reccommend this hotel to anyone who wants to visit Chicago and remain close to the airport at an affordable price or to anyone who lives in the nearby area and needs a hotel stay for whatever reason. I don't think you will be dissappointed.

P.O.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS O'Hare International South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS O'Hare International South Hotel

Address: 3001 N Mannheim Rd, Franklin Park, IL 60131 (Formerly Comfort Inn O'Hare South)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Franklin Park
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Franklin Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS O'Hare International South Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pet-friendly BEST WESTERN PLUS O'Hare International South Hotel in Franklin Park, Illinois is just few minutes away from O'Hare International Airport. Our O'Hare Airport hotel provides O'Hare Airport shuttle service to and from the airport 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Our hotel is situated about four miles from the Donald E. Stephen Convention Center, Rosemont Theatre and Allstate Arena. Attend a business conference, hear a Broadway musical performance or cheer the hockey team at a game near our hotel. Experience Chicago's renowned shopping at the nearby Fashion Outlets of Chicago, or make a wager at nearby Rivers Casino in Des Plaines. Explore the Windy City during your stay and make the short drive or train ride to well-known things to do in Chicago such as Rosemont Walk, The Magnificent Mile(R), Navy Pier and Wrigley Field. Start your work or sightseeing day right with our complimentary hot breakfast at our community table or a table for two, both featuring comfortable seating. Ask our knowledgeable team members for restaurant recommendations and transportation options. Each of our comfortable king or queen size bedrooms is equipped with free Wi-Fi, desk or activity table and flat screen HDTV. Consider an upgraded room with mini-refrigerator and microwave oven. Enjoy the comforts of home and friendly service at the BEST WESTERN PLUS O'Hare International South Hotel, offering a convenient location and access to downtown Chicago via the Chicago Transit Authority (CTA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS O'Hare International South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn o`Hare South Hotel Franklin Park
Comfort Inn Franklin Park
Franklin Park Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS O'Hare International South Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.